Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 spoil again leh.. more bo hua right? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clitang Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 Since you have a car so save the $300 and drive your present car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 ok, let say if I wait for the next bidding, if the COE prices continues to go up... I will need to top up more is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 What is $300 when compared to 60k. If I were in your place just top up and get the car. If you really wanted to make savings then it should be substantial like 3-4k which I think will materialise in 2-3 mths time. But then you will not be able to see this savings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cow28 Clutched October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 Can I just add that the longer u wait for the new car, the more your COE will depreciate. I guess why not u calculate it and ask yourself if its worth the wait. hmm... Well.. as for me, I topped up 1K to get my car. Its a long story but because my car is under the old COE scheme and will depreciate around 2.5K if I wait another month.. so no choice... dun wan to go without car too... Now, I'm so glad to have my new lancer ... like somebody said... what is 300 compared to 60K . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 haha.... no lah....car got feelings one. just talk nicely to him. sure no problem! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 sorry, but i don't really get what you mean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 got 5000cc motorcycle meh? wah.... The biggest I saw was like 1.xL. Maybe got 2L. But 5L is You'll need 4 tyres to balance man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 hahaha.. maybe it is feeling angry and sad tat why the radiator leak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 I just anyhow say one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 What I meant is that I personally feel COEs will be lower by 3-4k a few months later perhaps around Jan in which case the Sunny's price will also very likely go down. Furthermore the new Sunny is due by early next year which will mean further discounts to clear the existing Sunny stock. Anyway since you have already made your booking you cannot withdraw it now without incurring a big loss. Very likely Tan Chong will get you the COE within the 6 biddings based on the price you agreed with them. So you do not have much choice and you will not be able to enjoy any potential 3-4 k savings which new buyers may enjoy later based on lower COE prices (assuming my prediction comes true). So based on the existing situation you might as well top up $300 and get the car since the price of the car is already fixed. Anyway $300 is very reasonable since I read in another forum that a Cefiro buyer has been asked to top up 1k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 OIC... maybe will do the top up ba.. depending on hubby's decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nozzie Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 the SE called.. he mention we need to pay $300 to get the open cat.what you all think? DO NOT PAY!!!!! Say all they want, at the end of the day when you decide to sell the car, the value of your COE is peg to the Cat A price. So you pay the $400 but COE is valued at the cheaper amount - NOT WORTH paying for distributors' stupidity and eagerness to get more COE... worse make customer pay for it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 More like it will rise abit until CNY and drop abit until much. Open to unexpected outside forces (economy collapse, bird flu, pig flu, and whatever flu that might pop up.) But didn't you all read Mon's Straits Times? LTA won't let COE prices drop like bird sxxt one! It undermines their profits! Dealers also makan our $$ from COEs as well, with these two forces combining, it will take something really significant to get the prices dropping like huge piles of bird sxxt!! Actually, the factor that can affect car prices in the very near future is the oil prices, but most companies that used lots of fuel have contracts in place with oil companies, thus holding up the effect of the ever-rising petrol prices! The effects will come in towards the end of next year! Expect something major if petrol prices remain at this prices until next year! (People who really wants to get cheap cars can join the terrorists!! ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nozzie Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 Scream and shout at the SE for even bring up such unscrupulous idea! Ask her to give it to you FREE or you will bring this issue to the press for such underhanded method of sales!!! You will get it free! Trust me! They are just trying their luck to make unknowing customers pay for their mistake. They must get rid of these excess COE b4 the next round of bidding... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 That was what I thought for the Suzuki Ignis. But "people count cannot fight haven count (in this case, dealers count)", Ignis went out of stock before the new model is officially introduced! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene06 Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 at the end of the day when you decide to sell the car, the value of your COE is peg to the Cat A price which cat a price? the date when i wan to sell my car or this current cat a price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowtang Neutral Newbie October 21, 2004 Share October 21, 2004 (edited) Actually I agree that since you've committed to the deal with the dealer, they will ensure that you get the car in the next few bids, so for $300 I would just take the car. remember that every month you wait, the value of your old car also goes down, unless you have locked in the value of the trade-in car irrespectively of when you get the new car, then you can wait..but likely not the case. Anyhow $300...take it as payment for 1 of the freebees that came with the car... When buying a car, I believe there isn't really a best time..it's the right time for you. when you need it then get it. If it's now...it's now. anyway the minute you get the car in your hands, it starts to depreciate so you're already losing money... Especially since you mention that there is a possiblity of your current car breaking down..then it's likely to cost you more than $300.. As for the COE, it will be pegged to the price of the COE the month you got the car, not when you sell the car. The COE price will be printed on your log card. Since the difference between open cat and cat A is small..then there's no issue.. Edited October 21, 2004 by Yellowtang ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...