Garlic 1st Gear August 8, 2005 Share August 8, 2005 Hi guys, Is it true that the Matrix from 2006 onwards will come with the new CVVT engine? Tks :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear August 8, 2005 Share August 8, 2005 Heard from where? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear August 8, 2005 Share August 8, 2005 (edited) Last F/L, upgrade for this workhorse if it is true. Coming to end of life cycle liao Edited August 8, 2005 by Vooth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starlety Clutched August 9, 2005 Share August 9, 2005 (edited) The 2006 Kia Rio already come out with 1.6 CVVT engine with 112ps @6000rpm. Not suprising that Rio and Matrix using the same engine. Edited August 9, 2005 by Starlety Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched August 10, 2005 Share August 10, 2005 Hi With or without the CVVT word on it doesn't make any dif Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Susacarimakan 4th Gear August 10, 2005 Share August 10, 2005 Pardon me, but does it stands for Consumption Very Very Teruk? or Consumption Very Very Thrifty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonglh Neutral Newbie August 10, 2005 Share August 10, 2005 It should be Constantly Variable Valve Timing lah. Theoretically, there should be some improvement. Variable Valve Timing, something similar to VVT-I and VTEC (which are already donkey years and proven technologies). But CVVT is still new on Korean cars and not proven yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonglh Neutral Newbie August 10, 2005 Share August 10, 2005 I believe it does make some difference. Has been driving Korean car from 1.5A -> 1.6A -> 2.0CVVT. Every upgrade can feel the improvement on the engine. Not talking about performance but the smoothness and quietness of the engine. As for FC, previously my 1.6A Matrix is about 8-8.5KM/L. Now 2.0 Sportage is giving me 7.5-8.5KM/L, average is around 8KM/L. So there is some improvement since Sportage is heavier and it is a 2L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_liang Clutched August 10, 2005 Share August 10, 2005 I think more like Consumption Very Very Terrible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 Well my 2 friend drove the Trajet CVVT their comment - Wa Cheap & Good, value for money ah big car can take his family members - Cry, Comsumption no dif from old model drink beer. Think of enhancement to get better comsumption - by me My friend Matrix 1.6A - Drinks (full tank 370km - 20% city 80% highway) after MOD by me (Full Tank 450km) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 wat did u MOD? share leh..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 To increase Air Injet & Fuel Mag Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonglh Neutral Newbie August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 80% highway only get 370km? A bit on the high side leh. Last time if I am on 70% highway most of the time, it will be around 8.5km/l. Had 2 pairs of magnet, Iridium spark plug, knn filter, voltage stabliser and broquet in-tank unit. But I didn't really get any major FC improvement with these gadgets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elantrahatch Neutral Newbie August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 my matrix not that bad le. Full tank can run about 550km. Somemore mine auto. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Multi 3rd Gear August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 (edited) No wonder consumption so high... Those things will not improve their FC. Its more Power to Weight ratio...Can't be help. Only way is to change Engine Edited August 11, 2005 by Multi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 Well my concept is to 1)Air combustion (Air Jet in varies point) 2)Magnet at Fuel point (Fuel Mag magnet is very strong and is N/S & support all side of the hose) many Magnet out there is N and not strong (use a screw driver on their magnet and try to remove it & its easy) with this concept on my friends car( matris, Trajet, Focus, Corolla, Mit, KIA, Chevy etc...... its enhance your engine power, engine quieter, smoother, save fuel-25% and if you drive up a slope (eg. car park, bridges or even load with passages in your car there is not much stress on your engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tann Clutched August 11, 2005 Share August 11, 2005 It doesn't carry weight if you got the right want. If you see a Matrix Car No.SXX 2991 on the road from orchard to & fro Sengkang, you can check with him on the enhancement n FC no bxxxxxxtting (or OPEL Zafira Sxx2887 full tank 435km and after enhancement 520km). So is up to you to believe, otherwise ????? or $$$$$$$ to your FC Anyway the 4.2 yrs old Zafira 1.8 friend will be changing his car(ve remove all the enhancement kit already & complaint alot on power & high FC) to Tucson (collection on friday at macpherson) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vapouriser Neutral Newbie August 12, 2005 Share August 12, 2005 So does CVVT engine have better mileage?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...