Bryanho

Spark Plug Choices  

48 members have voted

1. 1.

• Copper Spark Plugs-Net Cost $10
    • Iridium Spark Plugs-Net Cost-$65
    • Platinum Spark Plugs-Net Cost-$50?

Hi

What is the difference between IK16 and IKH16? Which car are you driving?

How long can it last?

The diff is in the length of the Spark Plug, I think in general Toyota uses IK series and newer Nissan use IKH series.

I am driving a Nissan Primera p12. [sly][thumbsup]

Local context, anything from 20K to 100K. Don't know who to believe. [:/]

Note: Denso do not put a value on their box, when to change Ir Plugs.

However, at their US site DENSO advises replacement after 30,000 miles (approx. 48,000km)

You can go to their US site for more info.

http://www.densoiridium.com/faq.php

wat my mech told me was even if i use better spark plugs, the improvement will be very marginal to be felt...also it will be better only during the first few thousand KMs....

so in other words use normal sparks and change every 10/20 k the best [thumbsup][nod]

no need to get cheap ones...but just get OEM ones for ur car...should be quite cheap still....then change it every 20 k [nod]

but where spark plug cables are concerened i have never changed this b4 so cannot comment [sly]

So far, I'm on copper plugs.. on hind sight.. maybe I'll just change them over the course of 10,000km... scholar.gif. My ride is virtually showroom speced(not condition-I got no GLARE, TOUGH SEAL etc lipsrsealed.gif), even the "upgrade" of rim size is approved by Borneo..

wave.gifI don't know if this is the best... but I'm doing that for my ride.. it seems to be doing okay..... The only thing I'll do is switch between OEM brands of NGK and Denso. Even ferrari's OEM plugs are platinums and not iridiums, but if they're true performance enthusiasts.. most likely, it would be upgraded to iridium. I'll just an everyday urban driver.

Bro, you should try the Denso SK series plugs next time ... I am on it now ... quite good ... it has iridium 0.7mm tip and platinium coated ground ... just found out it can last 100,000km thumbsup.gif

where can i get it? i called ric-tat do not have SK16R-P11 series leh. [:/]

Edited by Shoi

im using the iridium plugs for my car...its good,but it will also cost a bomb... sweatdrop.gif

it depends on the type & where you get it from sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif Denso IK16/20 are @ $63 for a pack of 4 sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

Bro, you should try the Denso SK series plugs next time ... I am on it now ... quite good ... it has iridium 0.7mm tip and platinium coated ground ... just found out it can last 100,000km thumbsup.gif

with our Start-Stop driving traffic, I think 60~70k km will be a good time to check them & see if they need to be change, instead of 100k km, IMO nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

wave.gifI don't know if this is the best... but I'm doing that for my ride.. it seems to be doing okay..... The only thing I'll do is switch between OEM brands of NGK and Denso. Even ferrari's OEM plugs are platinums and not iridiums, but if they're true performance enthusiasts.. most likely, it would be upgraded to iridium. I'll just an everyday urban driver.

As long car starts y change spark plugs? Waste money!

When they dun produce spark is when you replace them.

That means spark plug is dead or gap too wide. All you need is to clean and regap. I have driven for so long with oem spark plugs no issues except it rust at the thread? wd40 an waola! clean it and apply high temp grease can liao. back in service. Kenna con by marketing! Anyway the only spark plug that actually shorted to ground are only on 2 strokes engine when there is too much 2T or it is flooded by petrol. If a 4 stroke engine does that it is time to send it to the grave! LOL

Hi bro vtim,

You have lobang for NGK LFR5AGP plugs? (26.5mm reach type, replacement for LFR5A-11)

If so, how much for set of 4?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Not all cars can use the Super 4. Unless you have used them before, don't change to them. Marketing BS. Use regular plugs the best but if you can get platinum plugs at regular plug price, get them else, stick to regular copper plugs.