Titanium 4th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 I just got myself a Kenwood wOOx, got a bit of question here... 1)I read from the net that the active woofer will sound better if connected via RCA as compare to normal wiring. True? Much Better or just a little, worth to change? 2)Once i forgot to off the HU before i start engine, and there is a loud "boo" from the woox, any harm? Thank In Advance... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dcool Neutral Newbie October 1, 2004 Share October 1, 2004 Yes, its true RCA is much better than the normal wiring, especially if your head unit have a pre-out for sub. I am using that config now, i used to run via normal wiring. And for the second question, i dun think it will damage the woox, unless the volume on yr HU is rather high, make it a habit to turn down all the volume all the way before you off the engine, better still off the HU before leaving the car. The "boo" thing happened a few times to me also but, still working fine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 1, 2004 Author Share October 1, 2004 Thank! So any recommendation on the RCA connector n Cable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dcool Neutral Newbie October 3, 2004 Share October 3, 2004 I think any normal audio RCA cable will do, bc sub are playing low freq so it doesnt makes alot of diff if you use high or low when. Unless you are running a sub speaker with high end amp. Use a normal gold plated RCA for the Woox will do. Shouldnt cost too much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 3, 2004 Share October 3, 2004 I am using the same subwoofer as you for more than a year now. The guy installed using RCA cables and my subwoofer never gave me the 'boom' noise before.. should check the worksmanship...btw, I installed mine at Pin Liang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched October 3, 2004 Share October 3, 2004 How much to add a active sub-woofer to my existing Kenwood HU ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 3, 2004 Share October 3, 2004 That time I bought the kenwood subwoofer at Lian Siong for $280 and installed at Pin Liang for $80...so altogether $360... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched October 3, 2004 Share October 3, 2004 Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 Normal gold plated RCA is those red and white cable with gold colour plug? Like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 (edited) The "boom" is cause becos i forgot to turn off the HU before i start the engine. i think is rather normal. Btw, care to share ur setting? Pioneer's EQ is damn hard to config... Edited October 4, 2004 by Titanium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 Mine $300 Nett (wOOx with installation) @ Car Beauty... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dcool Neutral Newbie October 4, 2004 Share October 4, 2004 yep thats the one ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 4, 2004 Share October 4, 2004 I tink the 'boom' is not normal...I never ever turn off the HU before I start the engine and it never have the noise...you might want to check.. I'm using a Kenwood HU so not very sure abt Pioneer leh...paiseh... That time when I installed at Pin Liang, the guy told me that it's better to install using RCA cables rather than tapping from speaker wires...sounds better but it will cost more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 4, 2004 Share October 4, 2004 the woofer shld be connected to the RCA preouts at the HU (wif RCA cables, of course). how did yours land up wif juz normal wires? u dun normally need to switch off the HU b4 u start the engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 The wOOx does now come with RCA cable mah, only the normal cable. i found the cable @ home one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 (edited) ok... then i can save my $$$ liao. Actually i intend to spend $30+ to get a pair of gd RCA cable. Edited October 4, 2004 by Titanium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 4, 2004 Share October 4, 2004 u mean it doesn't come wif RCA cables? that's quite unusual for a sub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Titanium 4th Gear October 4, 2004 Author Share October 4, 2004 Did u notice wat kind of RCA cable he used? gd one? or just normal one? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...