Next Project - Alternator

Skoda_Man

Folks, just to keep you guys update. I have just got hold of a VW Golf VR6 Alternator. It is a 120A alterantor!!! hehehe

Will try to get it fix up asap so that my ICE will have more juice. Will have the original alternator at home. So if you need it let me know.

Can someone please advice me how this change will affect the car? I no mechincal guy, help is appreciated.

This look like an electrical more than mechanical arena.

Guess higher capacity alt and higher AH battery are the start.

Don't know about the power supply affecting the electrical system or not.

Do check to see it is safe before embarking on the project. [gossip]

From what I understand, the alternator just produce more Amp than then the original.

So in a current hungry ICE system, your headlight not not dim so easily and also the charging of the battery is not affect by the current hungry ICE when you blast.

This is what I get when I check around. I also want to be sure.

What, your mod upgrade is now at ALTERNATOR...cool man!

Say, if in future my alternator kaput, its perfectly fine to ask for a BIGGER Ampere Alternator?

I would also assume you need to buy a bigger Amh battery to charge the alternator... doesnt make sense to havea big Alternator but under-powered battery.

As for the battery AH, I believe the current 60AH is good enough already. I need the higher amp mainly just for my ICE.

Furthermore a bigger battery got no space to put it lah

Okay people, when to the workshop today to let them take a look. Seems like the alternator fits, it is a Borsh anyway. But didn't have time to let time try to fit it in so I will go tomorrow morning to get it done. Stay tune.

Haha, the new alternator is now in my humble Octy liao.

Everything fits in perfectly, cause it is still a compact Bosch alternator.

Original - 90A

New - 120A

hahaha... got an additional 30A of electrical power which equates to 0bhp. hehe

Breakdown of cost

Used 120A Bosch Alternator - S$50 (This one I got it cheap, no joke)

Labour - S$50 (took half a day so dun know market rate)

Additional - S$10 for a relay, cause of the Plug issue. Original plug 2 output, Used alternator plug single output. No relay means no charging, so got to put one in.

Total S$110 for 30A more for a long long time... Yeah I am a happy man.

Next up, my ICE upgrade!!!!!! haha, that is provided I am still in SG

nothing really, this extra Amp is meant for my ICE and not bhp, so not expecting anything in fact.

dun know if it is the weather, but AC does feel better for the past 2 days.