Decent amplifier for tight budget

Ferringi2000

u mean your spkr x-over? usually yes unless the spkr x-overs are active x-overs. i think most of the ppl here who r running active use the HU's x-over, so you will have to get an HU with digital x-over function. someone pls correct me if i'm talking rubbish [:p]

i think about $500 onwards (export set pricing). think the pioneer 7650 or alpine 9851 onwards shld have...i'm assuming you have looked at both passive & active setups before wanting to try active?? [sweatdrop]

$500 still ok leh, got other cost or not? I am now in passive setup, will there be a big difference if i upgraded to active? [inlove][inlove]

a lot of other costs... antidote for poison will kill you liao [laugh][laugh]

dunno, not interested to try active for the time being. speak to your installer lor or ask thhose who are currently running active [:p]

Hi dude...currently i have 1 amp (JBL CS50.4) powering my front 2 speakers jbl 6000 GTO (i think) and my single 12" cevin vega woffer. The rear speakers are stock and are powered by the HU. At very high volumes i end up getting craking (ie the voice starts to break [shakehead] music gets cranky like poorly tuned radio). Will the adding of a seperate amp to power the woffer, then use the current amp to power the 4 speakers be a good idea?

ie HU will not power anything. 1 amp (2 channel) power the woffer and 1 amp (4 channel) power the 4 speakers.

Thanks dude.

hey hey.

i tink ur problem is due to ur stock speakers being lousy. i had the same problem my stock speakers were like paper like tat.. if u add another amp to power ur stock speakers, it'll prob still distort.. if u wanna blast and blast, best change ur rear speakers too lah..

cheers man..

but the cracking i observe is not from the rear speakers only. It seems to be uniform. Like as if there is no more juice to feed the all the spakers or like the HU cannot take it anymore...lol....

wat is a relativly good speaker to put for the rear since i just need it as a fill and not for really for the sound quality (i hope i am not confusing u here [:/] )

looking at within 50-100 max. I guess it will be 3 way speakers?

Also my tweeters are super bright at high volumes...even sometimes at low volumes...anyidea how i can overcome this with minimal hardware changes? My treble is at the minimum liao [shakehead]

thanks...

[thumbsup]

huh..

u try to fade ur sound to the front, see whether ur front got distort or not.. if coming from the front too, go and turn down the gain on ur amp.. then play around with ur vol control.. mix and match until u reach a satisfyin level..if u got an external EQ, then play around with that too..

as for rear speakers, if got crack, means thay buay tahan..

for changin of rear speakers, just go down sim lim and look ard lah, got a lot of speakers..

since u say ur tweeters on the bright side, wat HU are u usin? if u are using the new SONY ones, there is this DSO function.. OFF IT!! cos last time i kena also.. can die man..

but if don have, see whether ur HU got small EQ, and play ard with the high freqs until u happy lah.. just play around with ur HU.. see what u can do.. if got nothin, look at ur cross over, see whether for the 'tweeter' output, got the different db levels...

have fun man with ur setup man..

cheers..

hee hee thanks man...well HU is stock, factory fitted - VDO tuner list

so not much to play ard with [shakehead]

hummm...crossover...that one can tune is it? hummmm.... hee hee maybe i should attend one of ur ICE meets and u can help me tune? lol [sly][lipsrsealed]

I shall try wat u said abt fading the music to the front and isolate the cracking first for now...

thanks [thumbsup]

heheh..

cos some cross overs can adjust the tweeter one..

aniway.. for the moment, just isolate where the crackin is coming from. if comin from the front, adjust down the gain on the amp and mix and match with the vol control until u happy lah..

drop by the meetup la.. we see wat can be done to help u out.. heheh.. u go read the manual first lah. heehh.. never play with VDO b4.. heheh.. my stock HU got EQ one.. heheh.. so don look down on urs.. heheh..

cheers man.