Ahhan7 Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 i would think its the speakers first. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 My plan. 1. Front budget component, done, Infinity ref 6000 2. Decent HU, done, Clarion 756 3. Budget Amp, pending, Lanzar heritage 4-ch 1000w 4. Budget Sub, pending, sourcing 5. Maybe go back to front component speakers, pending, soucing Why for me HU comes second is because I have tons of MP3s, so rather get a decent MP3 HU. Plus I am quite satisfied with my component even without amps, thus amp's priority drop to 3. Was looking at 8650, but when I wanted to put the money in, it went out of stock. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 did u try the CDTs before settling on your infinity? any comments on comparison? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 No, CDT became a bit more famous my purchase of infinity. At the time, I was aiming for Kappa. But took the ref deal because it is a steal to get it at that price with installation. Also, I know my past speaker is so lousy that anything else would sound better. Thus, I would consider upgrade front again, after I go 1 round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 yo man.. y not look ard for 2nd hand amps that are better than lanzar.. u ask hyun to go to the installer i recommended.. he has some old school sound stream reference series amps lyin around.. just a suggestion.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 1000w amp. that's pmpo right. i dont know all this numbers thing. on the soundstream reference 405 it says 4 channels of 25W + 1 channel of 100W for sub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 the sound stream is 75watt RMS per channel plus 100 watt for woofer.. this amps all under rated.. plus its the old sch US made amps.. there's power there.. not like the new amps, made in china, said to be also under rated.. but bo lat one.. aniway.. tat 1000 watts.. i duno where its peak or RMS.. must see first lor.. can be monoblk.. then its rms lor.. underrated amps .. must see brand one.. my 2 amps behind.. they are rated as 50watts x 2 channel.. but i plannin to use it to wack 1000+ watts for my woofers.. so.. u can see la.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 23, 2005 Share September 23, 2005 i went down to listen to the CDTs. then i asked them to show some competitors and they showed rainbow SLE 265. brighter but perhaps slightly lacking in bass. then they showed some Helix $550 odd model - sound seems more open, not too bright. then it lost me. all sound nice. just different. and $550 would be too much so i have to stick with CDT at $300 or rainbow at $380. i'm just so lost ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 How about a/d/s speakers? have u heard about them? should be good within ur budget. Sound wise not too bright and have some substantial bass. Highly reviewed in Japan now and before. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 i'm confused now cos having bright speakers is nice, especially if u can reduce the brightness if you wish. having dull speakers which cant be brightened woud be limiting. having lacking bass isn't good of course. CDT sounded in that short audition to have bass. the brightness seemed rather muted compared to the other speakers, not sure if it could be increased by tuning. it didn't sound as "open" as the $550odd helix speakers but we're talking about $300 vs $550 here so... cant compare like this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 Don't be confused, my advise for u is to check out this a/d/s speakers, it is somewhere in between of brightness and bass, should be your taste. No harm hearing more speakers, my friend Personally, i will take any pair of a/d/s speakers over cdt or helix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 yoyo.. i've heard ADS.. power.. i dont tink they are bright.. but very soothin to the ears.. but hyun's taste of music is similiar to mine, which is fast fast hard bass kind, at first recommended cadence speakers cos he on a budget.. then after a while, he kena poison liao.. then upgrade to CDT cos of its midbass... aniwway. for SQ, i also take ADS aniday too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 Right Man! a/d/s for SQ is value for $$, especially the older range of 320i, etc....heard Wong still have one set Audioedge now having promo for a/d/s 236i at only $280, very good value for money and within Hyun's budget Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autwin Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 (edited) Bro Protege, If read the thread, its 110 per door (double layer) and not 55. But it still very reasonable for that price for Xtreme. Does know of installer quoting between 250-300 for 2 doors/double layers using xtreme. Bro Thepukster, perhaps you can provide more details cos think it a good "lobang". Cheers. Bro Hyun, dont rush into installing, look around and compare/audit and decide what you realli want and can afford. Then will not regrets any choice you going to make. At times, certain ICE item can be done 1st then later upgrade if you are realli thinking of budget. The worst is that you install and realise that "alamak, i shd have pay a few hundred more to get what i realli wanted" cos upgrading later can be expersive. Ask around, what is important to do 1st and what can be delay. For example, you are realli on budget, forgo the sub just focus on the front components, but lay all the wires properly and ready for running "active" as well as adding amp/sub later. So that you need not have to worry about selling amps or realise that you got to pay somemore for cablings etc. Cheers Edited September 24, 2005 by Autwin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 these a/d/s sounds like must take a look. yah poison is flowing. reading about the CDT euro export models in Sim Lim. they way i look at it, at about $1180, only $300 goes into the front speakers which are some entry CDT CL-62. and as i mentioned during the audition, those $300 speakers totally doesn't have that "open soundstage" that comes with the $550+ range. can i safely say that by budgeting $600 for fronts, this is the additional benefit - an open soundstage? now must look for where's this audioedge liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divx Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 i saw the japanese magazine show that a/d/s is high end products. Why not in Singapore ?? Maybe can drop by and see .They have a/d/s Ishida Tuning amps ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 eheh.. but hyun more into SPL.. so give him SQ speakers also not so good.. CDT more all rounder.. maybe SQ wise not as good as ADS, but it packs more of a punch.. heheh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Autwin Neutral Newbie September 24, 2005 Share September 24, 2005 Think saw some CDT speaker at AE (look like 2nd hand stuff, some portion look red in colour), maybe when you there to check out ADS, maybe can take a look. Understand that AE has provide a small corner for ICE upgrader to put on display their old ICE stuff for anyone interested. Happy ICEing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...