Light bulbs

Turbobrick

Okay lah...the throw is normal lor....but I think the throw of the beam is dependent on the reflector and not the bulb...correct ???

Anyway, no problem if you want to take pix.....[:)]

ya lor...what to do...pple's bulb is european standard one U noe....mine Japaness bulb (or maybe Taiwaness) sure CANNOT MAKE IT !! He he he he he

Either that, he forever wearing sunglasses [cool][cool] hence everything also looks dim to him !! [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yah reflector plays a part but quite subjective as well. I've seen a couple of Volvo 850s with Read HID lights and the beam pattern is pretty good and long, almost like extension of the halogen.

Anyway if we make comparison it'll be with your car so reflector aside, we should see some improvement over distance and coverage, else not worth the $$! [;)]

From what I read in a BMW brochure, halogen bulbs throw light out in a spiral pattern whilst xenon ones do so in an arc. The brochure used this theory as juzsification on why the xenon bulb is able to throw light wider and further. Any comments anyone?

I believe it has something to do with light waves & its diff wavelenght have a play in the throw.

HID lights is close to natural lights (aka sunlight) so we naturally can see more of the lights hence more throw. UV lights also throw very long but due to their wavelenght is not within our target vision, so cannot see hence no throw ??

I remember reading one article sometime back, Volvo was trying to combine both UV & halogen lights into their head lights. Halogen lights for the visible part & UV lights for the throw. But like I said UV light we cannot see, the purpose of the UV lights is to light up anything that is white so they will glow when hit with UV lights.

Stuffs like road markings, signs etc.....

Extra throw or not I am okay one....just need it to be bright enuff to shine until one Skoda driver can see stars enuff liao !! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Wah use UV for additional illumination and "throw" ah? Later throw light and hit ghost and light up then die! [:p]

U'd never know, UV may just light up any spooks out there.

For now shine at a certain Skoda no need UV rite, still an animate object [laugh][laugh][laugh]

No bright enough take Maglite torch and shine out your window also lah! [sly]

Turbobrick,

I just got hold of the bulbs today and was trying to install it just now.

I think mine have to unscrew out the whole headlight unit, coz my hand can barely squeeze in behind the unit to pull-out the bulb assembly.

Too bad, me does not have a spanner!

Does your's needs to do that?

Very eager to see how bright the bulb is!

U got the BVs?

Shouldn't need to remove the headlamp housing, weird that the space behind the headlamp has no space.

Mine just has a large plastic cap and changing bulb is just pop the cap out and unhook the bulb.

Lemme know if U need my help to install them [;)]

Office at Valley Point near Tiong Bahru and home at Yio Chu Kang area near Jln Kayu. Tomorrow maybe not in office, call me if U wanna meet. [:)]

me staying in sengkang...quite near to your place.

think i will try to get hold of a spanner and try again myself.

btw, do u need to use great force in pulling out the bulb assembly or u just need to "wriggle it right - left -right - left ..."?

please pardon my ignorance.

Drop by my place if U have time.

The bulb should be held by some clips or twist locked, will come off relatively easy, no need for force. Wiggling applies only if the bulb base plate is rusted [;)]

Then if you see a white floating object then balls drop off lor !!! [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

But I think it is a good idea that Volvo came up with.....imagine.....the UV lights hit those TP....and the word POLICE lite up a mile away !! [cool][cool]

Shine at the Skoda need more than maglite man.....you need to use roof mounted spotlights cos the rear of the car damn high.....doubt the normal height healights will make it to his rear view mirror. [:p]

Hello you got problem with Skoda car izzit???? nabei.... want to pick a fight izzit??? LOL

KNN, I will put on those super dark film on my rear view mirror, what light also cannot come in... :P

Edited by Skoda_Man

yeah lah yeah lah..... that time you sped off then I high beamed you, you so unfriendly, never wave.... maybe because your glass all fog up thus cannot see... LOL