Workshop too proactive?

Sapience

i orderd my tein coilovers last month, so as i wasn't getting any news, decided to call up the shop and asked them about its status. lo and behold, the boss told me that the basic coilovers are out of stock, and he ordered the super street version for me, and plus EDFC, which was not in the original order. so i was a bit caught off guard, and didn't know whether to [thumbsup] or [thumbsdown] ?

the boss said there will be a "recalculation" of the price... how much more can it jump from 1.8k?

what would you do if a shop does this to you?

Wah, like this also can.... sweatdrop.gif Must immediately check the price with him, chances are the price can shoot up by quite alot. Better bargain with him on this, not right for him to do this. shakehead.gif

Unless he can get the whole package at an attractive price, say 2.2k w/ installation? rolleyes.gifsly.gif

is it your regular workshop? If it is, maybe he knows your car inside out and maybe he even knows you better than you know yourself and knows that the super street version is the one that truly feeds your innermost desires. hee hee..

Ok, on a serious note, check with him the new cost and see if you still want it. If negative, then gently turn him down stating that your finaces cant support that. Thats what i would do.

But remember!!! DONT think about what the super street coilovers are capable of and consider the price. Think about your ORIGINAL intentions and whether the super streets are too much...

hope this helps abit.

judging from wat u mentioned, i dun think he informed u b4 hand tt the basic ones are out of stock and asked u whether u wanna get those super street version.

if i were you, i would tell him straight tt i wanted the basic ones. direct. either he is trying to pull a fast one.. more profit for him. if really the super ones can fit, but at a premium price, i think its fair tt he helps to bear for the diff/increase in price.

if i wanna play hardball, tell him i only want the basic ones. he got the super ones.. too bad. manz. and only got budget for $1.8k as previously known.

since they din ask u permission if u wanted the more ex one, u can either ask them to i) honour the orig quoted price or ii) ask them to fly kite and dun pick up.

i orderd my tein coilovers last month, so as i wasn't getting any news, decided to call up the shop and asked them about its status. lo and behold, the boss told me that the basic coilovers are out of stock, and he ordered the super street version for me, and plus EDFC, which was not in the original order. so i was a bit caught off guard, and didn't know whether to thumbsup.gif or thumbsdown.gif ?

the boss said there will be a "recalculation" of the price... how much more can it jump from 1.8k?

what would you do if a shop does this to you?

I agree with what Soya said. nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

don't think this is call proactive lor....wait he give you a bill 50% more...you also buy meh ??? proactive...just inform customer no stock lor...want the better version bo can liao lor...

It is quite straight forward. They have to inform you 1st as a consumer. Whether they are going to cost more of less is not the point of contention. You have the right to choose.

i orderd my tein coilovers last month, so as i wasn't getting any news, decided to call up the shop and asked them about its status.

As you mentioned, you had to call the shop as you weren't getting any news. Doesn't seem that the shop is being proactive at all, else they would have called you up in the first place.

wish i could, but i placed a deposit already...

think i'll ask the boss for a confirmed price tomorrow...

(p.s. for those who are curious, it's quite a "popular" shop with MCFers in paya ubi... [lipsrsealed] )

sort of ... i think the super street one may just kill my butt... well i did get my current rims from him, but when i went back this time, seems like he forgotten about me liao... guess i'm one of those that don't really get friendly with workshop bosses...

you are not obliged to buy from them as its not what u want or ordered. You might want to check whats the new price for these items and then decide. Maybe they'll give you a good price for them! [:p]

wish i could, but i placed a deposit already...

think i'll ask the boss for a confirmed price tomorrow...

(p.s. for those who are curious, it's quite a "popular" shop with MCFers in paya ubi... lipsrsealed.gif )

YB?