Digital Audio Broadcasting

MkIIToledo

MediaCorp Radio has just done a soft relaunch of their DAB service "MediaCorp SmartRadio".

It is no longer carrying simultaneous braodcast of some FM stations but now offers:-

1. Club Play - Dance, trance, hip hop, etc Non-stop

2. Cruise - Easy listening stuff i.e Bee Gees, Beatles, Golden Hits

3. JK-Pop - Japanese and Korean pop hits

4. Hindi Mix - Self explaintory :)

5. Chin. Evergreens - Stuff some of us grow up with...

6. Symphony - Same as FM 92.4

7. Bloomberg - News and Finance

8. RediGold - Special service for Redifussion, not receivable by normal receivers.

9. RediSilver - Special service for Redifussion, not receivable by normal receivers.

Good stuff all, non-stop, no DJs and no ads!

Edited by Admin

Actually the GPS system is not meant for you to look at the screen. There is the voice instructions for you to follow. But if you say that...then those 2 DIN HU also jialat liao....cos the graphic also beri distracting.

Now if they can make the GPS voice instruction machem like WRC navi like that....

easy left....two block....hard right. Long striaght...floor it !! [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Tommi Han also drove down to the cliff after followed ...easy left..hard right ...."FLOOR IT" [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Well trained driver also kenna crash, think of the s'pore lovely lady drivers [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Cannot lah....the GPS system definitation of HOT CHICK is a sleek lastest model pentium 4 laptop !! Bwahahahahahahahahahaha

Maybe you may get lucky if the owner is also chio !! [:p]

Guest Triggerhappy

Anyone has any experience with this DAB? Or SmartRadio?

When I saw the price of a set, I almost fainted. Over $1k for a radio tuner anyone?

Any chance for the price to drop soon? [:|]

?? Frankly why would a person want that anyway... i mean... if i'm a detective.. and i need to spy on pple... then probably i would need something like that.... but as for now..... the analog ones are doing their role well... isn't it?

When I saw the price of a set, I almost fainted. Over $1k for a radio tuner anyone?

Any chance for the price to drop soon? [:|]

You must be referring to Pioneer's price. [:)]

Well, I heard there'll be some promotion for Pioneer and Blaupunkt (new model coming up) this coming June/July.

Komoco is packaging Pioneer DAB sets in Santa Fe and soon in Sonatas. Go to the showroom to check it out!

You must be referring to Pioneer's price. [:)]

Well, I heard there'll be some promotion for Pioneer and Blaupunkt (new model coming up) this coming June/July.

Komoco is packaging Pioneer DAB sets in Santa Fe and soon in Sonatas. Go to the showroom to check it out!

Hey, how are you? [:)]

You mean I have to change the HU? There is no add-on to the existing HUs to receive DAB??

Forgot to reply on this....

DAB in Singapore is only officially SmartRadio on Ch. 7B. Which is a mix of audio programes ranging from Club to chinese evergreens to oldies. There's also Class 95, Yes 93.3 and Ria (I think) on a trial ch. 7C (tentatively called Youth Radio).

[:)]

Hey, how are you? [:)]

You mean I have to change the HU? There is no add-on to the existing HUs to receive DAB??

Great! Thanks! Long time no logged in here though... [:p]

Well, there's a series (In think PEH series) of Pioneer HU that only require a add-on DAB tuner to receive DAB. That'll cost ya abt $799 or $699...

Sorry hor, I only work in broadcasting industry, so not really sure abt the manufacurer's pricing... [blush]

Blaupunkt will roll out a new HU with the DAB tuner integrated soon (in june).