OPC: Free Sat from 25 Jan

Clemenzo

SINGAPORE: Owners of Off-Peak-Cars (OPCs) will enjoy more perks from Monday, January 25.

These include unrestricted usage of their cars on Saturdays and on the eves of 5 public holidays.

These public holidays are New Year, Lunar New Year, Hari Raya Puasa, Deepavali and Christmas.

They also enjoy rebates of up to S$1,100 for every six months registration as an OPC when they convert their normal cars.

The initiatives first announced in August last year by the Land Transport Authority (LTA), aim to make the OPC scheme more attractive.

It's in support of LTA's overall objective to better manage congestion during peak periods.

The removal of usage restrictions on Saturday and the eve of five public holidays will be accompanied by adjustments to the tax concessions.

The annual road tax discount will be reduced from S$800 to S$500 under the revised OPC scheme.

The minimum annual road tax will be S$70, instead of S$50 under the existing OPC scheme.

This means that existing OPC owners who opt for the revised OPC scheme will have their annual road tax discounts reduced by between S$20 and S$300.

This is because the tax concessions given to OPC owners were computed taking into consideration the restricted usage periods.

Vehicle owners who register a new car as an OPC under the revised scheme will continue to enjoy an up-front tax rebate of up to S$17,000.

Existing OPC owners can apply to convert to the revised OPC scheme to enjoy the extended usage hours in exchange for reduced tax discounts with payment of a one-time administrative fee of S$100 and road tax top-up.

Those who remain under the existing OPC scheme are required to purchase an electronic day licence if they wish to drive their OPC between 7am and 3pm on Saturdays and eve of the five public holidays. - CNA/vm

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1029311/1/.html

http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.a...wduc6k68is8olm1

Edited by Clemenzo

wah still need to top up existing road tax, must see need to top up how much and the remaining amount of days before the road tax expired.

25/1 is not a Sat. So, actually starts from 30/1.

Application for conversion starts from 25 Jan so that OPC can start driving full Sat from 30 Jan.. conversion can be done at AXS or onemotoring. However, not sure if the road tax top up would be pro rated as per individual road tax renewal cycle.

http://www.lta.gov.sg/images/News%20Releas...20Annex%20A.pdf

Yes and it should be pro rated too since can only apply on the 30th. Short changed of 4 full Sats in the month of Jan rite??

Actually is for pro-rate with reference to road tax renewal. Suppose your road tax is due 1 Feb, you wouldn't want to topup the road tax just for one Sat use on 30 Jan unless it is pro rated and less than $20.

I just called LTA and confirmed that the system would calculate the pro-rated topup amount when doing conversion to new scheme. The period used for pro-rate would be the day you convert to the last day of your current road tax.

Not sure if the system would be detail enough to calculate on an individual basis using

Balance Saturdays excluding PH / Total Saturdays excluding PH * Road Tax Amount.

omg, more jams on saturdays, machiam hell-gates open

agree. anyway,to hell with the weekend car system. Want to control traffic, knn, calculate by per km travelled lor. Pay and Pay mar.. used to it.

Less traffic on weekdays as many may convert normal car to OPC. :D

it will be less jam if you look at it another way.

1) Less jam in causeway and 2nd link cause opc can go to JB anytime on sat.

2) Slight increase of opc on Singapore road since some of the opc already in Malaysia.

3) Maybe less jam in Singapore cause more normal car will go to JB since less jam in causeway and 2nd link.

Without OPC scheme, that does not mean current OPC drivers would take public transport. Imagine all or at least 50% OPCs are normal plates, wouldn't the roads be more congested every other day?

Actually is for pro-rate with reference to road tax renewal. Suppose your road tax is due 1 Feb, you wouldn't want to topup the road tax just for one Sat use on 30 Jan unless it is pro rated and less than $20.

I just called LTA and confirmed that the system would calculate the pro-rated topup amount when doing conversion to new scheme. The period used for pro-rate would be the day you convert to the last day of your current road tax.

Not sure if the system would be detail enough to calculate on an individual basis using

Balance Saturdays excluding PH / Total Saturdays excluding PH * Road Tax Amount.

I think most probably calculate by calendar days instead of just Sat only la...

wah 125459 e-day license sold from 9Nov-31Dec = $2,509,180 for period less than 2 months!!!

$$ generating machine leh, u think they will scrap the OPC plan???

Without OPCs already got jam liao. So some ppl like to blame OPCs for jams. Look around you la if you can count how many OPCs during your normal drives. I'm sure your count will stop at less than 10. Weekends don need to count...