BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 (edited) Anyone went to kallang to view the course ? Quite a good show. Chief Instructor (Leslie "chung" ?) executed a 180 turn with hand brake and gun off all very smoothly. Lots of cars signed up for the course. WRX STI, WRX, STI (suspect its TS 1.6), Nissan March, BMW 520i, MX5 (convertible), 2 x Toyota Corrola (1 new, 1 old), Nissan Sunny, 2 x Forrestor (1 with loud BOV ), Vivio, 3 x civic (2 old 1 new) The race was flaged off by a civic which made a right turn and gunned down the long straight but unfortunately a little too fast and serious understeer was a result which caused the car to mount kerb and fly into the tree. Pretty badly damaged. 2nd accident was a black STI driven by an caucasian with sg girlfriend as co driver. He too took the corner too fast and almost crashed into the exact spot of the civic. The result was a heavily damaged rim and broken side skirt but other then that should be fine. Both cars got towed away as a result. Feel heart pain to see these cars crash. Other then that the main highlight was the nissan sunny driver who loves to handbrake. Quite a skillful driver considering he picked up the technique fast. Unfortunately this driver wasn't aware of the safety of bystanders when he exit the track and continued do his stunt. I just thought it was inconsiderate. Nissan march amongst all cars clocked 1 of the fastest timing considering the car and engine size. It definitely ain't the car but a result of skill. Apparently the driver suffered an overturn to learn his lessons well. Pretty spectacular I must say. Edited August 22, 2004 by BMW320i ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 320i nv go join in the fun ar?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 to some extent, it is the car. tight carpark routes like this usually favour small nimble cars where HP dun matter coz the straights are super duper short wif 90 degree corners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 no lor ... information salah ... friend told me it was a race. How can I race ? I got no talent. Just realised it was a drivers course when I reached there... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 (edited) yeah ... anyway for the STI and civic's case, the straight looks pretty long but when you reach turn 2, its a bit too late to realise your too fast. So lessons were learnt ... So far the march, BMW 520i as well as vivio was able to execute a smooth 180 turn. March by far was consistant. Edited August 22, 2004 by BMW320i Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 u din get leslie to give u a thrill ride? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 wah lao ... the course cost $218. If I'm not wrong he race in sepang. How can I let such a skillful instructor to give me cheap thrills... Maybe sign up for the next advance driver training lor. Its good in a sense you learn the limitations of your car, knowing what it can or cannot do. But be sure to change to worn out tires or be prepared to change the tires. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 Woahz! How to sign up?? Got to provide own car harz?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 heard he offered to give anyone a ride of their life for $10 (proceeds to charity) today using their own cars, of course. but the actual cost is more than that after yr suspension kaputz..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 Their promotion quite low profile leh ... I only got to know through my friend. Yes gotta provide own car. or can drive daddy's car or maybe rented ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 He did ? geez I must have been too shag. But its an honour to drive with him Pretty sure the suspension bushings gone case liao ... esp those hand brake turns. Civic did quite alot of 3 wheeler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 i co-drive wif him once b4 in my car. super heart pain...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 Time to upgrade my skills! Can provide details? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 wahhaha what car ! He'll show no mercy to your car ! Were you 1 of the participants or audience ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 err ... they will be organising another 1 next year... But do keep a look out at other advance driver courses conducted by other sponsers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 yeah, he realli no give chance one. but he's an alright fella lar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie August 22, 2004 Author Share August 22, 2004 His 180 turn sibeh heong. At the end of the session after the group photo, he offered a ride to the STI driver. man he cornered the first turn freaking fast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 22, 2004 Share August 22, 2004 Next year!? How to keep a lookout? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...