Which freq does what?

Sarong1

Bros and sis, read this...good for your brain and ears...

-----------------------------

50hz (usually sub bass)

this freq is where all the boom is, if you want more boom on foot drums and bass guitar, boost, to reduce, cut.

100hz( usually mid bass)

this is the hard bass sound, it gives drums that solid feel, boosting here will harden the drums/bass guitar, as well as adding warmth to guitars. A cut will reduce boom on guitar and add clarity.

200hz (either midbass/mid)

Boost to add warmth to vocals and guitar, reduce to clean up vocals

400hz (usually mid / large Horn)

Boost to bass in general, reduce to decrease cardboard sound low drums.

800hz(usually mid/horns)

Boost to add clarity and Punch to bass, this is the one that digs you in the ribs , cut to reduce tinnyness to guitars

1.5khz (mid/tweet/horns)

Boost to add clarity to bass guitar, reduce to impreve dullness of guitar

3khz (mid/tweet/horns)

Boost to increase pluck on bass guitar, attack on guitar and high drums, increases clarity of vocals.

Cut to reduce breathy sound on vocals.

5khz(mid/tweet/horns)

boost for vocal presence, low drum attack, piano attack, and guitars, reduce to distance background.

7khz(usually tweet/horn)

boost, more attack on low drums, percussion and bring life to dull vocals, also sharpen elctric guitar

Cut to reduce siblance

10khz (tweet/horn)

increase to brighten vocals/guitar and piano

cut to reduce siblance

15khz (tweet/horn)

increase to brighten vocals/guitar and piano highs

Bro, might as well get Mr Modulator to keep it "sticky"...kinda informative man...and I will continue to post more sticky stuff in time to come...

Pls lah, dun always link me up with what you thought is sticky, its getting a bit RA and this is a proper forum neh...you know I know can already what...hor??? [laugh]

.. but this chart only shows the fundamental frequencies.. they go up to 4khz or so? Don't forget the harmonics and other overtones that give each musical instrument their individual unique character [sly]

Edited by Yttrium

[nod] Agree with you definitely...this is most appreciated by anyone that plays instruments as well...the harmonics are indeed unique in their own rights...to distinguish them within any ICE is gonna be a "climax"...The charts are basic(s) to get things going. This will not frighten off newcomers to our forum...You care to share more and contribute to this "sticky sticky"? [:)]

and also why audio systems will never be able to reproduce exactly the sound of a real piano... which brings us to the issue of ? [rolleyes]

Edited by Yttrium

.. but this chart only shows the fundamental frequencies.. they go up to 4khz or so? Don't forget the harmonics and other overtones that give each musical instrument their individual unique character [sly]

Just explaining things based on musical sense. Apology it was never meant to be so technical in the discussion as i wonder if we need to be so sharp with our ears that we can do frequency separation or identifying crosstalks? i guess we missed the point in life. We are not spectum analyser.

Don't misunderstand my post... I do see the musical aspect that you are trying to point out. I was just adding on... not disputing you [;)]

Edited by Yttrium

Yeah .. ultimately it's about enjoying the music ;-)

case in point was when I saw my boss and his family singing along and enjoying the music pumping out from a little mini-compo.. which didn't do any justice at all to its CD source.. but they didn't care [:)]

Since we are talking about frequencies... and most ppl agree that the human ear can only pick up frequencies up to 20KHz.. what's your take on those super-tweeters?