Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 18, 2002 Share October 18, 2002 Folks, just to keep you guys update. I have just got hold of a VW Golf VR6 Alternator. It is a 120A alterantor!!! hehehe Will try to get it fix up asap so that my ICE will have more juice. Will have the original alternator at home. So if you need it let me know. Can someone please advice me how this change will affect the car? I no mechincal guy, help is appreciated. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky8807 1st Gear October 18, 2002 Share October 18, 2002 This look like an electrical more than mechanical arena. Guess higher capacity alt and higher AH battery are the start. Don't know about the power supply affecting the electrical system or not. Do check to see it is safe before embarking on the project. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 18, 2002 Author Share October 18, 2002 From what I understand, the alternator just produce more Amp than then the original. So in a current hungry ICE system, your headlight not not dim so easily and also the charging of the battery is not affect by the current hungry ICE when you blast. This is what I get when I check around. I also want to be sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear October 18, 2002 Share October 18, 2002 What, your mod upgrade is now at ALTERNATOR...cool man! Say, if in future my alternator kaput, its perfectly fine to ask for a BIGGER Ampere Alternator? I would also assume you need to buy a bigger Amh battery to charge the alternator... doesnt make sense to havea big Alternator but under-powered battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 19, 2002 Author Share October 19, 2002 As for the battery AH, I believe the current 60AH is good enough already. I need the higher amp mainly just for my ICE. Furthermore a bigger battery got no space to put it lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 21, 2002 Author Share October 21, 2002 Okay people, when to the workshop today to let them take a look. Seems like the alternator fits, it is a Borsh anyway. But didn't have time to let time try to fit it in so I will go tomorrow morning to get it done. Stay tune. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 22, 2002 Author Share October 22, 2002 Haha, the new alternator is now in my humble Octy liao. Everything fits in perfectly, cause it is still a compact Bosch alternator. Original - 90A New - 120A hahaha... got an additional 30A of electrical power which equates to 0bhp. hehe Breakdown of cost Used 120A Bosch Alternator - S$50 (This one I got it cheap, no joke) Labour - S$50 (took half a day so dun know market rate) Additional - S$10 for a relay, cause of the Plug issue. Original plug 2 output, Used alternator plug single output. No relay means no charging, so got to put one in. Total S$110 for 30A more for a long long time... Yeah I am a happy man. Next up, my ICE upgrade!!!!!! haha, that is provided I am still in SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fabiaman 1st Gear October 25, 2002 Share October 25, 2002 Congrats Skodaman... so what is the diff with that extra oomph in the electrical power? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie October 25, 2002 Author Share October 25, 2002 nothing really, this extra Amp is meant for my ICE and not bhp, so not expecting anything in fact. dun know if it is the weather, but AC does feel better for the past 2 days. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...