Help - brakes binding up intermittently

Toyotaman

Hope you guys can help me- the brakes on my car are locking/binding up intermittently. Here's what I mean- you drive along and you press the brakes to slow down. You lift your foot and the brakes feel like their still engaged. The car slows by itself and stop even with the gear at "D". The brake pedal also becomes stiff. I have to restart the engine to get the brakes working normally again.

The last time it happened was on the North South highway- it's getting dangerous, esp to stop by the road shoulder to restart the engine [sweatdrop][bigcry] !!

Regards

TM

U definately have a problem with your brakes.

Don't delay. Get them checked at your reliable mechanic. Don't mess around with your brakes.

Cud b your calipers r jammed.

What car is that btw? How old? Kinda interested to know. :)You try braking while observing the brake reservior, then you release you see if the level goes back. If it binds and level goes back, then it may be something mechanical, esp if you have drums. If it binds and level didn't go back, something hydraulic is jammed. Solve it ASAP, very dangerous. [sweatdrop]

For me... Look for the sign on the top-up cap, usually reddish or yellowish fluid. If you wanna test... Put your finger into it, it should feel hot on the skin, or the other test is to take abit and put into water, the water should turn whitish. Or they always got a unique smell unlike any oil if you are familar, but i have yet to sniff synthetic brake fluid, dunno whats the smell like. [sweatdrop] However, old brake fluid sometimes may not feel hot to the skin, thus its time to change the oil.

Edited by Megalord

eh but brake fluid IS corrosive leh bro, of course hot to the skin!

==========================================

Ya lor. It's corrosive. Also if get any on your paint, wash off immediately with plenty of water.

Otherwise u damage your paintwork.

If u newbie,don't try to do yourself. Let your mechanic check for u & u see which is the brake fluid.

Otherwise u put wrong fluid in wrong place, sure die die, got big repair bill coming soon.

All your ang pow $$$$ fly away. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

So what happened. Got automatic radiator issit??? [:p][:p][:p]

Lucky it was not your car.

Anyway, I also sometimes abit blur, especially if had a bad or busy day. [confused]

So just a warning: Before you add anything to your car, check & make sure you got the correct one.

PS: My ATF & engine oil is same bottle, only colour is slightly different. Must b careful

ATF can put in power steering but not same as brake fluid. Brake fluid can use for clutch fluid too?

Like I said, If not very sure don't do it. [laugh]

[laugh][laugh] he kena screw by my staff seargant, then need to flush radiator. it was an old land rover, so probably it did the radiator good [:p][laugh]

yea, brake and clutch same fluid. warm sensation on skin.

engine oil looks like cough syrup

atf looks like F&N Cherryade

coolant looks like F&N Fruitade

[:p][:p]

Hey! My senior that time did that! Do you happen to be from 9DSMB?! Anyway, i was ordered to clear the mess...., FLush the radiator dunno for the whole day, flush until [dizzy] then put back. [dizzy]

Common lah, always bathe in dot 4 during those days... [sweatdrop] Put in finger test test no harm lah. [sweatdrop] BTW, clutch and brake fluid sometimes differ as in sometimes one use dot 3 and the other uses dot 4, but use synthetic brake fluid in both also can. [:p]

atf looks like F&N Cherryade

coolant looks like F&N Fruitade

=========================

Ah ha! I see u like to drink a lot of soft drinks issit? But your nick sounds like coffee leh. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

[laugh][laugh]

it was a real torture when i was drawing these fluid during fasting month.. really felt like drinking them, they look so refreshing.. [rolleyes]

Thanks for all the suggestions. Sorry for late reply as I was stuck in the kampung without Internet access for a week.

The problem has happened a few times already, intermittent...that's why my dealer could not find the problem. Bring to dealer to check, come back, same problem. Car is a 2 years old Audi A4 2.0MU.

Actually, the last time it happened was on N-S highway, had to stop on the road shoulder to restart engine. Because of the problem I parked the car at a relative's house in Malacca and took a bus (Transnational- aircon spoilt, hot like crazy!).

I think I can make it back to S'pore for repairs, have to drive slowly and avoid hard braking.

Regards

Toyotaman