Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Share January 4, 2002 (edited) I'm using the Philips Vision Plus H7 headlamps and so far here's my review: Pros: - much brighter! (50% according to philips) - still yellow light (don't wanna attract attention) - wider spread Cons: - Price a little more compared to OE replacement. Guys, any other brands to comment on? Edited January 6, 2002 by Admin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myfocus Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Share January 4, 2002 Just curious abt the Philips... - is the wattage the same? - how about heat generated? (Is this a HID bulb?) - lifetime data? (how long have u been using them? Is this the first set?) - Price? My experience: I used a Japanese brand (can't remember what it is, label was in Japanese, I only understood the "H4, 55/60W" bit), H4, same wattage 55/60, was about 30-50% brighter than the Fiamm & Osram. Light was whiter vs the original dim yellow. No observed heat damage to the reflectors after 2 years. Current Focus OEM bulb seems plenty bright. Have not checked what type it is (lazy, lah) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Author Share January 4, 2002 55W for H7, 55/60W for H4. It's a halogen bulb with Characteristic: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 4, 2002 Share January 4, 2002 Any where else selling ? Went to Tye Soon but closed on Sat...nowadays beri busy....no time to snake.....my lights getting a bit dimmer liao....time to change man !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Author Share January 4, 2002 Ur headlamp using H4? I get for U lah, me going TyeSoon next week. Which model U want? Vision Plus or Blue Vision? They are the same type of bulb except VP doesn't have the blue tint. BV does come with the addition 2 dim light bulbs as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 4, 2002 Author Share January 4, 2002 Only Philips Blue Vision are approved by LTA, the rest of the Jap or Korean brands are not approved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 5, 2002 Share January 5, 2002 Which is better ?? Frankly due to my light reflector, I dun think I want any blue tinted bulbs cos they reflect on the reflector in the day & the car will have sort of "blue eye".......I think get the normal one without tint.....or is the tint very bad ?? Givmme a call lor.....if possible....U buy for me can....H4 & I pay you when we meet for kopi !! My treat !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 5, 2002 Share January 5, 2002 Does the Philips Blue Vision emit white or yellow light? The bulb itself is blue right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 5, 2002 Author Share January 5, 2002 I prefer Vision Plus as it's bright, long distance and NOT BLUE! Cannot tahan blue bulbs unless REAL HID. I can get a pair of H4 Vision Plus for U, ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 5, 2002 Author Share January 5, 2002 Blue vision is similar to Vision Plus except with blue tinting on the bulb, so like Ghostrider mentioned, if Ur reflector is mirror-like then daytime the headlamp will have a bluish tint also. The light emitted is bluish white, whereas real HID is purplish white. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Car_guru Neutral Newbie January 5, 2002 Share January 5, 2002 got any idea abt the CrystalVision? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 5, 2002 Author Share January 5, 2002 Seems like Crystal Vision is a Jap model bulb from Philips. Issit blue tinted? Didn't notice it closely the last time I was there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear January 7, 2002 Share January 7, 2002 Hokay boss....thanks !! But the Vision Plus is not blue tinted rite.....dun wan the blue tinted ones....cos they make my car look damn sinister man !! [Very evil look] Anyway perfer those yellow halogen one as opp to those "HID" white blubs......no contrast man !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 7, 2002 Share January 7, 2002 I love the blue tinted ones...but couldnt' find when I changed my bulbs...ended up with some white ones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched January 7, 2002 Share January 7, 2002 (edited) This place Tye Soon at Waterloo stocks the Blue Vision bulbs for other makes as well? Thinking of getting a pair for my car oops...silly me...just saw your posting that they have H4 as well :P Are they bright? I want really bright ones :P hee hee....of cos Xenon would be better...hahaha but for my car its against the law (and too costly!) Edited January 7, 2002 by Lightspeed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 7, 2002 Author Share January 7, 2002 The Philips Blue Vision has H4 suitable for your Mit. They are pretty bright and slightly bluish white, not too "beng". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie January 7, 2002 Author Share January 7, 2002 Gui, got the VP for you liao, $20.60 w/GST. Pass to U when we meet with Vek ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skoda_Man Neutral Newbie January 7, 2002 Share January 7, 2002 VP is the clear bulb that emit yellow lights when activated right? Used for signal lights correct??? Gui, got the VP for you liao, $20.60 w/GST. Pass to U when we meet with Vek ok? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...