Honda Civic Si or Opel Astra GTC?

Genes

Buyer dun like the Mazda brand.... dun ask me why tho.. i also dunno..

I asked both SEs.. Opel actually quoted the higher range of OMV.. body value wise.. yea I guess a Honda would have a higher body value.

But lets say we intend to keep this car for its max of 10 yrs.. common thinking would suggest the civic would last. Not too sure about the Astra tho..

decisions decisions..

so many civics on the road, and if you driving for 10 yrs, for me, I would go for Opel [thumbsup]

And pple might said Opel higher maintenance cost, but if you only 2 person and no kids, I'm sure you can afford the maintenance cost as well [;)]

My main concern is if it will last the 10 yrs without (too much) problems. We all still see plenty of old Hondas around, but how many old Astras do you see?

I mean, it could be that Honda more reliable, cheaper to keep it running happily, etc etc, or Opel old age liao problematic, or get new car better than keep repairing, or too expensive to get new parts to solve whatever whichever problems that arise etc etc

I noe when the car is bought then we need to use and take care of it anyway, but now when we still have a choice... dilemma sia...

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

bro,

if you are still undecided after having considered all the factors and prepared yourself for any eventualities, my advice for u is to go with your heart. at least you'd be driving something your heart desires...easier to justify should you have doubts again after the purchase (which hopefully you will not).

ps. i was in a similar dilemma and i finally got one of the makes u mentioned.

If u hv surplus cash to spare, go with yr heart.

If not it is wiser to get a decent car that price is reasonable.

My main concern is if it will last the 10 yrs without (too much) problems. We all still see plenty of old Hondas around, but how many old Astras do you see?

I mean, it could be that Honda more reliable, cheaper to keep it running happily, etc etc, or Opel old age liao problematic, or get new car better than keep repairing, or too expensive to get new parts to solve whatever whichever problems that arise etc etc

I noe when the car is bought then we need to use and take care of it anyway, but now when we still have a choice... dilemma sia...

[sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I think you kind of like to get the Astra, just that worry about reliability and high maintenance [;)]

Seems like you are also biased towards Civic.

if you are keen to drive a ordinary car that perceived to be less troublesome, then it's the Civic. Given that it's 5-sp is also better for long haul travelling. However, the omph factor is nowhere near the Astra GTC. Just visualise driving both car around and how many will turn head.

Throw a stone and you most likely hit a civic. At one point of time, I like the civic, esp the current gen but it just get boring seeing so many on the road. I know it hurts but it's the truth.

For the GTC, I wouldn't say it's the best of all, given that it's 4sp auto. If it's 5sp, I find little to complain. For conti, prepared for some visit to the agent if you are unlucky. I would say that the car is not reliable but given that it comes with so many bell and whistles, at times, there tend to be things that need to be iron out (Japz give less problem coz no frills). But not all conti are like that. Some can be driven for years and no problem except those usual wear and tear.

The above is just general comments. Come back again when you shortlist your cars and made up your mind. Otherwise, no point wasting time talking til the cow come home and you decide on others.

The person who is buying is my mother. I am the one who is bringing her around testing and viewing cars. I am also the person giving the general suggestions to go with her requirements. Will probably test a few more cars, but I think it is quite safe to say that the main choice would be between this 2.

In the SG car market, it is because the majority get japanese makes, thus it would be accurate to a certain extent that most locals would prefer to look/see/buy/use a japanese car, for whatever reasons of their own. The above would probably be most true in the economy to low mid-range segment. An offshoot of this though, is that there are more, and slightly cheaper parts to maintain the car with.

With regards to the oomph factor, I personally do not go for 'look at me' in general. I would prefer to be one of the thousands, but not millions (think toyota). So a car that I enjoy driving but in general does not warrant a second glance, suits me just fine. [;)] But the person buying this time round is not me, so what I would like to do is to expose my mom to all the available and viable options, and let her make the decision. This thread in general is just to get second opinions, as well as hopefully raise an option I might have missed.

Cheers [flowerface]