Tyre Patching Can

Hoppe

Note that it said to be a temporary repair, however, some can be used up to 50,000 km, which means the lifetime of the tyre.

As for the brand, never really paid attention to it, just the cost and whether do I need an extinguisher, which i have.

Note, based on my personal experience, that if you are driving an Alfa or other high end performance cars, which requires all wheels to be balance, will cause the car to vibrate at high speed, ie, 120kmh and above.

OK this type of thing is actually polyurethane foam. Basically when you inject the thing in, it will polymerize into solid polyurethane. In the end, you will have a semi-solid tire filled with foam plastic. It is quite rigid actually.

Now the thing about it is that it can last quite a fair bit. The bad thing is that you cannot take your car up to high speeds. The foam will melt.

A nice plus about it is that it is puncture proof.

you will need to inform the mechanice to remove the chemical. Else he wun know.

oh, so can remove ah? so the problem of balancing tyre is solved liao, just ask him remove before repairing. probably charge extra labour?

i did use this thing b4 on my bike

that time already 3 am when i feel my rear bike wobbling

check....i got a flat

go petrol kiosk to pump air and notice i got a punture

so no choice buy the can spray

ask my friend to jack up the bike while spraying the foam into the tyre

at the same time rotate the tyre so it will cover the puncture

never did change the tyre though

but downside is

once the foam hardern..........my bike balancing is out as i can feel 1 side is heavy

Lukie,

I'm already using one already. I took out my spare and just carry the can. NTUC, AMK sells them. Carrefour too. Made in Mexico. $8.50. I think. I too prefer to inflate it and drive it to nearest tyre shop to get it properly fixed or replaced. Safety more important than money. Here's a pic of the can that I'm using:

23062006.jpg

but hor, this can, does it make the tyre messy until cannot do a repair, must throw away the tire? or damage the rims?

no mess lah. just used it last sunday. the only complaint by the tyre guys is that it stinks [laugh]

you will need to inform the mechanice to remove the chemical. Else he wun know.

any idea how he remove the chemical?