Agnoxis 3rd Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 Hi guys, I've been driving a Suzuki Swift SF310GL for the past 2 months. Initially, I pumped Shell 95 and obtain a fuel consumption of about 12-14km/litre, which is still acceptable considering I'm a new driver. Lately, I've been pumping Esso 95 instead and the fuel consumption has dropped horrendously. I've just driven something like 180km and the fuel gauge is already at 1/4. Previously, to hit that mark would be at least 350km or so. Incidentally, I also just recently changed my clutch as the previous one had worn out and caused the clutch cable to fray and nearly snap. Theoretically, this should have improved my fuel consumption, but it's just been a nightmare seeing that I can only go 120km on a half tank. I just did my 5000km servicing about 1 month back. Presently still have another 4000km to go before my next servicing. So is the root of my fuel consumption problem due to changing petrol or clutch change? Anyway I can try to salvage the situation? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 My previous ride was oso a 1997 Suzuki Swift SF310GL. I have pumped caltex 95 for the past 3 years, & my fc was between 14-15km/l. Quite happy with this car, as it serve me quite well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 (edited) This brings up a point that I will mention below. I am driving the same 1.0 suzuki as well. When I was pumping Shell petrol, my mileage was definitely higher. A full tank could bring me about 12-14km/l, depending on whether I am driving mostly on highways or not. Recently, I switched to Mobil because of my wife being able to get a petrol card from her company. Sad to say, upon pumping Mobil, my mileage dropped drastically... down to 8-10km/l. Further to the high consumption, pumping in MObil caused my idle rpm to go up until 2K!!! Thinking that fuel quality could be a problem, I pump in SYN8000 to see the difference. RPM performance was just as bad. The car also seems to become noiser after the switch. I had some exhaust problem 2 days ago and visited my mech. Got my oil changed, while he checked my engine. My spark plugs were burnt quite badly (ie black and all). Anyway, got the exhaust fixed and got all the standard oil filter, air filter, spark plugs changed. After that, my car seems to move rather well now (rpm back to 1K). Noise seems to have been reduced slightly, although still noiser than before when I was on Shell. Been driving about 100Km on 1/4 tank for the last 2 days... the F/C seems to have improved. Will pump in full tank and monitor. When I first got my Swift (2nd hand), I used BP. Switching over to Shell really made a difference. A change from Shell to Mobil made a bigger difference. Maybe my car is old...but I am beginning to wonder if switching from Shell to Mobil caused all these problems. It's a pity that I cannot go back to shell since I only get a petrol card for Mobil/ESSO. Damn...gimme Shell!!! Any experience from fellow drivers on Mobil, Shell, and other pet? Maybe Swifee doesn't like to drink mobil?! Edited July 14, 2004 by Hoppe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 give it a fuel more tanks... the car need to adjust... ignition timing, etc is very sensitive to RON/maybe brands too... and diff additives from diff company have diff effects on diff cars... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agnoxis 3rd Gear July 14, 2004 Author Share July 14, 2004 Wow, interesting facts brought up by Hoppe! Yeah, I was indeed wondering whether it's the brand of petrol that made such a big difference. Will finish up this current tank of Mobil 95 (shouldn't take too long - think I'll reach E on 250km at most) and go back to Shell 95. If it's really the brand, then I'm just sticking with Shell already. Used to be able to go 400km on about 32litres, now 250km on 32 litres...way too scary man! If my fuel consumption still does not improve, I'm going back to my mechanic to check liaoz. Could be something wrong with air filter or spark plugs when he reinstalled the clutch... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 EFI or carburetted Swift? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 mine, 92 model. Carb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 14, 2004 Share July 14, 2004 Wah lau! Easy to tune lah! Carb engines save you tons. Timing light gun, screwdriver. That's it! OK tell you what. Just fill her with the lowest grade petrol which is RON92. Drive around and make sure the system is cleansed of any higher grade petrol. Go to your mechanic, get him to clean carburetor. I mean really clean as in take the whole thing out, strip it, clean in kerosene or diesel and dry. I think also high time to change carburetor seals and gaskets. Reinstall and get him to tune the ignition timing and carb fueling for RON92 petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear July 17, 2004 Share July 17, 2004 Used to own the carb SF310 for a year...so might not be able to help... When I first got the car...everything was good. Lovely car...spacious interior and economical comsumation...that is until I did the servicing. Wanting the best for my car...I used syn oil. Comsumation was like F*** !! Dun ask me why....petrol was BP 98....all the while. No switch. Change this and that...cyclone (did improve cos at least car dun shake that much when aircon cuts in....power and comsumation wise...can't see nor feel) Change ignition cables...marginal improvement in accleration. Change new spark plugs...no diff in comsumation too. Then I switch back to normal oil....non syn motor oil and comsumation came back to normal. Around 16kml....before that I was getting 12kml only. A friend of mine who drove the sedan version with single point injection got between 16-17kml. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 19, 2004 Share July 19, 2004 I changed to syn oil a while back. (In stages, and make sure everything's flushed before full change). My fuel consumption is quite good 14km/l. Quite good, car have good power (for 1000cc) but my cat convertor died today. Gonna prepare for a hole in my wallet. Good thing tomorrow's payday. But still.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear July 19, 2004 Share July 19, 2004 During my short ownership of this car.... i managed to get ard 16~17 km/l....but then again the car was abt 2 yrs old when I bought it.. Kept it for 2 yrs. each time I filled it will be abt 30 litres and the mileage was abt 510 km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 19, 2004 Share July 19, 2004 FYI, the tank size of the swift is about 38 litres I think. got that info off teamsuzuki.net. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simnon Clutched July 20, 2004 Share July 20, 2004 My previous 1989 5 door suzuki swift has a tank capacity of 34 litres only. FC was 13 km/litre until scrapped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agnoxis 3rd Gear July 20, 2004 Author Share July 20, 2004 Well, I've tested and proven the fuel tank capacity of the 1995 Suzuki Swift SF310GL cause I drove it to the point that it could not continue anymore due to empty fuel tank. It was just a simple experiment on my part, but geez, I could have done serious damage to the car... FYI, the fuel tank is 40litres. Or at least that's the amount I could pump in to full tank after I pushed my car to the petrol station. Kids, don't try this at home...hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agnoxis 3rd Gear July 20, 2004 Author Share July 20, 2004 Oh and yeah, the problem still persists...I just got 220km for my last 30litres of petrol, which means a fuel consumption of *gasp* 7km/litre for my Swift! That's crazily inefficient for this car as I was getting at least 11-12km/litre before I went to change my clutch. People over at Suzuki Forum telling me to tune the carburettor since I've been experiencing black smoke out of the exhaust, how much would that roughly cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 20, 2004 Share July 20, 2004 wah...hehe. So confirm fuel tank to be about 38-40L. Agnoxis, Still driving a swift now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 20, 2004 Share July 20, 2004 Used to own the carb SF310 for a year...so might not be able to help... When I first got the car...everything was good. Lovely car...spacious interior and economical comsumation...that is until I did the servicing. Wanting the best for my car...I used syn oil. Comsumation was like F*** !! Dun ask me why....petrol was BP 98....all the while. No switch. Change this and that...cyclone (did improve cos at least car dun shake that much when aircon cuts in....power and comsumation wise...can't see nor feel) Change ignition cables...marginal improvement in accleration. Change new spark plugs...no diff in comsumation too. Then I switch back to normal oil....non syn motor oil and comsumation came back to normal. Around 16kml....before that I was getting 12kml only. A friend of mine who drove the sedan version with single point injection got between 16-17kml. If I am not mistaken .... older carb cars should be on 50 weight oils right ?? Cant really remember but is best run on leaded fuel right ... on unleaded, need some liquid to top after pumping petrol right ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 20, 2004 Share July 20, 2004 Lowest they can go is 20wt if there are no consumption issues. It is best to go incrementally. 1st 5k, use 50wt, 2nd use 40wt, 3rd use 30wt. Will help a lot if they use AutoRx. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...