New Car or Old Car

Icefiesta

Hi ,

I intend to buy a car dun know to go for a new car or a 2nd hand car.Cos me going to sell my car.It was my 1st car I got chop chop chop for it.So now very scared. Pls advise ? Also wat is OMV and Parf . I do not understand it at all. PLs help.

think there's no 100% right answer to this question. Buy old or new really depends on your own situation....most importance money situation lor.. [:)]

OMV and PARF are similar.

OMV is the amount that customs used to determine the duty of the car.

PARF is the amount that you will get when you scrap the car.

ARF is 140% of your OMV (the duty & tax paid)

PARF + COE + (Dep of car X yrs of COE left) = Selling price of car.

When buying new car...just look at the PARF = how much then apply the layman rule below to find out the annual dep of the car.

Selling Price of car - PARF then divided by the number of years left

2 yr old car selling for 55,000. PARF 12,000

55,000 - 12,000 = 43,000 / 8 = $5375/year

Actually I want to look for a car monthly installment around 600-800. Best 1.6cc above.

Cos most of the time I goes out with my family members and total there are 5 or 6 of us including me.behind always squeeze and I find that with heavy load the speed is slower a lot.Also I dun wan to fork out a lot for downpayment best no downpayment becos very tight budget.So any recommendation.If 2nd hand cars how old cars can I go for ?

is the car gonna be a permanent committment?

or are u still at the stage of thinking its good to have?

some people buy liao then later realise waste to park car in office whole day and then sell at a huge loss.

first hand cars are no good if u have to resell them shortly.....hence this is also another consideration.

humm...5 to 6 person ??? then think you need to get a BIG car liao...just saw from forum...hyundai sonata only selling 70k+...a normal 1.6 won't be able to seat 5 person comfortably....most important is buy within your own limit lor....and if it's within your limit...a new car will always be better...

thanks for all the info.I am actually getting it for long term tat's why thinking so seriously.will there be lots of trouble with hyundai sonata cos heard a lot people say hyundai got lots of trouble. also wat you have jus mention is it a new car or 2nd hand car ?

Used to... [:)] ...u driving 1 too ?? it's not a bad car afterall...only have minor problem here and there....but never fail me for the 2yrs of owning it with my super high miledge...