Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 need advise, i have change my rim from 195*60*15 to 205*40*17, any perfomance implication other than fc? frankly speaking i did not feel any different except more tyre noise with a wider wheel does it mean my suspension is taking more stress now! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 ur steering feedback should be better and heavier... grip level should have improved abit.. no?.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Author Share April 2, 2005 read the following quote from some web site! upgrade the width from 195 to 205 is it accpetable? Another myth is that fitting fatter tyres gives a better road contact. Car manufacturers do keep in mind that with replacement tyres owners may go in for an 'upsize' and therefore most manufacturers advise upgrading of a size or two (upto 20mm). Fitting wider than what is recommended not only leads to instability and poor performance but may also prove to be dangerous. It has often been seen that too wide a tyre not only leads to aquaplaning but also cannot produce the required traction needed for the car. This is because the wider tyre results in a different camber and in effect reduces the actual contact patch or footprint of the tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie April 2, 2005 Author Share April 2, 2005 yes, steering feedback improve but raining this afternoon and i feel the car over steer in some sharp bend escpecially when the road is uneven. i am using ES100 which surpose to hold the road well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 ur tires are new and could still be in the running in period... watch for aquaplaning in heavy rain... you could have experienced abit of tramlining due to the thread design... after awhile u should get used to it lah... hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 2, 2005 Share April 2, 2005 What made is your car? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 chevrolet vivant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluesbro Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 Howdy, If your wheels are not light weight rims, then you would be putting your engine under additional stress ... for cars like our local chevys , don't think anyone should be spending unecessary money to upgrade the rims to 17 inch, firstly underpowerd and secondly it doesn't help in adding exterior appeal and improve the look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2005 Author Share April 3, 2005 (edited) i won't upgarde if it doesn't look good with my car , and so far so good with the pick up speed(the rim about 7kg.... dun know whether does it consider light weight??). my only concern is whether a wider tyre is putting more stress to the suspension Edited April 3, 2005 by Ferringi2000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EventH 1st Gear April 3, 2005 Share April 3, 2005 http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/avon_tech_m500.jsp From the ES100 section Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roystance Neutral Newbie April 6, 2005 Share April 6, 2005 hiya guy.. there's a type shop more cheaper than e wan at amk ave 10 pxx xxxg..... my altis trade in for 17rim wit c Drive tyre onli pay 800buck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickyokc Neutral Newbie April 6, 2005 Share April 6, 2005 for wet road try Hankook K105 i hv try speed 110-140kph along pie fm tuas to bt batok n find very good grip the dry grip also very good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear April 6, 2005 Share April 6, 2005 Hi there, I'm also a fan of Hankook, value for money and don't compromise stability when cornering. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie April 8, 2005 Share April 8, 2005 need advise, i have change my rim from 195*60*15 to 205*40*17, any perfomance implication other than fc? frankly speaking i did not feel any different except more tyre noise with a wider wheel does it mean my suspension is taking more stress now! Nope I dont think 195 to 205 matters much, I upgraded from 195*65*15 to 225*40*18. Tyre noise will be there as I've lowered. It just felt so much better with the new looks..... As long as we still drive at sane speed, the handling should be better. Use performance tyres for anything wider than 205 against wet roads and aqua planning. Material & thread pattern plays a important part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arkaneslayer Neutral Newbie April 8, 2005 Share April 8, 2005 need advise, i have change my rim from 195*60*15 to 205*40*17, any perfomance implication other than fc? frankly speaking i did not feel any different except more tyre noise with a wider wheel does it mean my suspension is taking more stress now! go for it bro ... good stuff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robertoon Neutral Newbie April 9, 2005 Share April 9, 2005 Hi, nice to hear from you. Hows yr Hankook K104 doing. The new tyre (H424 and Z212) is coming.....Hope you will try it when its time to change your curent set Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 9, 2005 Share April 9, 2005 more likely implication is turning corner n also passenger load when gg over road humps. the suspension will sink down to test the tyre n weathershield. so if u heave "klong" sound means tio suspension. n if heard scrapping noise means tyres buah liaoz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jhoo Neutral Newbie April 9, 2005 Share April 9, 2005 Not disapointing at all , only 2 comments : the side walls are pretty soft for my liking and they doesn't seems to prevent the rims from being scratched from the side. Anyway I dont know which tyre's side walls are harder and better in preventing the rims from being scratched. May be I dont hav the skills of fitting 18"s yet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...