Tien Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 (edited) dear all, i was driving my aveo early on and heard some strange sound coming from the aircon vent. my aircon was on and fan speed was at 1. when i switch off the aircon but leave the fan on, i can still hear the sound. however, if i change the fan speed to 2 and above, the sound stops. the sound was like some insects cry.... like cricket or grasshopper i think. it wasnt loud, but loud enough to be heard... the sound went away by itself after a while... any idea what may be wrong? or perhaps there really was an insect in my car....? advice appreciated. thks. Edited June 14, 2004 by Tien ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 guess its time to let the mechanic check the blower. but b4 u going down, beta make sure no leave stuck there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matthatter Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 Better ask the mech to check. Make sure got no unwelcom PR living in your air-con system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 whaa sounds eerie boy....maybe at speed 1 the "PR" was under torture of the fan, then u switch to 2 and killed the bugger.... eeeeee....i dun wanna go on....disgusting imaginations running wild.... better check, better check...Go to SA and tell them that an insect died in your aircon system....and you need to recover the body for a proper funeral.... kidding lar... you need and deserve all rites to ask them to dismantle everything in your aircon system for your assurance.... keep me in tune.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 my aveo don't have that funny sound. but sometime i really hate the noise of the air-con. even on speed no 2 too loud cover the voice of the DJ. have turn volume to >32 then can hear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Author Share June 15, 2004 leave in blower? how to check the blower myself? kekeke given that my car is park outdoor and these days' super hot sun, there are indeed lots of fallen leaves on my car... maybe 1 kena stuck somewhere... shall continue to monitor and see if noise persists. anyhow, the problem shouldnt be too major rite? can i endure till next servicing then get the mech to check? next servicing maybe in 2mths lor if PR... i think really funny hahahaha who would thought a cricket will come live in my car. or perhaps i should just let it stay there... as a pet or something Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 hopefully it's just leaves in blower...did I say leaves? anyway, if the blade of the fan strike the poor cricket, then you will have parts of the body blown out into your mouth... joking... but totally disgusting too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Author Share June 15, 2004 "leaf in blower" was actually in reply to Ah_veo kekeke sorry for the confusion. dont know if any aveo owners out there notice this.... when you open the front 2 doors to the max, from the driver's side, you can look behind the door hinge into the eng compartment. but from the passanger's side, there is a foam pad covering the space. i think the pad is for sound proofing or something... but why the driver's side dont have huh? or is it just my car that is missing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 good question, I will check that out.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 regarding the sound proofing pad, my aveo also have 1 too, at passanger's side. comfirm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 Aircon blowers are all installed in the cabin and not outside the car. Leaves will not get stuck there. It may probably the bearings of the blower is at fault when it is at low speed. Ball bearings grinding and it disapears when on higher speed. This can be fixed by spraying wd-40 into the blower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Author Share June 16, 2004 thks for confirming. now i know mine is not the only one with pad on one side. but strange hor? why is it like that huh? lagi strange is that though 1 side missing, the cabin still quite "sound proofed".... wonder what is the actual use of the pad (or separator, whatever)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoder Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 mine got it on both sides leh...izzit the soft greyish thingy? 2 lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 "leaf in blower" was actually in reply to Ah_veo kekeke sorry for the confusion. dont know if any aveo owners out there notice this.... when you open the front 2 doors to the max, from the driver's side, you can look behind the door hinge into the eng compartment. but from the passanger's side, there is a foam pad covering the space. i think the pad is for sound proofing or something... but why the driver's side dont have huh? or is it just my car that is missing? ahhh...brudder...dats why we need to hv meetups, check out one another's ride....or even test drives to check for any differences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie June 16, 2004 Author Share June 16, 2004 huh? you have 2? hmm... maybe they forgot to put for some... will check with SA when i next go for servicing! kekeke really blur... maybe cheap car so they also relax a little... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear November 6, 2006 Share November 6, 2006 Tien, Sorry to dig up this old post. I have this same problem as you did for months already. What was the problem you faced and how was it fixed? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...