Air filter

Zaxed

also, guys in Brisbane have dropped rex's horizontal four (same config as the beetle's) and even taking off in 2nd or 3rd gear, the beetle will do a 'wheelie'.. [laugh][laugh] .... those were the day [nod][thumbsup]

cheers

btw: boss wants me to attend a lunch with him and some 'important' pple.... i will either drop by your Rabba Rabba say around 1030-1100am or after lunch... will you still be around Happy Garden after lunch???? [cool][sunny]

Hi, wonder if u or any kind souls can gimme some ideas: I drive a '92 Corolla 1.3L Carburreted. Changed to cone filter couple of mths back. Took out the stock air filter housing, & fitted the cone thru a short ram-pipe (stainless steel). I'm not really satisfied with the position of the cone (near firewall, passenger side) as i believe it's sucking in alot of hot air... Have seen my frd's cone routed near/behind the battery, using the KNN filter housing (think he bought it whole set, the piping is aluminium)...

Was thinking how i can DIY to improve the position of my cone... without paying for another filter housing... maybe i can DIY a CAI?

Today changed back to stock filter housing with KNN drop-in... lost big time in power... but greater reduction in the noise generated... gonna monitor if the fuel consumption improves...

i am thinking of ways to improve my air intake also.... maybe one weekend (or this coming meetup on 5 Oct Sat) we can talk about it looking at our engine bays [:)][:)] .... i hope to learn something from other bros also....

cheers

Hello u gone from LFS? My fastest so far is at about 1.41s..

I think the cheapest alternative to CAI is to get regular K&N cone, and then use air con duct (about 25cm diameter) to pipe from cone to your front bumper(where the side intercooler is suppose to be at). Then cold air will be directed from bumper directly to near the cone area.

It might look ugly.. It is not considered a mod because it nothing is technically connected to your car...

hi Zrun,

were you the racer who asked "got MCF?" about an hour ago at the online race LFS?

i was juz wondering who could that be [laugh][laugh][laugh] .... what nickname did you use?

hope to see you again online (tonite there'll be no MCF race i guess, as the guy who usually hosts it is not coming in [:/] )... and i can't host for some mysterious technical reasons [:/][:/]

i may go in in half an hour's time since the live F1 at Indianapolis may not be interesting when Ferrari is likely to win again

cheers

Edited by Ysfoo

1 min 30 sec?.... [thumbsup][thumbsup] ..you are a PRO man [:)] .. i will definitely siam when i see you coming in my rear view mirror..... using NOS? i know i shouldn't be asking for too much details on your setup, but .... what's your final drive? [cool] ....

cheers

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gifI meant to ask if you were going to play at 1:30 AM laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif Last night!

Anyway, .....I played with Zrun and Mondeo last night on someone else's server (elthore or something like that).

On the last game I played there, I managed to get a 1:35 thumbsup.gif finally!

....Hi Mondeo, nice racing last night.

I stayed up to watch the F1 Indy race.

Didn't know we were racing for so long.

I can't host, haven't figured how to bypass firewall without exposing my PC (SCV cable)

catch you another time smile.gif

LOL.... and i thought you meant your lap time was I min 30 sec [laugh][laugh]

aiya, if i knew you are asking to race at the time, i could have gone online and race with you n Mondeo n Zrun, but instead, i went to bed at about 0140am [:/][:/] .. what a waste...

let me know roughly what time you guys will race tonite, if at all....

cheers

ps: S70 R told me he can use scv broadband host game no problems.... [:/]

Edited by Ysfoo

maybe he doesn't have a router/switch with firewall.

... Maybe I'll just do a DMZ and hope noone tries to hack into my PC tongue.gif

Tonight......hmmm

I'm a TV freak rolleyes.gif, so....there's Alias on....so I'll be coming in at 11:30.

ok man, 1130pm.... will see ya there... if no MCF, juz join any game with 2-3 vacancies lor..... Mondeo, Yttrium, Robin, Civic, Sean, Zrun, are you all ready to go bumper to bumper racing?? [laugh][laugh]

cheers

IMNI-AH-T-GA [shocked][shocked][shocked]

Hi, do u mean 25cm, or 25mm? or 2.5cm? [crazy] I tried asking around in Ubi those hardware shops for 3" diameter conduit/piping but the biggest they had was like 2"... [:|]

Check this out.

[/url]http://webhome.idirect.com/~trini/car/cai.html[/url]

Have to improvise yourself lah... The idea is quite simple

This is an excellant example.. Check out the heat shield and the scoop.. (I meant the scoop tube, about 20cm wide right?).

http://www.geocities.com/stutzedward/Efi_C...Air_Intake.html

Edited by Zrun