Gen2 Good or Bad

Slonez

Went to see the Gen 2 with my brother-in-law.

The design really nice & sporty, pity the build quality quite bad [shakehead] . Otherwise it would sell like hotcakes [:p].

Hi all,

To add into this discussion, i am stuck between gen2, vios, aveo and city and matrix. My budget is aroung 50K. Long term maintence is the key factor. can anyone give me their experience on these models so that my life of choosing is easier? thanks :)

aveo - no air bags, relatively good FC

city - personally find it expensive, Good FC, ride quality is good, cornering [thumbsdown] scary! big boot! cos it more for comfort. d: >

vios - good engine, light body, nice outlook after some comestic changes, good FC, cramp passenger seat

matrix - huge space, many storage compartmetns, FC is bad

Gen 2 - bad build quality, noisy engine (to be fair, some find it sweet), good handling, AT's FC not good, MT's FC still acceptable, stable, cheap parts in MY

Thanks for the info here, i did some test driving around today. Its down to Aveo, Vios or Gen 2. Does anyone know of the quality of the engine for Gen 2 and aveo? Also, if i were to look into 3 years later, is there a BIG GAP between the reliability and cost of maintainence between these 3 cars? Thanks

if u wanna talk abt reliabilty i think u won't look further den a toyota. but cost of mantainence the gen2 would surely win hands down. go across the causeway for all ur servicing,parts,body kits anything u want they have it there.

its a;so the 2nd best selling car here.... but duno if it will still be good after 3 to 4 years liao......

yes i used to drive a carburetted proton saga. parts and maintence over there are really dirt cheap. RM128 for a full syn service. imagine i could do a servicing, change absorbers, wheel alignment, oil seal, radiator flush all less den SGD$300

i dun dare comment on the daewoo/chevy here as i havent driven one before.

i wanted to get a gen 2, but there is a very big contradict her: singaporean tell me that gen 2 is very cheap to maintain cos malaysia. malaysian tell me that gen 2 is a failure in malaysia, so the parts are not very common. also they say that if the price of vios and gen2 is the same, its vios!!! everyone all tell me that..

hmmm...decisions decisions....

u gotta make either one...

vios waiting time if i'm not wrong is long den gen2.

why not keep ur options open, go for test drive with an open mind and den squeeze both the SE dry and see which is a better deal. of cuz buy somthing which u like too...

Hi..

Gen 2 in MY are prone to breakdowns. Seen a few in KL in just a few days.

However, i suppoose the QA is better for export models. so far, no reported gen 2 breaking down in sg rds. *touchwood*.

really down to wat u wan. comfort or handling. if u frequent NS highway, then gen 2 is better. its a MY car so it adapts to the kind of rd there. frend driving a vios and says it feels floaty at 160km/h. probably he's the super stock car.

Low end for gen 2sucks but power gets better when the rpm needle climbs nearer to the redline.

Vios need a very long time for it to be delivered... nt sure abt gen 2. d: )

the highest is slightly over 180km/h but dunno the speedo 'zun' or not leh. wat abt u?

went to the yishun dam meet up. some ppl did 200kmh, another 220kmh and says still can go. but theirs not stock la. d: >

i still sceptical abt the accuracy of our speedo