Yongwd 1st Gear November 11, 2002 Share November 11, 2002 since when did i buy a rex? i only consider scooby but then, this car has no resale market and i need further reconsideration. So wat if its TCed? must think of practical aspects, current economy and if i can idle home for 1yr yet still able to support this car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie November 12, 2002 Share November 12, 2002 How true to your analysis. Was justing checking as I read somewhere that you are getting a rex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sam71 Neutral Newbie December 6, 2002 Share December 6, 2002 (edited) All I did was to detach the stock intake tube and drop it thru a hole so that it is now resting behind the foglights cover. Nothing was added at all. But I noticed that I am pulling higher RPMs before going into 2nd/3rd gear. eg before I did my 'CAI' gears change at around 2000+ rpm after 'CAI' gears change at abt 3000rpm ------------------------------------------ Well did the same thing on my Sunny. You are right the gear change at a higher RPM. So this improves the pickup and flatspotting (happen in Auto car). Usually when i floor the pedal initially RPM pick up but car dun move. Dunno how much this is attributed to the removal of the resonator as i had installed Power Boost Valve as well. And the noise increase as well. I believe the original resonator is designed to muffle the sound. Try putting the org resonator back and you will see the noise is reduced. Edited December 6, 2002 by Sam71 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyrix Neutral Newbie July 24, 2004 Share July 24, 2004 hi bro...when u say CAI...wat is it actually???....can i fit a CAI with a K&N filter??...any difference between a drop in and a cone K&N filter??..which one better???...as for the CAI...neber really seen it b4...need any maintenance to it??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 CAI = cold air intake. Yes, can fit a CAI to the stock airbox w/ a drop-in K&N filter element. Stick to a drop-in if you're mostly zipping ard the city area where low-end power is much appreciated. Cone or Open-pod type more for mid to high end..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 lots of Honda civic especially the EG or EK series all fitted with open pod...open pod reduce torque at low end...and vtec engine's con is that it's low end torque is disappointing..still adviceable to fit open pod?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 got in from somewhere (forget liao).... an open pod with heat shield (similar the air-box format)...notice theres a silver CAI piping in the bottom right(COOL air but remember if piping not big enuff also will cos restriction, in the end defeating the purpose of having an open pod. we want more air here)... .... protects ur battery from engine heat too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyrix Neutral Newbie July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 bro....can tell me what is the range of the low end power?...0 - 3000rpm??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 haha... i tink shld be 1st one-third of ur max rpm loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 25, 2004 Share July 25, 2004 <<<<<<bro....can tell me what is the range of the low end power?...0 - 3000rpm??? >>>>>> Generally, yes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cyrix Neutral Newbie July 28, 2004 Share July 28, 2004 bro...i ask ard...y do ppl say drop in is better than cone???...is it the preference of the driver that counts as both do wonders for different range RPM??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 29, 2004 Share July 29, 2004 Drop-in one doesn't affect the low end. Open-pod improves the high-end (shiok if u want to travel across the causeway). But low end is affected, so depends on what u want. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...