Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 That's a lesson I learn too. So now I stay away from tree regardless it rains or not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Will do likewise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Can explain further how warm water wash can help confirm if the sealant still present? I believe warm water wash can remove surface residual better than a normal wash. I have not tried that myself but I will try to ask next time I meet up with my friend. Same as wash with stronger detergent (Dawn wash as recommended by Sal Zaino) or alcohol wipe, both should do the same trick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 To follow-up: Just did a tap water wash with sponge scrubbing. And the water started to bead again although not as good as just after the sealant application or maybe didnt quite remove all the tree sap. but its good enuff for me. Tink tis sat just wash n apply the AG SRP can liao. Tks guys for all the valuable advice n knowledge. I guess the 4 coats of AG EGP oso played a part. Now after wash quickly park in the open n not under the trees. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Try not to scrub too hard otherwise install some scratches or swirl than siao liao. I think the best solution is to clean the paint with a good chemical cleaner like AIO or ColorX, or step 1 paint cleaner from Mother's or Meguiar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Too late wash liao Anyway my ride a bit too light to spot scratches or swirl marks. Can I use AG SRP instead since tats what I have? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Should not be a problem, but those products I mentioned serve a better purpose in this area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Oic I kinda of find the SRP quite good and gives good results imho. Hadnt tried the others u mentioned. But coming to SRP, we dont hv to wait 1hr for it to sure or set rite? Cos instructions found at the back mentioned just wait for haze (or dry cant remember) to form before can buff off. Thus was good to apply whole car then can start to buff the section whereby started first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 From wat I read about SRP is apply and wait for it to haze than buff away the residue. You can straight away apply EGP, let it cures for 1-2 hours than buff away the residue. Some people actually apply EGP without even removing the SRP residue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 I heard that too... but can a not??? If u apply a thin coat, by the time u finsihed with the whole car, it oredi haze and ready to be buff off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 A play safe way is to apply SRP -> haze, bluff clean -> EGP -> wait 1-2 hours -> bluff clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 13, 2005 Author Share July 13, 2005 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dipstick Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 Another thing, it might just be dirty. Give it a good wash and see if the beading returns.Personally, I'm not happy if the surface isn't beading, whether or not protection is still there. I agree with you. Rain water is dirty and leaves a layer of grime on the paintwork. It is this layer of grime that reduces beading. I am using AG EGP too and I found that after washing and shampooing, the beading came back but not as good as before. Some of the EGP layer has been washed off by the acid rain.... which is what the EGP layer is for, to be sacrificed to the rain and in doing so protect the paintwork. The only solution is to relayer the EGP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silgt Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 bluff clean how to bluff clean? can bluff one meh? sorry I can't resist... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie July 13, 2005 Share July 13, 2005 try einszett's 1Z Glanz Wax. i did a test previously over several months during the rainy year end season (2004). the wax lasts a good 3 mths before my patience worn out and i re-waxed (many months didnt wax, just dont feel shiok. a case of hand itchiness). my guess is that the wax probably good for another 2 mths if i didnt re-wax. 1st Review http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Aftermarke...nz_wax_P750836/ 2nd Review http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Aftermarke...t_2%29_P779703/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 14, 2005 Author Share July 14, 2005 Yipee..... Beading returned. Wat a timing, yday wash today rain At least I managed to prove that it was indeed the tree sap or watever for the tree tat cos the sheeting effect. N washing with water alone can actually remove it and restore the original EGP protection beneath. Once again tks guys. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gen2 Neutral Newbie July 14, 2005 Share July 14, 2005 Good for you, no need to go through the whole process again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 15, 2005 Author Share July 15, 2005 Nevertheless, I would still continue with my routine of washing and sealing tis weekend. Might include SRP tis time ard. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...