What to polish?

Clio

hi fellow bro,

i wish to make my car look newer.

however it is a 6 yo car.

dont wish to spend so much.

what are the pro and con of traditional waxing and those new stuff from toughseal and glare?

please give me some detailed answer

many thanks.

CLIO,

My suggestion is u send to one of the polisher to recondition your car's body.

Then u can carryon DIY.

U can try OLD MAN POLISHER who was highly recomment by our forum's bro & sis.

MarcosTan

Toyota Rav4 [wave]

toughseal and glare are best done when your car's paintwork is fresh and new, i'm not sure u'll fully benefit since your car's already 6 yrs old. i would suggest you bring it down for a professional polish, wax, sealant routine instead.

as for pros and cons of traditional wax vs glare/toughseal:

I prefer traditional waxing/polishing packages to those once a year treatments like toughseal and glare because it is generally cheaper per treatment and allows for more flexibility in the grooming of my car; i.e. if the car were to get scratched by cats, develop light swirl marks or get stained by long-standing bird droppings, what would you do?

1) live with the marks and wait till next year's glare treatment?... i wouldn't be able to stand it.

2) go polish and glare your car again?... too expensive to do it more than once a year

3) pay for a traditional polish/wax, on top of what you paid for the inital glare treatment, to get rid of the marks?... this incurs additional cost and will remove your glare coating.

my personal take is that if u're really particular abt your car's grooming, go for those 5 or 10 times a year traditional polish/wax/sealant packages. it can achieve the same level of shine and protection as glare/toughseal, is better able to "respond" to damage to your paintwork, and more often than not, comes with interior cleaning/leather treatment as well so both your interior and exterior is professionally maintained... all this at the cost of one single package.

my car groomer also gets rid of those stubborn brake dust on my rims too, which is a big plus for me since i find it a real pain to scrub 20 spokes per rim everytime i wash the car.

i think with glare/toughseal, you need to follow their post-treatment instructions closely or u'll likely lose some of the benefits of their treatment, like must use their proprietary shampoo etc... only drawback of traditional wax treatment is that u'll need to set aside time once every month or once every 2 months to do it, whereas with glare/toughseal, it's a once a year affair.

so i guess its not a matter of which treatment is better/worse than the other, but rather, which is better suited to your needs/lifestyle.

hope this helps.

disclaimer: i may be a little biased since i'm with a car polishing company [;)] , but nonetheless, all that i've said above is honest and true.

Glare can also go for weekly threatments. I apply additional Glare coating on my black car every alternate weeks @ $25...Toughseal i think @ $60

Any birdshit stains or scratches can also b removed using Glare pdts whenever u need it..no need to reglare your car... James at Glare AMK autopoint never fails to remove them for me.

so u pay for the initial treatment, then alternate week do additional glare coating at $25 and everytime kenna bird dropping/scratch go back for removal? yikes... may i ask how much do u spend in total on car grooming for one year? [sweatdrop]

also, i'm curious, do they polish out the scratches or do they use fillers instead? because as far as i know, polishing will definitely remove the glare protective layer, meaning that even if they re-apply the glare over the troubled spot, it'll be an uneven layer compared to the rest of the car; or am i mistaken?

cheers

mine is a black car..so any birdshit or watermarks will b very obvious...my experience is that the stains can b easily wiped off after a few glare coating..so no need to go back for touch ups everytime it kanna lor... i go back to touch ups scratches more often..always very sway kanna cats scratches on my bonnet. [:(]

love the additional glare coating on my black paint cos it looks more shiny & very wetlook. i didnt really calculate how much i spend on car grooming in a yr..but at least i know i'm nt the only one.. [;)]

yup they polish out the scratches & stains...but after which they oso apply a few glare pdts on the troubled area as well as the surrounding areas... eg. if scratch is on my bonnet, they'll re-glare on my whole bonnet...so i dun see any uneven layers or difference in shine on the newly treated area and the surrounding areas. [sunny]

Wow.. looks like you got some good service over there.. [thumbsup] may I know for $25, do they reapply Glare coating to your whole car surface or just a specific area as you requested?

Anyway to the thread starter, unless your paint is relatively new, don't really see a need to do the more expensive grooming systems. However if you got the $$$, Glare/Toughseal I believe provide minimal fuss. For my Glared ride, washing car = spray water and drying it that's all.. hope my info helped [:)]

His black car, so he pampers it for that ultimate shine. Mine's Silver, after initial glare, never go back for 'spa'. will go back every 6 months as per contract.

For tough bird/sap stain or light scratches, I have the free Glare DIY kit. Apply a small amount of glare polish, all removed easily.

So no need to spend so much money.

Clearing some of your misconception of Glare,

There is no post-treatment instructions, no need to use proprietary shampoo etc.

Infact, they ask you to use no shampoo or very diluted. I use a very diluted solution of Armorall Blue. The other instruction is not to wax your car or use wash and wax solution.

Glare is not once a year but every 6 months. package is for 3 reglare every 6 months

Edited by Osiris

bro,

in yr case, i suggest to go for a new coat of paint la. save you alot of time doing this and that. sometimes, professional groomers cant give you a satisfactory feeling.

and you will be paying the same amt of money for new coat of paint.

With new coat, then it will be alot easier for you to start to polish yourself.

i'm not sure of the present condition of yr paint. but if it's quite bad and oxidies, then do a new coat of paint.

hi fellow bro,

i wish to make my car look newer.

however it is a 6 yo car.

dont wish to spend so much.

what are the pro and con of traditional waxing and those new stuff from toughseal and glare?

please give me some detailed answer

many thanks.