PDK Neutral Newbie August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 Jags are relatively cheaper to maintain and upkeep compared to Mercedes Benz, BMW and Audi. From my own experience in owning these cars, I also find that Jags are the least problematic. I sold my 730iL to buy an XJ8 LWB and never regreted my decision. As it was my 3rd Jag, I knew what potential issues which might arise and took the necessary steps to prevent them. All said, its about knowing how to maintain your car. Its out of warranty and I've decided not to go back to MM as their prices are a bit high. I now service and maintain the car with a long-time MM technician who is running his own workshop. Very knowledgeable, honest and needless to say, much cheaper than going back to MM. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwchoy Neutral Newbie August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 PDK, got good lobang must share leh :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrian-maz2 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Jags are relatively cheaper to maintain and upkeep compared to Mercedes Benz, BMW and Audi. From my own experience in owning these cars, I also find that Jags are the least problematic. I sold my 730iL to buy an XJ8 LWB and never regreted my decision. As it was my 3rd Jag, I knew what potential issues which might arise and took the necessary steps to prevent them. All said, its about knowing how to maintain your car. Its out of warranty and I've decided not to go back to MM as their prices are a bit high. I now service and maintain the car with a long-time MM technician who is running his own workshop. Very knowledgeable, honest and needless to say, much cheaper than going back to MM. hi PDK, i'm looking for an ex-MM or current MM mechanic who runs his own workshop too. Wld appreciate it if you cld share his contacts. Such mechanics are hard to come by, I used to know a bunch of them (from a Jap brand service centre) who will work on weekends - good value for money and they know their stuff, especially when back then, my ride was this make too, but they all since stopped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PDK Neutral Newbie August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 PM me and I will provide you details. Not ethical to advertise services in forums. I take it that you drive a Jag? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Umscari Neutral Newbie September 11, 2010 Share September 11, 2010 Hey FJ, Seems like taking me a while to respond about forming a groupie for Jag owners...:) Have this been done? Just inclde me if any meet up coming up....will be nice to see anyone here getting together. Thks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrian-maz2 Neutral Newbie September 15, 2010 Share September 15, 2010 Hi PDK, sent you a PM about the Jag workshop, do take a look. Many Thanks! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrian-maz2 Neutral Newbie September 17, 2010 Share September 17, 2010 Hi Jag Owners, I've just found a ex-Malayan Motors mechanic who now runs his own workshop in Ubi. Just did the servicing for my X-Type with them - they do know their way around the car. Provided useful historical problems on Jag Models and how to address them. Just PM me if you want their contacts. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lohkiki Neutral Newbie September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 To all jaguar owner out there. I used to work in MM & have 10 years of experience. I have recently started a workshop with my partner who has 17 years of experience with MM too. All diagonise & servicing air con are welcome. Feel free to contact me n my partner at the following: Louis Loh 98511300 Alvin Ong 90687204 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear September 18, 2010 Share September 18, 2010 Hi all..... I've always wanted to own a Jaguar. 6 years ago I almost bought an X-type brand new; 155k i rem. But gf (now wife) kept complaining i am too young for a jaguar so..... until recently (and 3 cars later) I think we are old enough to own one :) if anybody is selling their 2litre X-type, can let us know? :) expanding family lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrian-maz2 Neutral Newbie October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 To all jaguar owner out there. I used to work in MM & have 10 years of experience. I have recently started a workshop with my partner who has 17 years of experience with MM too. All diagonise & servicing air con are welcome. Feel free to contact me n my partner at the following: Louis Loh 98511300 Alvin Ong 90687204 I can vouch for these guys. 100% genuine ex-MM mechanics and the same chaps I've been going to for my Jag X-type servicing. Fair pricing (definitely much cheaper than MM) and backed by Jaguar expertise. They really do know their way around Jags - case in point, the squeaks in my steering wheel was resolved with a special additive they got from MM, windscreen spray jets not working despite me clearing the jets was resolved in 1 min by a simple water hose that was clamped down by the bonnet - common problem with X-types apparently. Based on the history of problems they have encountered from their MM days, they will offer preventive advice on what to change ahead of time. Honest and easy to talk to chaps. Evident that I'm not the only one - you will also spot numerous XJ6s and X-Types I consistently see at their workshop. They are pretty knowledgeable about bimmers too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrian-maz2 Neutral Newbie October 6, 2010 Share October 6, 2010 Hi Yattokame, you might want to check out the sgcarmart listings : http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...ar+X-Type+2.0SE a couple also on ST701, etc. but do compare prices, some have out priced themselves. you should be able to get a Jag X-type in the $7K - 8K depreciation range, ensure you get one with the lowest mileage possible and have it verified at the Malayan Motors servicing records. I love the X-type, petrol consumption is high, but that is the only complain I have. the rest is 1 up against jap equivalents - ride, stability, power, solidly built car. however, if you want to seat more than 3 in the back, it is not built for that. best of luck in your search. plus no issues with workshop, as per my earlier post on this same forum thread :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PDK Neutral Newbie October 8, 2010 Share October 8, 2010 Hi all..... I've always wanted to own a Jaguar. 6 years ago I almost bought an X-type brand new; 155k i rem. But gf (now wife) kept complaining i am too young for a jaguar so..... until recently (and 3 cars later) I think we are old enough to own one :) if anybody is selling their 2litre X-type, can let us know? :) expanding family lah... No offense to X-Type owners, but truth is that Jag model was based on the Ford Mondeo platform and shared many parts with it. With the prices of the S-type & XJ falling down so quickly (yes, Jags do depreciate quite a bit), perhaps you should consider looking at one of these Jags instead of the X-Type. Friend of mine bought a 4.5 year old S-Type two months back and the depreciation is like just $8k a year if he was to drive it till 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear October 10, 2010 Share October 10, 2010 HI all, thanx for all your replies... tried out some of the x-types and S-types.... decided on an MPV instead; as we're expecting twins :) really need as much space as we can get now need to decide between two single strollers or one twin stroller :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JagX Neutral Newbie November 1, 2010 Share November 1, 2010 Yes, the jag X when under Ford ownership, shared the chasis with the Ford Mondeo and perharps 20% of some other parts. If you ask me, they bring a sense of realibility to the Jag X. It is without a doubt that the Jag X is in a league of its own. 80% of the car was engineered by Jag, and it's telling. Just ask any Jag X driver, they will tell you. To date, it's the best car i've even owned. a class of its own. Don't take my word for it. listen to the many voices of jag x owners from around the world. : http://www.edmunds.com/jaguar/xtype/2003/consumerreview.html :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Purplexus 2nd Gear December 8, 2010 Share December 8, 2010 Thanks for this information. I have a XJ6 Executive LWB and is due to service at 40K - called MM and they were not really very helpful or interested in those with the "older" models. They were more interested in trying to get me to change to the new XJ which unfortunately, though a very good car, does not have the traditional Jaguar look of the XJ we all recognize. Contacted Louis and hope to get the car to them later in the month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razorex Neutral Newbie July 13, 2011 Share July 13, 2011 Nice to see many bros so into the Jag. I'm new to this forum, actually searching for official Jaguar forum in Singapore if any? I've just bought a pre-owned '09 XF which I believe it's running off the same 3.0 V6 petrol, drive is great and love the noise from the V6. As warranty will be running out soon, any advise on workshop besides MM? Notice the discussion on X type only and XF are completely different animal with complicated electronics.....good to have but tough to maintain Am also search for the cool red Jaguar emblem which MM had on their option rims....swee!!! Any idea where to buy accessories for XF? Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 24, 2015 Share April 24, 2015 To all jaguar owner out there. I used to work in MM & have 10 years of experience. I have recently started a workshop with my partner who has 17 years of experience with MM too. All diagonise & servicing air con are welcome. Feel free to contact me n my partner at the following: Louis Loh 98511300 Alvin Ong 90687204 i m contemplating on getting a classic Jag XJS but am concern about which workshop in SG can do the rebuilding/repairs/overhaul for such classics. anybody can advise? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
codeeela Neutral Newbie November 20, 2015 Share November 20, 2015 Just serviced my XF at Wearnes and it took them 3 days to complete a servicing job! Anyone else has similar experience? The service advisor mentioned that a few technicians left recently to start their own workshop that specialises in Jaguar and Land Rover. He added that they are the better technicians who are trained in the latest XF and XJ. Wearnes is definitely short handed. Anyone has any idea where this new workshop is? Tried asking the service advisor but he refused to say more. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...