Your Corolla's MAX SPEED!!

Ferrari7

Floored my stock G9 Corolla 1.5 XLi(A)

2nd gear (6000rpm)=115+kmh [nod]

3rd gear(6000rpm)=180kmh! [smash][wave]

4th gear(4400rpm)=180kmh [shakehead] sigh. . .

In 4th, revs are stuck at a healthy 4400rpm, yet car will not go >180kmh! no matter how hard i tried. . .[bigcry]

Dear pple. . .Toyota electronically limited it to 180kmh?? [rifle] OR the car really cant do more? Feel free to share your flooring experiences. . . Many thanks!

Floored my stock G9 Corolla 1.5 XLi(A)

2nd gear (6000rpm)=115+kmh

3rd gear(6000rpm)=180kmh!

4th gear(4400rpm)=180kmh sigh. . .

In 4th, revs are stuck at a healthy 4400rpm, yet car will not go >180kmh! no matter how hard i tried. . .

Dear pple. . .Toyota electronically limited it to 180kmh?? OR the car really cant do more? Feel free to share your flooring experiences. . . Many thanks!

Remove the speed limiter lor , change the ECU also [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I did clocked my dad's G9 @ 210km/hr.. It was recorded into my R-vit. Have deleted the record liao. For breaking of gear & speed, forget liao. Cos' it's taken so long ago.

At least you got no beep beep warning sound ... my Mazda 323 got this irritating beep beep sound as soon as I hit the speed limiter at 180 kph rifle.gif

Wat rpm ?? dizzy.gif

But our gearing very different from Toyota ley .... we hit 100 kph at 3000 rpm in 5th gear shakehead.gif How to fight ?? sweatdrop.gif

maximum speed of gear 3...i never really tested to the max....i tried pulling to rpm 6000 with gear 3 only 120km/h

Edited by Dennisk

Hi Supra, ur dad's G9 did 210kmh? [thumbsup] Is ur dad's car a manual? 1.6? Has engine been tweaked?

Yes pple, the figures are absolutely correct. 180kmh at 6000rpm in 3rd. And my car is 100% stock. Dun even use sport rims. . . I am using the heavy OEM cast iron rims with the grey plastic hub cap(Toyota logo in the centre). [drivingcar]

Hi Hitman, so u are saying ur 323 also wunt go >180kmh cuz of limiter?

My dad's Corolla is AT, 1.5 litre. No mod is done on the engine. The 210 km/hr was based on the car rev meter and recorded onto the R-Vit. So, the display on the R-Vit might be lower.

Se-di-ah the acc pedal already, but car just maintained a steady 180kmh at 4400rpm in 4th. Held on for 10seconds b4 backing off. There's no fluctuation of revs nor speed. Supra, whats R-vit by the way? I think 210kmh is quite impressive for an UN-modified 1.5litre automatic Corolla!! [:)]

Yep ... it wont go beyond 180 kph.

I also dont wanna take it further cause the speed limiter beeps away shakehead.gif

yes, v impressive, for the price, for the fuel consumption for the car, around 15km/litre, with the ultimate power for the car, 210 is really impressive.

my sunny consumption is double of that, plus it onli reachs 175, 1.6 auto with mods somemore...

I think its quite interesting to have a speed limiter beep away only at 180kmh. . .

Is it a signal that the car is ready for rotation? (i.e nose lifts up and car takes off) [laugh] Is there such a thing as a Mazda 737? Or Boeing 323? [nod] Just for laffs hitman. . .hahah. . .

Heng it dun go ting-tonk like those Nissan Cedric taxi. . .ting-tong madness starts around 100kmh. Makes ya wanna . . . [knife][bigcry][rifle]

Anyway, just to share some specs. . . Corolla manual states that for the MANUAL version of my car, 4th gear is good for a max of 202kmh. [smash]

Its 4th gear . . so one more gear to go. . . WOW! [sweatdrop]

Can G9 owners pls share ur comments? Thanks!

The G9 Corolla has one of the worst body roll for a saloon.

You dare try 180km/h?

I suppose yor tyres are not the stock 175/70R14.

Yep ... the 323 is not made for top speed , rather more for city driving. Thus low end torque is good but high end suffers. unsure.gif

I think Toyotas has got higher gearing ratios thus can achieve higher top end speed (having driven a Celica before) rolleyes.gif

I mean .... we 323s are hitting 3000 rpm at 100 kph. I think the Corolla is hitting only 2200 rpm at 100 kph unimpressed.gif