Cheepo 3rd Gear March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 I was taught to engine-brake by engaging a lower gear while slowing down. But that was in the days of manual transmission cars. Should I be engine-braking in an automatic car? Sometimes when I feel I cannot stop in time, I shift my auto gear from [D] to [2] while depressing my brake. Will I damage something in the car? Thanks for answering my stupid questions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dtvox Neutral Newbie March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 New Auto Transmission is smart enough to engine brake for you. Once the car slow down to a certain pace, the gears to sync with the speed. As far as I know, there isn't a need to drop from D to a lower gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 don screw up ur auto gear box.. just tap on ur brakes can liao.. even on manual car, i don engine brake, just neutral and tap on brake... heeh.. can stand the sound of engine brakin.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacarith Neutral Newbie March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 engine brake not as power in auto compared to manual...i think... so the best way is to anticipate early and release ur accelerator earlier or tap on ur brakes...dun anyhow shift ur gears for auto...u dun wanna spoil the gear box... costs thousands to get a new one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheepo 3rd Gear March 28, 2005 Author Share March 28, 2005 Ah so ! Thanks for all the advice. Same for emergency stops? Just stomp on the brake pedal as hard as I can ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 dude to engine break jus dun step anything or tap on ur breaks technology is advance! Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacarith Neutral Newbie March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 yep...of course...u mean u actually have time to down gear when u do e break?! fwah u must be really quick... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz 2nd Gear March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 I was taught to engine-brake by engaging a lower gear while slowing down. But that was in the days of manual transmission cars. Should I be engine-braking in an automatic car? Sometimes when I feel I cannot stop in time, I shift my auto gear from [D] to [2] while depressing my brake. Will I damage something in the car? Thanks for answering my stupid questions. Well, can see most are not into proper braking method, but nevermind. Yes, you can do engine braking on manual transmission, by dropping gear. But you can never be able to achieve engine braking using auto, even if you jam on your brake, the gear will be stop at 3rd gear, dun worry if your car is equip with ABS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 IMHO. engine is to make the car go. brakes are there to stop the car. so called engine braking is not for stopping the car. use the brakes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupe07 Neutral Newbie March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 the basic theory of driving a manual car is to engine brake while braking. This is for safety purposes..... no doubt can put neutral and brake, but its not as effective as engien brake. as for auto, once u brake theres engine brake, however being auto transmission, u cun feel the engine braking......... do not shift the d2 then brake, in time to come, ur wear and tear will be faster than those who did not do that.... its oso detrimental to the engine.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear March 28, 2005 Share March 28, 2005 engine brake is used only for manual cars la. auto car no need engine brake. just press brake pedal. and please do not change gears in yr auto gear too often. the best is, for everyday driving, is just use "D" for drive, "P" for parking, "R" for reversing. That it!!! The rest of the gears and even "N" are not meant to be used for normal driving! unless you want to climb Genting Hill or Mt Faber, then you can use the whatever lower gear you see on yr gear box. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...