Need for Dyno Test

Kytl68

Does anyone know where a dyno test can be done at an affordable price in Singapore besides the 2 mentioned in the resources page.

gossip.gif - thought of getting it done to prove the use of aftermarket stuffs.

Speedworks @ JB

http://www.speedworks.com.my/dyno.html

Jus in case ....

Driving along the main road towards Sentosa from JB custom, take note of the sign boards that says "Pasir Gudang". its the same direction that will lead you to JB Carrefour. Before reaching Carrefour you have to take note of a sign on ur left that points to Carrefour's carpark (for the whole journey, keep left juz in case you miss it). When u see this sign, immediately change lane to the right most lane, u'll reach a traffic junction. From here you turn right (take note there's also a orange signboard that says Pasir Gudang), after completing the turn keep to ur left. Keep driving until u reach a left filter lane, turn left and after completeing the turn look to ur left. You'll see a big signboard that says "Speedworks".

Edited by Phochem

Hi bro,

Sorry for my ignorance...

Heard all over in the MCF..not so sure what is a dyno test for..

Can you enlighten wat will a dyno test do for the car? When & Why need to do it?

Sorry for a newbie asking toopid questions...

Thks..

Hey no prob bro. thumbsup.gif My tech knowledge not good but here's what i know...sweatdrop.gif

A dyno test/run basically is to measure the output of the car while simulating road conditions. For a stock car, the results will show if the car manufacturers exaggerates the statistics (eg. BHP, torque). For a new piece of gadget, assuming changing of exhuast muffler, do a dyno run to see the gains before and after.

Dyno tuning, other figures like the A/F ratio (Lambda), Manifold pressure, Max torque/Power @ XXXXrpm and many other (which i got no clue of confused.gif) are sometimes taken in2 acct when tuning. With a piggyback ECU (SAFC2, Emanage, Unichip, Motek, etc) we can further fine tune the car for optimised performance. Add on a open-pod air filter and you might need to re tune the A/F ratio to take full advantage of that new toy.

i start the ball rolling, let the lao jiaos follow-up on what i've written. laugh.gif

haha... always chiong there one... 3times a week in the evening go there eat their mobile steamboat... buy DVDs, lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif opppssss..... no no, buy groceries.... laugh.giflaugh.gif

not married yet buy groceries like an auntie... laugh.gif

Edited by Phochem

at speedworks got mobile steamboat? Anyway wats a mobile steamboat???? Hey who say not married no need buy, my mum always ask me go buy groceries one......

No its not there, the one i usually go is located very near Sentosa. The stretch of road where theres a 7-11.

Its food is kind of the usuals u get at restaurants. For mobile steamboat, no seats you'll have to stand around the truck. With a grill at the rear-end of the truck and the steamboat by the side of the truck (food displayed in the centre) you choose ur food (in satay sticks) and dip in the steamboat or have it grilled if you like.

esp. love the grilled parson's nose and deer meat.... with their specially made chilly/satay/sweet sauce.... yummmmmm..... laugh.giflaugh.gifthumbsup.gif

aiya.... later must go in again for dinner......

anyway, u'll pertified by the quantity when i shop for groceries.... laugh.giflaugh.gif alll junk food, pastas, spag, inst nood,

sENTOSA????? ( i tot Spore only got Sentosa)

7-11??? (I tot msia no 7-11)

---> shows how suaku i am!!!!!!!

Eh u very tempting leh about the food....... BUt must stand ard ah???? No seats at all??? Jialat ah like tat....

Talking about groceries, need to go buy tomatoes to make spaghetti later!!!!!!!!! this is then called YUM YUM! thumbsup.gif

yah yah.... its call sentosa, kind of funny.

Stand then can eat more but must control, the food is rather oily. most of the time its 1:1 veg stick/meat stick ratio. eat too much later really "lao you" (leak oil).

wahh... make spag "bo chiah" arh..... laugh.gif

There two type of dynos. One type is call engine dyn, where the engine is coupled directly to the dyno. The engine will run and turn the dyno over. The dyno will act as a brake to provide resistance to the engine.You can test the engine either with constant load setting or constant speed setting. The load can be in the form of water brake or eddy current motor. Normally two types of graph are being plotted - they are torque curve and Horspower output curve. The best HP and speed is at the intersect of both graphs.

The other dynos is know as chasis dyno. Again there many catergorise of chasis dyno due to the design and roller charatistics. Workshop dynos have two rollers and the driving wheels seat on it. The wheels will drive the rollers and to creat load the rollers are coupled to retardor which can be either water brake or eddy current motor. Chasis dynos are popularly know as Rolling Roads in the UK. In vehicle testing lab , under control enviroment conditions such as simulated wind speed, the dyno used has very large single cylinder where the driving wheels seat on top of the cylinder roller. This is to prevent friction loss - so that the wheels and cylinder roller rotate as one unit.

Hope this helps

There two type of dynos. One type is call engine dyn, where the engine is coupled directly to the dyno. The engine will run and turn the dyno over. The dyno will act as a brake to provide resistance to the engine.You can test the engine either with constant load setting or constant speed setting. The load can be in the form of water brake or eddy current motor. Normally two types of graph are being plotted - they are torque curve and Horspower output curve. The best HP and speed is at the intersect of both graphs.

The other dynos is know as chasis dyno. Again there many catergorise of chasis dyno due to the design and roller charatistics. Workshop dynos have two rollers and the driving wheels seat on it. The wheels will drive the rollers and to creat load the rollers are coupled to retardor which can be either water brake or eddy current motor. Chasis dynos are popularly know as Rolling Roads in the UK. In vehicle testing lab , under control enviroment conditions such as simulated wind speed, the dyno used has very large single cylinder where the driving wheels seat on top of the cylinder roller. This is to prevent friction loss - so that the wheels and cylinder roller rotate as one unit.

Hope this helps

Bro Yeobh have clearly explained in details... thumbsup.gif

Thks to both of u..

From what you both explain, doing an engine dyno is to get an optimum output for better torque and HP which the stock car may not be tuned to tat level. Am I rite??

I believe we then use the new dyno readings and set the data in the ECU (isit??) for better car performance.

Bro, u mentioned a piggyback can optimise the performance by tuning the engine...

Will the data "run" after sometime since the ECU is learning the driver's style of handling everyday?

BTW, with rides having intelligent ECU, dont' they reset to stock settings (whch I think should be conservative figures) if the tuned dyno readings are out of their specs?

Normally, wat's the freq to do a dyno? after every mod??or periodically?

Sorry for being long-winded...me is learning about cars in MCF by reading all interesting posts..but dun fully understand certain processes/mod that some bro did to their ride.