Luckcent 4th Gear August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 Its the 1.8 GL 4WD Leone. They also have 1.8 Turbo then but only 2 doors. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2004 Author Share August 13, 2004 the 2dr turbo was the odd-looking XT Vortex, rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 Yup thats the one man, it sure pssst pssst. unlike my 1.8 GL 4WD auto with 3 speed only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2004 Author Share August 13, 2004 3spd auto?? still not as bad as my G1 civic auto - tink it had onli 1 speed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2004 Author Share August 13, 2004 No major hiccups so far (9 months). Only complain is that during my last service with MI, they changed my fuel filter My mileage was only 10.5K km. Wonder why they change earlier than that recommended in the manual. Subarus are generally well known to be reliable & rugged. The ones that I hear there's problems are usually those which had not so appropriate things put in. Oh well, that was my last labour free servicing (must pay for parts/consummables hor). Gonna go to pro subaru workshop where its cheaper and can see/supervise what they do to the car. change for u good wat. anyway, the SE told me MI would void warranty if u go anywhere outside MI for servicing. that's why i pose the question in this thread coz if it's true, may hv to be stuck wif them for 3 yrs whether or not the level of service suxs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2004 Author Share August 13, 2004 Just 'general knowledge' mah, dun need to psst here and there, right? i wanna qualify for lifelong learner award can ornot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 Personally, if the car has no problems after a period of time after run-in, the reliability should be alright. Besides, "wear & tear" parts are not covered under warranty anyway. So after half to one year, when nothing needs warranty replacement, should be safe to change workshops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 13, 2004 Author Share August 13, 2004 (edited) but problems may not arise within the 1st year. if some problem does indeed crop up within the 3 yr warranty period, MI can always fall back on the disclaimer and siam responsibility. juz wondering, is it explicitly stated in yr warranty booklet that servicing MUST be done by them? Edited August 13, 2004 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 Yep, that is a risk one has to take. But when you ask around, you realise that most problems arise within the 1st few months or 1st year. Further on, its usually the wear & tear items like battery, brake pads, tyres, etc..... You hardly hear of any major issues. Probably the reason why MI dares to give 3 year warranty. Somemore, if I didn't read the warranty info wrongly, the warranty covers for parts only after the 1st year. You still have to pay for labour & that kills. Parts can be bought from half cuts which is so much cheaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched August 13, 2004 Share August 13, 2004 I drive a TS, 15months already. so far so good. Only minor tweaks during servicing. the milage now is about 40k. and i feel that its still drive like new. :) It was sometimes worrying what will happen after 1year.. and now , i start to believe that it would still perform like new. the only addon i have is the gunigong, k&n filter and hvs. don't have much to comment about the technical competence, cause there isn't much to do for my case. Quite prompt in normal servicing, when they told me it will be done about lunch, sure enough, i get a call at lunch. warranty.. no comment yet, cause nothing has changed yet. courtesy and service... i am pretty ok with their attitude and service. :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 14, 2004 Author Share August 14, 2004 thks for the feedback. sounds beri reliable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 16, 2004 Share August 16, 2004 3spd auto?? still not as bad as my G1 civic auto - tink it had onli 1 speed. It sounds like plane taking off when pressed for pick up. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunsmoke Neutral Newbie June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 A first time owner of a subaru car, just collected a new forester for less than 3 weeks and had a horrible experience with the service provided by motor image. I must say that the car drive great and the handling are very good but no matter how good the car is, it the service provided that let the owner have a lasting impression on the company. I had to send the car in 4 time in 6 days to get small problem slot out. It make me wonder if they have any QC before they releasing the car to the customer. First I collect the car without a promised solar flim and was told that I had to get in installed myself in Ubi. Then the company that install solar flim imformed me that there is a cut on the front main wind screen. I had to send the car back to subaru for them to inspect it and make another arrangement for them to get it polish away the cut. That not the end. After using the car for a few day I notice the driver side door warning light was not working at first I thought the light bulb had blown however when I open the light cover I am shock to find out that they don't even have a light blub inside. I wonder if they remember to fill up the engine oil, water ect ect...... if they can forget a light bulb. That was part 1 now part 2, the QC and after sale service suck, now I discover another problem. I just recieve the policy for the insurance company AIG and i discover Motor Image over charge me more than $300. As before after telling me a bunch of rubbish they say sorry and will make arrangement to refund me. I wonder if they will ever refund you if the buyer did not spot the over charge. I was not too happy so I requested to speak to someone from management however I notice the staff are very worry to pass the line to the management staff. I think maybe they want to cover up! I wonder if the big boss know the problem on the ground. Till now nobody seen interested to slot out the problem. They just treat you like a "ping pong" I requested to the Sale that I wish to speak to the management staff however after 2 days of waiting still no reply tried calling the main and the customer service officer everytime say the manager is not in after trying a few time a guys calling himself Mr Tan answer me and after a few words he said " Subaru is not free to entertain your request" and just slam the phone on me. I tried calling again and they didn't pick up my phone from then. Got a friend to call on my behalf. After hearing my name they slam the phone again. This is customer service in subaru. Dispite all the effort to improve our service standard in Singapore! This is the worst car company I ever come across. Some China brand car serve you better. I am very disappointed !!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 you have to take it up to our local papers. or CASE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunsmoke Neutral Newbie June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 Just want to remind potential buyer to be careful. Better off buying another brand! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Comnao 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 OK, here's my take on your questions. I take it you're referring to MI? 1. Troubleshooting faults - So, so. 2. Technical Competence - Also So, so 3. Warranty - Dunno but heard that they extremely sticky because of mods done. Warranty 3 years........ can one wait that long to start........ 4. Promptness - Actually kinda slow (takes 4 hours for oil & filter change?) 5. Courtesy & service - Pretty good actually. If you need an SE, the person who handled my case was pretty good & honest. DWoon your reply too sanitized lah my take 1. Troubleshooting faults - idiots !! they are better off repair the ()*() of the turbo killer whale 2. Technical Competence - see trouble shooting 3. Warranty - they are such a bunch of ()*() that i wan to stuff their faces into the ()*() of a killer whale 4. Promptness - Actually kinda slow (takes 4 hours for oil & filter change?)... agree but generally all ADs are about equally slow 5. Courtesy & service - Pretty good actually.... agree ... most importantly the coffee making machine is good and the sales girls wear pretty short skirts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakuii 1st Gear June 12, 2008 Share June 12, 2008 I guess you suay. I bought from them less than a year. So far so good. Solar film installed ok, reverse sensor installed ok. Servicing quite prompt. No complaints. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superme Neutral Newbie June 30, 2008 Share June 30, 2008 Subaru owners, appreciate yr feedback. Thks. Are they good at troubleshooting or resolving faults? (are there many problems to start wif?) Technical competence? Honour warranty without BS? Promptness in finishing a job? General level of courtesy & service? Technical competence wise, lets say that outside workshops know the car better than them Honour warranty without BS? If you change rims, warrenty is void, what more for mods Promptness in finishing a job? It takes a rather long time General level of courtesy & service? The issue of voiding warrenty makes alot of subaru owners angry with them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...