Hoppe Clutched July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 I am kinda NOOB so forgive me since this is the first time I saw this product. There is this can thingy that you can pump into a flat tyre to repair it. It can repair minor punctures. Anyone used it before? Only cost about $14 and it's great since you don't really have to bring a spare tyre along. Of course, if you have a serious puncture, then you are on your own. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schneider79 Clutched July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 It is some sort of foam and once you pump into the tyre, it will "harden". Then you can travel to the nearest or your desired tyre shop to change tyre or do proper patching. But it will be a bit messy when they remove the tyre from the rim itself... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahsiong Neutral Newbie July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 dun think it's really useful lah...cos nowsaday our tyre is tubeless, if puncture by things like nail, the air will leak slowly, thus still can drive to nearest shop to repair. i kena once before. go to patch up only $8 i think. so dun waste money buy this thing lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 This thing works for Tubeless. If your tire is flat, do not attempt to drive it. It may cause more damage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 25, 2005 Author Share July 25, 2005 Thanks for the input guys. Will definitely avoid this product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cklasse 1st Gear July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 I have one can in my car although I carry a spare tyre too. This thing will come in handy in situation like; - when you have a puncture in the expressway and the only place to stop to change tyre puts you in a dangerous position (too near passing cars). Think it is better to pump and go rather than increasing exposure time to speeding traffic changing tyre. - when you have a puncture in malaysia and it is a deserted road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kwongwing Neutral Newbie July 25, 2005 Share July 25, 2005 I carry a can too in my boot! Haven't tried it yet but a colleague of mine who had a puncture did, and apparently when he did go to a tyre workshop to do a proper patch-up, the mechanic could not locate the puncture at all. Understand that the can actually pumps up the tyre a bit too! Don't know how much though. My opinion: have a can handy - use it when needed - if fail then no choice but to bring out the spare. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 26, 2005 Share July 26, 2005 The point is... the product is not bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie June 30, 2006 Share June 30, 2006 but hor, this can, does it make the tyre messy until cannot do a repair, must throw away the tire? or damage the rims? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched June 30, 2006 Share June 30, 2006 The product is actually quite good if you get the right one. It can run up to 50000km before you change. It is the way you use it that is important, ie, to allow it to fully harden before driving at speed, save time for repair until you go to a tyre shop to do a proper repair. There is another type that also works like a fire extinguisher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2006 Share June 30, 2006 from experience. After you have pump in the chemical, best to repair the tyre within the shortest possible time. Try to not to leave the chemical inside for too long else, the paint work of the rim (internally) might be damaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hyun Neutral Newbie July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 during repair u expect them to remove the compound (clean up)? otherwise it's still there right ... any bad brands to avoid, or nice brands to take note? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 you will need to inform the mechanice to remove the chemical. Else he wun know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear July 5, 2006 Share July 5, 2006 I have one can in my car although I carry a spare tyre too. This thing will come in handy in situation like; - when you have a puncture in the expressway and the only place to stop to change tyre puts you in a dangerous position (too near passing cars). Think it is better to pump and go rather than increasing exposure time to speeding traffic changing tyre. - when you have a puncture in malaysia and it is a deserted road. In fact in e'way, if u wait a while later the emas would be there n they cna help u change or even divert traffic for u. But if started to change oredi at the road shoulder, they will prolly just drive past u. I kena twice the last time with my old ride. both in e'way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 which one is gd? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clarkewan Neutral Newbie July 6, 2006 Share July 6, 2006 this item is good... but after using u will not be able to balance your tire properly in future.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fortress Clutched July 7, 2006 Share July 7, 2006 (edited) There is no good or bad one. Used a few throughout the last 20 years, found only one that can be use as a fire extinguisher as well. Cost about S$15 +. Frankly, depends on your needs, if you are travelling on highway or malaysia, it is safer with less exposal on the road, this is good. Then again, do you need a fire extinguisher, yes, then it can be combined. Edited July 7, 2006 by Fortress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lukie102 Clutched July 8, 2006 Share July 8, 2006 what's the brand? i prefer this than changing tyres. my spare is 13". now on 15" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...