Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 my wiper has been giving me problem since day 1. can't wipe smoothly, always very noisy when in use. Thought there's too much wax on my windscreen and also changed afew wipers already. Until now the noise still stays. Lately my colleague told me he think the problem could be with one the the base. Seems abit bent, resulting in the wiper not firmly sitting onto the windscreen. Guess I need to go around carparks to search for same model starlets to verify if this is true ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 Uh-oh! You glass has wax on it. Do you wash your car or go to kiosk to wash? Wash and wax shampoos will give you this effect. Try washing windshield with Mama lemon to see if it wets the water instead of beading the water. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 Mama lemon?? Can use any other detergent?? So what's the conclusion if the detergent wets the water or beading the water? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 As long it is household detergent, it can strip the wax off. And stop using wash and wax shampoo on the whole car. Especially roof top. You flush and all the wax shampoo will come cascading down onto the windscreen. If this doesn't help still, PM me. I got a contact that will solve it once and for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 we have already stopped waxing on the rooftop long time back. But guess the damage has been done. I'll try this during the weekend, and see how things go Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 yeah.. my windscreen got this prob also... when there is only a few drop of water.. the wiper cannot wipe smoothly. strudders alot... also the wiper cannot wipe cleanly. got strains of water still appear on it. is this due to the hardening of rubber strip at the wiper ? been coming one year plus liao. time to change the wiper blade/rubber liao ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 btw do you recommend RainEx?? the one that sold in Shell?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 mine is different from yours. The wiper just seems having alot of friction on the windscreen while wiping. Noisy throughout the journey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 i try it b4. when u r going at fast speed, it drains off the rain pretty fast. no need to switch the wipers. prob comes when u wipe when there is only small dreezzer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Giggsy3 Clutched July 28, 2004 Author Share July 28, 2004 I'm currently using it now, but heard that it's also a form of wax. Will be worsen the condition that I already had?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 maybe u can stop using it for a while. adopt wat genie says abt using mama-lemon to clean the windscreen. see if it will help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 if you got a bottle of meguiar's endurance high gloss tire protectant gel, you can try apply a bit to your wiper blade. then your wiper will become smooth as new 1. but apply A BIT ONLY or your will dirty yr screen. funny but it work for me! for my 4 tyres & 2 wipers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 wah.. multi purposes huh... economical leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie July 29, 2004 Share July 29, 2004 i think it got softening the blade rubber effect lor. the gel is more tidy when ally to shine e tyre as compare to those foam type. i even use it to apply to car external black PVC part, it shine like new 1. economy enough? but only problem here is, it will "drain off" after a week of rain n shine any recommended protection agent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 29, 2004 Share July 29, 2004 my wiper has been giving me problem since day 1. can't wipe smoothly, always very noisy when in use. Thought there's too much wax on my windscreen and also changed afew wipers already. Until now the noise still stays. Lately my colleague told me he think the problem could be with one the the base. Seems abit bent, resulting in the wiper not firmly sitting onto the windscreen. Guess I need to go around carparks to search for same model starlets to verify if this is true ================================== Some of my frens recommend those silicon rubber blades. I've never used but they say very long lasting & smooth but also more expensive. Maybe some of the guys here have used it & can comment? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...