Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 dear all, was thinking upgrading my car audio system. can someone advice any decent amplifier and speaker for the following budget 1. $300 for 2 channel amplifier 2. $200 for component speaker 6.5inches 3. cheap cheap speaker for rear fill drive by HU (alphine 45Watts) was thinking getting those amplifier from SLT, however, is abit draw back as i am worry whether those export set is reliable and geniune? one of the shop recommend me rockford speaker for $240 and 4 channel rodek amp at around $190. can make my choice as they done allow to demo, can someone share the experience of export set audio stuff? Thanks a million ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 Try getting from a more establish audio shop, bro. At least there are some back up service down the road Many bros here will have many recommendation for you. Do shop around before commiting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 haha.. let me guess the rockford speaker.. FNX2614.. brown colour packaging.. FANATIX model or someting like that? new century shop i tink?.. that one is fake.. don buy.. the shop on sim lim tower 2nd level, beside the escalator, their export stuff is fake... i kena their fake Rockford speaker liao.. u want cheap cheap setup.. look at the SONY Xplode 550watt amp ($150) 4 channel and maybe cadence speakers.. can try edison at first level sim lim tower.. for cheap cheap speakers for rear.. get 2nd hand ones.. best.. heh cheers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fasthonda Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 yes i agree with you. must go to more estab shop... :) recommendations are poisonous ah... hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 hey.. let me state the price for u of wat i recommended.. the SONY 550 watt amp= $150 the cadence speakers =$200 cheap cheap speaker=$50 installation =$80 total = $480 still got $20 go geylang .. not bad sia my recommendation ah.. hahaha.. BUT.. if u want more power.. there's another SONY amp that is ard $200 plus.. its much more powerful.. but 2 channel.. so.. prob gotta use HU to power rear speakers..as for the cadence speakers.. its powerful.. good for wacking. heheh.. in ur budget too.. have fun man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 >>yes i agree with you. must go to more estab shop... :) recommendations are poisonous ah... hahahaha >> Ya, i also kana poison liao, now keep on dreaming of my amp..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 >>still got $20 go geylang .. not bad sia my recommendation ah.. hahaha.. >> $20 go Geyland for what? turtle soup or frog porridge or...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 23, 2005 Share August 23, 2005 go there eat tau hui, or lua, turtle soup.. wat u thinkin ah? haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 I rather you forget about rear fill and focus on the front components. Amps is not a must if you are going budget. I am driving my infinity reference series 6000 now without amps, already quite clear and powerful. So focus on the front component speakers first, then you still have room for upgrading, instead of changing the whole set-up. CDTs are hot now, do consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 If u stretch ur budget abit, can get a decent Audison Srx amp. Price either $300+ or $400+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 hey bro, ask u abt the SRx 300~400 is for the 2ch or 4 ch ? Just curious wats the street $$ for a local set of SRx ? also if include wiring/fuse n install ? thnx mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear August 24, 2005 Share August 24, 2005 Which shop have you been visiting at SLT? I have heard of bad experiences from customers who have bought their stuff from E*****. If u r getting an amp, it must have enough power to drive the speakers. For a budget of $300, you will most probably be getting a 2 ch amplifier with less than 100W RMS per channel. What is your preference for music? Have u auditioned any speakers to determine which one suits ur taste better? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie August 25, 2005 Author Share August 25, 2005 ya, was considering cadence speaker which is high effieciency compare withe other brand. what is you db output per watt, i am soucing those that is 95db and above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie August 25, 2005 Author Share August 25, 2005 the shop that i went is New Century, they claim most of their product is meant for export and there is no testing which i am not comfortable with. My taste of music is most vocal, and jazz .... i am not a bass sucker therefore never consider to get any seperate amp to drive the woofer, i have indeed brought a kendwood woofer with built in amplifier and installed under my car seat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferringi2000 Neutral Newbie August 25, 2005 Author Share August 25, 2005 yup ..... lucky never fall into the trap. The owner even open up the package and shown the component speaker to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bosebani Neutral Newbie August 25, 2005 Share August 25, 2005 >>hey bro, ask u abt the SRx 300~400 is for the 2ch or 4 ch ? Just curious wats the street $$ for a local set of SRx ? also if include wiring/fuse n install ? thnx mice >> If i not wrong, its for 4 channel and 1 for sub(cos i stil beri green). $$ for local set not so sure. Installion varies alot. it depends on what u wan: Shop A can give u free installation using crappy stuffs with price build inside or Shop B can quote u higher according to the quality they do. Hope u get what i mean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear August 25, 2005 Share August 25, 2005 ok, u mean tats for export set. just wonder wats the average price for a local set. thinking of running active, when i chg HU, so trying to see the price diff. betw a LRx and SRx. thanks mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear August 25, 2005 Share August 25, 2005 haha.. good for u mate.. tats y forums are here for.. for others to help each other.. good luck in ur hunt for speakers man! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...