Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 (edited) recently my old car started making squeeky (sometimes knocking) sounds whenever she's moving on the road, the noise comes from the right rear suspension/wheel.... funny thing is when i start to brake, and the car sort of 'dives' abit forward, the sounds dissappear. if i have two passengers in the rear, the noise gets very loud and sounds as if the tyre rubber is knocking on something (it's not i presume).... with no rear passengers, the noise is soft.... before my ah bek mechanic is free to look at it middle next week, is there anything i can check and do myself??? Edited January 3, 2003 by Super7 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 U mean u can tell..having sat in ur car..there were rattling sounds, but the whole car actually rattles.. Could be your bushings or suspension Brakes? That could be another consideration, as there mught be some warping causing some contact, that might be giving off the noise.. Just my 0.00256 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 i am used to the rattling symphony .... but these funny noises go way above the decibels of the orchestral muzic..... thanks for the tips..... c ya tonite Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trdcorona Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 could be your suspension, bushings, or even bearings giving tat noise. remember a fren of mine driving a 1981 corolla had the same problem as u mentioned. the mechanic changed his bearings and the noise was gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 i also suspect it could well be the bearings which i estimated it's about time to replace them with new ones now........ wonder if i keep driving the car till mid next week (when mechanic is free to replace them) will it cause other parts to 'kahput'....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trdcorona Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 not too sure abt causing other parts to spoil. i remember it quite cheap to change. did u notice any black oil leaking from the center hub of the rim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Eh Foo, Today while waiting for my wife at Hill Street, a Celica (yr model) I saw - Black in colour. SCU plate. Good sia !! Raised suspension. Look very much Australian Celica influenced. Behind somemore got lightning sticker one ..... Your gang ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 so far no sight of oil leaks from wheel hub yet..... actually you're right: it's quite cheap to change.... only thing my good ole mech is not free to do it this weekend.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 my gang got a blackie but not SCU leh...... thanks for spotting this: now the gang has one more elusive target to hunt down..... .... will alert gang memebers to watchout for this black knight man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Wah...u all like man...hunting down ppl Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 WHoa...you are a ah pek "gangster"...the last of the kind... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 U dun know meh ... since the "ahbengs loansharks" upgraded to the Civic, the Celica gang is now headed by Super 7 Sorry ar Foo, I can't help myself .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 we have put a $888 award on each classic celica netted..... alive hor .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 yah, the type that walks around with one pack of ciggy tucked underneath the tight fitting short sleeve.... and a 10cent coin hidden in the ear.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 3, 2003 Author Share January 3, 2003 " ........ since the "ahbengs loansharks" upgraded to the Civic, the Celica gang is now headed by Super 7 .... " for MCF bros, special loan package:- daily interest rate 10% negotiable, where to find such good deal???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Post: yah, the type that walks around with one pack of ciggy tucked underneath the tight fitting short sleeve.... and a 10cent coin hidden in the ear.... and also a stick of cigarette stuck to one of the ear..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 Could be the rear brake shoes seizing against the drum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 3, 2003 Share January 3, 2003 In Sing Dollars?....All bros in MCF will comb thru Singapore and dig out every single one of them.....prepare to go broke liao.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...