Hitman Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Hello! I'm new here. I've been looking around for a new car, and so far have narrowed my choices down to the Chevy Optra and Proton Waja. Both auto versions. I like the Optra for its solid build and ride, but rather slow pick up. The Waja is so so, rather noisy and the steering is rather heavy. Any comments on the Waja's reliability? The build and interior quality is better than the Gen-2. Gen-s feels rather plasticky and flimsy. I would go for the Waja ... especially if you are buying your own car. 1) Easier to mod ... believe me, once you own a car ... the itchiness to mod this and mod that will always come along. And with the Waja , you'd be spoilt for choice. Furthermore in MY currency ... lagi shiok 2) The Waja have got good low end torque. In fact, I would say excellent. Pickup is awesome. 3) FC ... fuels in SG aint getting cheaper. And the Waja is a more fuel efficient car than the Optra. Looks wise, the Optra looks more classy but a dressed up Waja looks damn GARANG The Optra is heavy ... so heavy that the 1.6 litre plant seems to struggle to drag it along. The best guys to ask about the Waja is RemyGenn and E230 They are driving one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ares Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Autoseal is a sealent that is pump into your tyre.As soon as there is a puncture, the sealant will immediately seal the hole (suppose to be effective up to 1/4 or 1/2" hole). I've never used Autoseal but I've uses similar product that comes in a canistor when I encounter a flat. I remember using one to help a helpless looking many years back. After you pump in the sealant from the canister, do you still need to bring the trye shop for puncture repair? Think of dumping my spare for this product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S_yeow Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 One good point to consider is whether you have the spare cash for higher maintenance of the Optra. I found my maintenance too heavy going that I eventually give up my Magene eventhough I can't fault its drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 I cant comment on the maintenance of the Optra ... cause I really dun know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 No need. Once I use it on a flat and the very next day I was running in MY at 200+km/h. No problem! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Of course depend on the type of puncture you kena. Better to observe to see if your tyre pressure maintain just to be safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vernon Neutral Newbie December 13, 2004 Share December 13, 2004 Change your tyres to run-flat ones lol. No worries at all even if puncture...but its not exactly possible to have those tyres . Anyway, depending on what you prefer, trimming and quality or engine and FC. I still think the Optra looks better, more stylish looks very conti, and interior trims varies but the nicest one I've seen is very very class got wood here and there...who cares if it is faux. Although the Waja and Gen2 are the best looking in Proton's lineup I think Waja is already starting to look a little bit dated especially the front. But it seems that you like Waja so you might as well get it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ares Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Thanks. So, I gather that normal puncture (eg. small nail) use the canistor still can tahan lah. Ok, will go buy a can. Any place got good offer other than petrol stations? Now to find a place to put my spare tyre... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Can try Waterloo or Autobacc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ares Neutral Newbie December 14, 2004 Share December 14, 2004 Thanx. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remygenn Neutral Newbie December 20, 2004 Share December 20, 2004 So hv u decided Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fjtan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 so have you got what you want...I got a waja in July and until now, nothing wrong with it yet (touch wood), you will be glad with the spacious head and leg room in the waja as well as the boot but i'm not sure with the optra.... actually i was also trying out both the waja and the optra when i wanted to buy a car.....i tried both and i chose waja in the end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remygenn Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 Bro .. not me lah buying the car Good for you that ur waja is in tip top condition . What color is urs ? Mine is black Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fjtan Neutral Newbie December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 oops sorry about that...mine is green although they told me the colour is artic blue.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 wait for e230 to reply lah, our wajauation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 but he didn't come ler how's his waja liao? can match ur alpa bo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 tell u a serect,he is more crazy driver than me ok...keep quiet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 21, 2004 Share December 21, 2004 cannnot imagine an E230 driver drives like that ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...