Comments on my ICE setup (no pics yet)

Sarong1

Hi all, need some expertise advice from you folks on below configuration, thanks.

Ride: Toyota Wish

Front speakers: Focal K2 power 165 KF

Rear speakers: JBL GTO605 series component

Subwoofer: 12 inches Rockford fosgate P1

Amp driving front speakers: Genesis Profile Two 2-ch rated at 80w each ch

Amp driving rear speaker: JNL CS50.4 bridged 2-ch rated at 100W each ch

Amp driving woofer: Lanzar Heritage 800W

Pls feel free to comment, I would like to hear from you all.

Thanks a million

Subwoofer: 12 inches Rockford fosgate P1

RF P1 12S4 iszzt....if it's...then ur 800W Lanzar overkilled liao...

the peak power of tis 12" is onli 300 RMS nia

focal 165 k2...excellent component spkr...how much u pay for it... [:)]

Edited by York

Yes it is indeed, hmm...IMO, it didn't seem to have overkill as the amp driving it was hot(but can't fry egg yet lah). some have told me that it was underpower to drive the 12" to its fullest.

Have to settle for the 165 becoz of "finance minister" is nagging. If you ask what I would bought, it would have been the Focal Utopia N7 coupled with the crossblock.

I paid about $700+ for it.

Sure, but it would have to be next week onwards, let me have your email to contact you further. btw, you stay in which part of sg?

normally a 12" woofer of 400 to 500W is driven by 500/600W bridged amp..

the warm heatsink of the amp is due to the bridging of single ch...

800W to 300W woofer 's definitely an overkilled unless ur amp power iszz't true RMS...I'm not familar wif Lanzar, just guessing onli.... [;)]

Edited by York

You could be right, there are some amp out there that display untrue RMS to attract buyers. Well, take it as a lesson learnt, anyhow, Lanzar is known to be made in China nowadays. To get a true amp made in country of origin is gonna be expensive. Therefore, live within our own means and enjoy what we can best afford and be contented about it.

havin a powerful amp is good wat... don tink got such thing as overkill lor.. at most u get nice tight bass with a lot of control..heheheh

yah...if u prefer to tune the gain control dwn ...why not...but most amp best performance's @ 3 to 5deg frm the max...

more over if u ve a 800W amp, it's better to run a 600W woofer...the amp is better utililised.

More amp power is always good.

Otherwise u will get clipping, and thats nothing to do with nails.laugh.gif

My Max Rec Amplifier Power for my sub was (Watts Peak/RMS) 1200/600

and I drove it with 1200 RMS, 1375 RMS (benchtested).... and i find the power lacking.crazy.gif

Too much is only just right

So, there are differing opinions on the power of the amp to drive the woofers, that is interesting. Now, what about the front speaker (Focal K2 Power 165KF)?

The amount of power you need is dependent on a few factors.

Your woofer specs.

Enclosure design.Well made sealed, isobaric design does need a little more power to move the woofer.

Amp quality. Cheap inferior amps often lacking in SQ & properly designed power supply. Without well designed power supply, the amps cannot handle the dynamics & peaks of demanding tracks even though the amp has high power rating. Amps lacking in quality also does not sound as defined & control.

[:)]

Edited by Slonez

Friends, have changed my front amp that drives the Focal speakers. I have chosen steg 2ch- rated at 120W instead of the Genesis becos the clarity. Will need 2 weeks to run in the focal and to soften the woofer. Would like to link up with you folks in due time.

you will probably only fully realize the potential of your focals after 100+ hours. the sound just keeps on getting better over more hours of listening [:)]