Fitish Neutral Newbie March 10, 2005 Share March 10, 2005 Hi guys, I have been using Blaupunkt Woodstock DAB 52 for 2 months plus.. from Feb i starting to feel that the signals getting alittle bad... i have email smartradio and they have got back to me... now i wanna consolidate a list of locations that has bad DAB signal so that we can sent back to smartradio ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobileone Neutral Newbie March 11, 2005 Share March 11, 2005 Care to share some of the locations experienced by you? I am currently working with DAB in my labs... maybe can bring my portable DAB receiver to the blindspot for a test!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zafira18 1st Gear March 11, 2005 Share March 11, 2005 bro, forget it! mediacorp is unlikely to invest further to improve the coverage.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitish Neutral Newbie March 11, 2005 Author Share March 11, 2005 1. ECP toward airport between marine parade and marine vista 2. CTE towards city left lane goin to PIE toward airport 3. telok kurau 4. the esso petrol kiosk near world trade centre on telok blangah road and morse road 5. PIE towards airport just after exit to serangoon and CTE under the flyover 6. CTE tunnel cairnhill exit so far i can tink of this few.. let me gather more and tell u more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitish Neutral Newbie March 11, 2005 Author Share March 11, 2005 bro the fellow sounds keen leh... nvm i try lor no harm rite? u got DAB?? wanna share some places tat have lousy reception? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mobileone Neutral Newbie March 11, 2005 Share March 11, 2005 Who is that fellow? Is he called Simon?Ya.. i did call them up saying my house DAB signal weak... he really call me once every few days to do a follow up.. but subsequently he never called liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black_beauty Neutral Newbie March 14, 2005 Share March 14, 2005 Hi Fitish, I am using Woodstock 52 also. Disappointed with the reception quality. When switch over fm DAB to FM, the volume is louder than in DAB mode. U experience the same? Anyway to add to the list: 7) Telok Blangah Rd, bet. WTC and Henderson Rd (below new flyover) Also experience same for location 5 & 6 Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitish Neutral Newbie March 15, 2005 Author Share March 15, 2005 hi blackie, but when in radio mode its not as clear as in DAB. louder doesnt mean good leh... when u bought ur DAB52? overall i am quite happy. just damn piss abt some places reception thats all. and i cannot seems to get the MMC card to work. have u try tat? i think the WTC part have many blind spots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Black_beauty Neutral Newbie March 16, 2005 Share March 16, 2005 I bought it abt 1 month ago. I have not try the MMC card as I do not have one. How much is one? say 512 MB I agree that louder doesnt mean clear but it irritates the ear when it switch to FM when DAB signal is lost. I find that the 'user' equaliser setting is difficult cos each freq does not indicate the initial gain level. (unlike the jap brand) Maybe my set is defective? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitish Neutral Newbie March 17, 2005 Author Share March 17, 2005 512mb is now around 80 bucks plus minus. yesh i agree when it switches over to fm it gets louder, but i am still ok with it/ user eq i dun really use.. so i need to try... but the last i remember it just + or - rite?. may be we can meet up and check see if got reception or HU problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear March 17, 2005 Share March 17, 2005 u aren't the only one with bad reception. almost bought the set until i went for a test drive in a car with DAB setup owned up a famous audio shop near zion road sound quality was good when the using DAB signals but now and then, the HU will switch to FM bcos the DAB signal was too weak. v irritating bcos there was noticeable difference between DAB and FM. that was driving around the area near great world city. i've read that the location of the DAB antenna is very important and affects greatly the DAB reception. for those with lousy DAB reception, try changing the location of your antenna esp if u have tinted your car with window films containing metal oxides Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitish Neutral Newbie March 17, 2005 Author Share March 17, 2005 PxxLxxxx rite? i did mine there too... when did u installed urs? my windscreen was cut to install this leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 hmmm, sorry for digging up old threads but was considering DAB set until I read about all the signal strength issues. BTW, what are the Mediacorp channels with digital broadcasts? What's the cheapest DAB set (add on not whole HU) available now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 cheapest should b blaupunkt DAB52 i think but they hv a piggyback REVO which can plug into ur auxillary if u hv one. channels abt 8 of them i think. signal strenght difficult to say, cos i hv switching mode duplexing on DAB52, so sometime it goes digital sometimes analogue FM. after a while, it gets irritating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 yup, the "switching" issue kinda make me reconsider the purchase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mok_ Neutral Newbie August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 The auto DAB<->FM switching is not an issue. It can be disable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 well it is based on signal strenght but is selectable. but if u stick onto DAB mode, it is not an issue. but apart fr the HU, u will need a seperate digital antenna as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Littleblackalfa Neutral Newbie August 2, 2005 Share August 2, 2005 what are the Mediacorp channels with digital broadcasts? Class 95 Perfect 10 Gold 90 Love 972 YES 933 Lush 938LIVE Symphony 924 Clubplay Cruise JKPop Planet Bollywood Bloomberg Chinese Evergreens There is only one add-on DAB set. That would be the REVO. It retails at 649 with installation, and 589 without installation. The Blaupunkt Woodstock DAB52 is a $599, 53 at $799. And yes, the switching can be disabled. The signal strengths. where do I start... IF you have solar films, especially the metallic based ones, you have to cut a hole for the antenna, or the signal will be sapped away. If you're using a rooftop antenna, there is a Blaupunkt DAB/FM rooftop antenna you can use which will improve reception vastly. If you have TV Mobile in your car, TURN IT OFF before you start listening to DAB. MediaCorp doesn't have to invest in the infrastructure to make it better. Why? because there are other broadcasters coming in soon. they will have their own phohibitive infrastructure, and if Mediacorp still doesn't want to do something, they will lose out in the long run. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...