Advantage and disadvatage of off-peak cars?

Ahlun

may i noe the advantages and disadvantages of registering a car under the off-peak car scheme??? in terms of coe and tax and other aspects.. wat do i benefit from the scheme?

Definitely it will further narrow down the potential group of buyer, that translate to "less bargain power". thumbsdown.gif

The admin work (transfer charge, bank loan, etc) remain the same.

economy is coming up, so more ppl are buying cars... maybe even a 2nd car for the family. but then, economy not in full swing yet, so most ppl dont have as much money (at least not yet) to get a normal plate, so get OPC - cheaper!

anyway, there is always the option to convert OPC to normal plate - just pay back the $17k rebate ($17k x Y/10, where Y = 10-no. of years the car has been an OPC).

by the way, say if once in a while u decide to use your opc car during the non-designated hours, how much do you pay and where to get the permit?

not true ... no matter what type of cars, your car price will be pushed down.

When car is sold, buyer need not use it as OPC ... so won't be narrow down to a small grp of users ...

wonder if can do it over internet......sometimes oversleep then miss the 7am timing....if not able to do it over internet, damn leh cheh.

Unless you convert to normal car before selling, yet the buyer will give reason such as he want your car but don't want the offpeak scheme. And try to push the price very low. frown.gif

yup, $20 per day. can buy the coupon from Post offices or LTA offices.

can drive there and buy lah, most TP not that heartless one. Say you use car 15mins before 7pm and kena stop by TP, normally they will let you off one lah.

Plus, unless you kena stop for breaking traffic rules or something, no TP will purposely drive up near you just to see if you have a valid coupon... they not so free one lah.

rule 1: if you driving without coupon, dont break any traffic rules.

rule 2: dont park at public carparks where warren will come check.

rule 3: if you do display, make sure you tear off the tag clean n nice... dont give them reason to suspect you trying to cheat!! the fine in this case super heavy!!

hee......yeah lah, but i was hoping mah......

cos with current advanced technology in singapore, this isn't difficult to implement.