Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 good excuse ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kaiserdome 1st Gear April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 rain is every detailer's nightmare Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcostan 4th Gear April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 wanted to wash my car today.super dirty already...dirt everywhere.cant even stand it myself but look at de sky...getting dark...but till now no rain! wasted my chance to get my car clean. Most of the car owners hv same mistake that what you think. Why wash it's going to rain anyway. The truth is if you guys don't wash & clean your ride, those dust and watermarks are going to stick in the car body and make the future cleaning more difficult to remove those imperfections. Just makeup your mind and do a regular wash & clean and better add in wax if possible. Then you shall find how easy to clean your car every time after a rainy day. MarcosTan Toyota Rav4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 tried yesterday with bare hands only on 1 month car (dirt level : can see dust on doors and slide finger on bonnet can see black stuffs on finger) .... here's what i did: 1. hose with water to loosen/remove major dirt sir. 2. then working panel by panel, with lots of water. the fingers can FEEL the dirt coming off. not very comfortable, and frankly, quite scared the dirt will scratch. But, i rinse fingers with the water frequently. 3. after one round, look left, right, center, up, down, PHEW ! no scratches. Thank goodness. But can see areas where my hands missed. here goes my hands again.... 4. when washing, can literally FEEL the paint surface, any stuffs that stick can be felt immediately. (removed with clay bar, areas like the lower door panels ...) 5. oil/tar stains will get smudged. (tar remover comes in ...) 6. after drying, waxing time. total hours : 4.5 !! quite satisfied lah.... now rub fingers along panels can feel very smooth. shiok.... now park car far far away .... i'm just trying to see if i can avoid scratched and swirl marks .... will try somemore for next few weekends and see how lah .... (maybe can save on the sponge .. hah hah ...lame....) Cheers! use hands to wash car?! your car must be new!!! i think i will start a book... a betting book! let's bet how long you can last but yes, always satisfying to see your own car clean and shining and feeling silky smooth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie April 24, 2005 Share April 24, 2005 works? hmm... like dat cloth company all close shop already.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 Tried this once before and I found it rather tiring since my hands are small so it takes a longer time to spread the shampoo and remove dirt over a certain area compared to using a cloth. Also all the dirt remains trapped on the paintwork although emulsified in the soap bubbles as compared to a cloth that helps lift and remove some dirt from the paintwork. Now back to using a microfiber washing mitt and feels more comfortable and is more efficient Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear April 25, 2005 Share April 25, 2005 nope, u will still get scratches. it depends on what is dusting ur car. somewhere in jurong area, it is grit (metallic particles) n u need to gently duster ur car 1st. follow by hosing it down to float the grits off the paintwork. i only do what u suggested when i claybar the car. the empty hand to go over the car surface n feel for dirt, or check if the claybar had lift the dirt. otherwise, sponge is still the best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched April 28, 2005 Share April 28, 2005 rain is every detailer's nightmare Tel me about it man. Esp rain and dust all under the hot sun together....major water marks man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 Just came back fr Malacca.... flying insects is the worst nitemare. I think I got more scores on my windscreen than Genie's c0ckc0aach's kill. everything is in a mess. big time to clean up!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched May 3, 2005 Share May 3, 2005 I know what you mean. And they take ages to remove ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 4, 2005 Share May 4, 2005 Is it better to use cloth or sponge to wash car to prevent scratches and swirl marks? What do you guys think? By the way, what's MF? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carmodz Neutral Newbie May 4, 2005 Share May 4, 2005 Hey F1Fan, yeah i understand ur dilema. Anyway jus to share with u, i will spray down all the dirt and dust first. I do not use the sponge directly on the surface hehe, cos i thought the sponge was tooo rough for a 1 month old car. I Use a cotton cloth wrapped around a piece of sponge to wash the car. Make sure u have a good chamois to absorb and dry the car. It wont leave swirl marks. Uh another thing to note, if the cloth has got dirt, brake dust etc, try to remove it from the cloth first. Hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Potheader Clutched May 4, 2005 Share May 4, 2005 Hehe.. I use bare hands too.. Seems to be ok till now.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedblade Neutral Newbie May 6, 2005 Author Share May 6, 2005 really? bare hands too? how long liao? :) need SKII for hands or not? today heavy rain the dust all wash off liao, heh heh, car quite shiny again. but reach home ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sujoy Neutral Newbie June 5, 2005 Share June 5, 2005 With 100% cotton cloth? Or those furry type? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear June 5, 2005 Share June 5, 2005 MF = microfibre cloth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed520 Neutral Newbie June 14, 2005 Share June 14, 2005 i also use bare hands... 1) hose down the entire car 2) use hands and running water from hose at the same time to remove dirt from car 3) apply shampoo with sponge 4) hose down 5) dry car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie June 14, 2005 Share June 14, 2005 Hey bro, same, but i got no hose to play with. Instead, i use a portable 4L garden spray. 1) Wet the car 2) Use hands and garden spray as i remove sand and stuff from the car. Dunno why run for a week so much sand on the vehicle. 3) Apply shampoo with cloth 4) garden spray to remove shampoo 5) Dry car 6) Zaino time Takes about 2.5 hours, and quite tiring @ times. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...