Tips on Fuel Consumption

Kawan

Hi All,

I need some tips on fuel consumption

I started to record the fuel consumption of my Civic only during the 4th year, and the FC is at least 9km/l and very often between 10km to 11km/l . Then i recently changed to a brand new Accord Euro with 17" rim, based on the first 400 km the fuel consumption seems to be only 7km/l !!!

Any advice?

Is it normal that a 17" rim would increase fuel consumption by as much as 3km/l ?

Is the fuel consumption normally higher/lower after certain mileage?

Any other tips? like type of engine oil / petrol to use, driving techniques etc. I read somewhere that we should keep the spare tyres at home when driving within Singapore.

I am really interested to know what is the FC of different cars (yours).

Thanks for sharing.

Euro accord is 2.0l so the consumptiom will be higher . But what i heard is that normally the euro accord will have the fuel consumption is about 11 to 12km/l . But the city you mention have very high consumption man [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown] .

Is it because of you driving style????

Do you normally rev to redline everytime ?????

What engine oil do you use????

I drive CRV and my car is about 1.6 ton , i on 15 inch sport rim and my fuel consumption is about 9++km/l [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry] . Because of 4wd drive

I believe is because of the 17" sports rim .. should have just take the 15". With 3 km lesser per litre, it may cost me 100 extra each month !!!

Not sure of the engine oil they put in for the new car. My driving style is not too bad lah ... your 9++ km/l is ok lah ...

The car need to be run in too. But what i heard that with 17 inch rim on the euro accord, the consumption is about 10++ to 11km/l. I think that after the runin period it will be k already man . And the ECU also need to get used to the driving style of the driver too also. [nod][nod][nod][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

How about using those fuel additive that promises lower fuel consumption? is it possible that we can achieve better FC if we add these additive? Got any brand to recommend. i got some samples from my friend. Palm oil based ones.. Dunno want to try it or not .....

If have to add addictive to save on fule....then better not use. How much is a bottle of such addictive and how much fuel can one save? If really want to save fuel....buy a fuel-efficient car, drive gently and smoothy, go easy on the accelerator, remove unnecessary things from the car, etc....

I m drivin a CP2, KM Accord. My FC abt 9-10km/l. The most common FC frm my peers are 10-11km/l. I oso faced the same thing as u when I run in, abt 7++-8km/l. Dun worri. It wld go to arnd 10-11km/l after u run in & the ECU get used to ur drivin. Unless u like me, heavy foot. [thumbsup]

Kinda a waste if never try la.. Will try it on and see if it really improves my FC and engine noise.. It did say that will reduce engine noise and increase FC.. Given somee samples from my Fren..

Edited by Niz0302

Hi All,

I need some tips on fuel consumption

I started to record the fuel consumption of my Civic only during the 4th year, and the FC is at least 9km/l and very often between 10km to 11km/l . Then i recently changed to a brand new Accord Euro with 17" rim, based on the first 400 km the fuel consumption seems to be only 7km/l !!!

Any advice?

Is it normal that a 17" rim would increase fuel consumption by as much as 3km/l ?

Is the fuel consumption normally higher/lower after certain mileage?

Any other tips? like type of engine oil / petrol to use, driving techniques etc. I read somewhere that we should keep the spare tyres at home when driving within Singapore.

I am really interested to know what is the FC of different cars (yours).

Thanks for sharing.

make use of yr vtec switchover to save fuel

Euro accord is 2.0l so the consumptiom will be higher . But what i heard is that normally the euro accord will have the fuel consumption is about 11 to 12km/l . But the city you mention have very high consumption man [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown] .

Is it because of you driving style????

Do you normally rev to redline everytime ?????

What engine oil do you use????

I drive CRV and my car is about 1.6 ton , i on 15 inch sport rim and my fuel consumption is about 9++km/l [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry] . Because of 4wd drive

its the weight.....