Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Hi all, If you'd narrowed down your choice to purchase either the New Suzuki Swift or Mazda 2, which will you choose and why? Need help to check out which I should place my bets on. Also the new Swift now comes with the Stereo controller on the steering wheel as well as a free Ipod Mini that can be hooked up with the integrated stereo HU. Further makes the car more attractive as the single non expandable HU and no stereo controller on the steering wheel was a major factor for not really considering the Swift... Anyone who owns these 2 cars care to share yours views? Thanks! Mooooooooooooooooooooo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Terrylmt Supercharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 I am planning to change my car next year and I was plagued with the same problem as you are having now. I went to the Mazda showroom and had a good look at the Mz2 and compared it with what I can see for the Swift now. Freebies aside, here are my observations: 1. Price The price for the Swift is lower than the Mz2 with a slightly more powerful engine. 2. Trims I personally find the trims on the swift to be better than the Mz2 3. Transmission options Mz2 only comes with Auto, whilst u have both manual and auto options for the Swift Just my 2 cents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Swift Suzuki makes great small cars. The look also very chio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Author Share February 26, 2005 Hi there! But how do you rate the interior space between the 2??? I thought the Swift's to be smaller than the Mazda 2... But read in the mag that the Swift to be bigger.... Is it??? I sure think the Mazda offer more space inside... Only test drove the Swift and not too bad lah... But engine too cramp to do any upgrades i think... Th plstic in the Mazda seems better too.... Boot... the Mazda is bigger and split fold also offer more space... Moooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Mz2 is better built all round and the interior space is more flexible. The slightly squarish roof line also create better headroom at the boot area for large dog. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Author Share February 26, 2005 Hey Silver!!! Ya intrior space very crucial cuz my doggies need it... Hehehehee I lik the way the front seat of the Mazda 2 can collaspe to the back seat to form like a bed.... Also looks not bad too the design... Swift styling is nice but like quite spartan and will get bored in no time... Also very bsic interior and plstic like pretty cheap kind.... Headache... Mooooooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 I was looking out for such things when I was shopping for a car. I even brought my dogs for a test drive after I had narrowed my choices to 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Author Share February 26, 2005 Ya thinking of bringing them down to test too... They are priority... Swift I think will be simply too small for them but according to Torque... It is more spacious inside... Nt really true leh... Moooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Doubt Mazda allow dogs in their test car. Asked b4. But that was over a year ago when Mz2 & 3 were just launched. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Your dogs also plays a part in decision making? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Author Share February 26, 2005 Yup!!! They're my kids... Kekeekekee... They must also feel comfy when traveling cuz my Golden boy gets car sick.... My other boy is easier cuz he's small n tends to sit on th front seat... First class passenger.... Also needs the space to carry their stuff.... Mooooooooooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Yup. It's part of my liftstyle and they are my passengers. What's the point if I buy a car which doesn't suit my needs. In any case I don't see myself driving a sedan....I look too young to be seen driving one. None of my previous cars were sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mooscenic 1st Gear February 26, 2005 Author Share February 26, 2005 Yup.... Well they re also part of the reason for the choice of car to purchase. Need space and guess the Mazda 2 has enough of it and the flexi arrangement is better than the Swift... Both cars are attractive in their own ways but can't help liking the Mazda more... Anyone knows the colour for the lights on the instrument panel??? Is it green??? If yes, then have the lighting colour changed to blue or orange??? or even the whiter colured kind??? How much and where to modify it??? Mooooooooooooooooo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged February 26, 2005 Share February 26, 2005 Cannot remember the colour. It could have been orange or green. You can replaced the led to the colour of your choice, but it will not be cheap cos of high labour cost to remove the panels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiwao Clutched February 27, 2005 Share February 27, 2005 Hi It guess it very much depends on what you want. New Swift wise, to me at the least looks a little cramped. Have not test driven it yet but I have seen 2 new Swift cars in my estate car park. Mazda 2 wise is ok to me. Ultimately is want you want that decides your new ride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 27, 2005 Share February 27, 2005 Mazda 2 interior is more spacious than Swift, but I'd go for the Swift for the lower selling price and higher OMV. The Champion Motors workshop is also very deserted. You can make a service booking just 3 days in advance... or if you are lucky, just call in the morning, and walk in that very morning. In comparison, Mazda service centres needs a longer lead time. The worst are Tan Chong & Borneo. Need to book AT LEAST 2 weeks in advance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pipiballs Neutral Newbie February 27, 2005 Share February 27, 2005 I'be tried both. Handling wise, Swift has a better edge but i will go for M2. Swift is just too small. Have u tried seating at the back seats? If you had tried, u will know what i mean. It feels like you are seating on a peice of upright cardboard! Detailing wise, M2 is also better. Moreover, its comes complete with foglamps...etc. If you want to buy, i cant intro my SE to you. I got alot of freebies when I bought my M3 from her. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear February 27, 2005 Share February 27, 2005 Did your SE give you cashback from her commission? My Borneo Motors SE gave my friend S$200 cash back when she bought a Vios last year. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...