How is the reliability of Zafira. Someone help.....

Bayi123

Hi Zafi owners, i am thinking of buying a second hand Zafi. But heard that there is some minor problem here and there and parts are really expensive. Can some owners help?

What I heard is engine fail to start at time becoz of ECU software. Need to take out battery let it reset then the car can move could be immobiliser.

other things is overheating problem and plastic on the dashboard seems to deform. Could this be older model problem. Even though there are this feedbck, but i am still keen on this car as I like it as a mid size MPV.

my Zaf about 2.5 years and 70K km. No major problems like engine don't start, in fact no major problems and very few minor problems at all. No overheating problems - even stuck in JB/causeway jam for about 1 hr. So far, parts (like sparkplugs, filter, etc) replacement is together with servicing. For service interval of 15K, cost is reasonable. If you service outside of AE, since you looking at 2nd hand, it should be even cheaper. No plastic deforming.

If you looking at mid-sized MPV, I believe you can't find a better alternative... but of course I am bias! [laugh]

Why don't you join Opel members at "http://groups.msn.com/SingaporeOpelOwner/" if you want to find out more.

thanks for the feedback. I will check out the forum as advised. By the way, normally where do you service your Zafira?

Got a friend driving it. Never hear him complain for the past 2+ yrs. go for it ^^ Normally we only hear about problems from owners, sometime it really sound scary. but when the car dun give problem, of course the owner also won't go telling the world the car is very good. I believe a car is still a 50% luck and 50% reputation of brand for its probability that glitches occur. The owner tolerance to defect of the person you hear story from is also a factor. some people are very niow, small thing like closing door doesn't sound right is also a problem to them, they will deem the car lousy. some people like me, the car drive until air con spoil, window cannot wind down, one dorr have problem opening, damper gone, compartment lock spoil, engine occasionally over heating, can still drive 1/2 a yr without changing a thing, until car cannot start at carpark need to tow, I still never really grumble to the world. U won't hear much from people like me. (my ex ride a 306 XR). Important is, You must like the car [inlove] . Just like deciding to marry this girl. The oath to love her till day do us apart.

hi mate, if u intend to buy a second hand car be it japanese or conti, always set aside 2k for wear and tears renewal. i got my opel vectra last nov and till now spend about 1.5k on part renewal like engine mounting, tensioner and fan belt, water pump and time belt (which i suppose is common for opel) otherwise opel generally is okay. new car seldom have wear and tear but come to renewal of whole car - your pocket tear....(so canot have best of both world [:)] . for a 3 yrs old opel zafira think market is calling for about 7-10k above scrap i got my vectra (3.25 years) 4k above scrap.

Can share parts with Chevy. Eh? Interested or not, you can save money by buying GMDAT oil filter for your Opel. A bunch of us gathered together to compare the GMDAT filter with the Opel one. In conclusion, the GMDAT looks better built and has plastic wrap protecting the filter. $4.50 compared to $6.00 for an original Opel. Opel's oil filters are by Crosland which is owned by Fram. GMDAT ones are exact ACDelco PF47 replicas.

for second hand depends on the year and condition. Will pay better than dealer offer price for sure. you selling?

no lah, i oso shop-shop around..

actually most value for money mpv now in resale mkt wld be nissan prairie. 2.5y/o shd be around $62k. for same budget, zafi can get?

2.5 yrs zafi should be around that price also.......but nowadays hard to get second hand maybe most already scrap. My boss driving prairie got quite a number of problems. So changing to Oddessey.

whoa you so lucky to get your car 4K above scrap. where you got it from? Dealer or owner? so where do you service now?

if you don't intend to go to the authorised dealer to service your opel, you can try AUTOFIX, 5th floor Sin Ming Auto centre, ask for Chris.