Jump to content

MyCarForum Logo
Magnifying glass



Red Bull captures the Formula 1 Constructor's Championship in Brazil

By Rigval on 09 Nov 2010

Attached Image: Brazil_GP_Mark_Webber_Sebastian_Vettel_Fernan_2524479.jpg

Red Bull pulls off a 1-2 victory at Interlagos, Brazil and captures the FIA Formula 1 Constructor’s Title for 2010 ahead of McLaren and Ferrari. The other important fact is that the title race for the Driver’s Championship is wide open as current leader Fernando Alonso only managed a third place. He is still leading the race but as Red Bull’s Mark Webber came in second, he is only eight points ahead of Webber and followed by Webber’s team mate Sebastian Vettel, who won Sunday’s race.

This marks Red Bull’s first constructor’s championship title after competing in Formula 1 for about 7 years. It is quite an achievement for a relatively new team to do so but this is still not as fantastic as last year’s winner Brawn Mercedes (now Mercedes GP after Mercedes came in with engines and all), who managed it after one season (and had come fourth in the constructor’s championship this season). Brawn Mercedes was basically built from the ashes of Honda who pulled out of Formula 1 after the end of the 2008 season.

Anyway, what is important is that it has been a roller coaster season, where there has been a great fight between Red Bull and McLaren at first, followed by an upsurge in the performance of Ferrari that basically threw the Constructor’s Championship wide open.

But things are not over yet. The final race at Abu Dhabi, UAE will determine who comes home with the Driver’s Championship. It’s a three way fight between Fernando Alonso of Ferrari and the two Red Bull drivers, Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel. Lewis Hamilton is fourth, and if some fluke happens, like all three stated above do not finish in the points, he wins.

It has been a pretty good Formula 1 season this year, and it’s down to the wire for the drivers this time at Abu Dhabi on the 14th of November.

01. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1h33:11.803
02. Webber Red Bull-Renault + 4.243
03. Alonso Ferrari + 6.807
04. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes + 14.634
05. Button McLaren-Mercedes + 15.593
06. Rosberg Mercedes + 35.300
07. Schumacher Mercedes + 43.400
08. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
09. Kubica Renault + 1 lap
10. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 1 lap
11. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1 lap
12. Sutil Force India-Mercedes + 1 lap
13. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1 lap
14. Massa Ferrari + 1 lap
15. Petrov Renault + 1 lap
16. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
17. Heidfeld Sauber-Ferrari + 1 lap
18. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth + 2 laps
19. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth + 2 laps
20. Glock Virgin-Cosworth + 2 laps
21. Senna HRT-Cosworth + 2 laps
22. Klien HRT-Cosworth + 6 laps
Did Not Finish (DNF)
Di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 63
Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 50

Attached Image: interlagos.jpg
Attached Image: Interlagos_circuit_2524395.jpg
Attached Image: Interlagos_circuit_Alonso_and_Hulkenberg_2524443.jpg

Photo source:planetf1

formula 1, formula one and 8 more...

Viewed: 1,175 times

Related Blog Posts
Written by Rigval
Born in 1972. Married with a kid. Loves B-road drives and have driven cars from the 1950s to date.

Car Makes

Please select a car make

Facebook Likes
   Featured Blog Post
“I, Halimah Yacob, having been elected as President of the Republic of Singapore, do solemnly swe...
Porsche is unleashing a limited-run 911 Turbo S into the world called the Exclusive Series Coupe....
Etiqa Insurance launches reduce-premium usage-based car insurance ePROTECT sMiles that offers 50...
Following his major accident on Saturday behind the wheel of a Rimac Concept_One, “The Grand Tour...
South African motoring journalist Jesse Adams has re-written the record for world’s longest drift...
Nobody expected the price of the first Civic Type R to jump as high as it had within the first tw...
   Lifestyle Articles