Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 4, 2005 Share November 4, 2005 Hi, Im driving a Lancer 05 AUTO. Changed my muffler and realized then i realized its illegal... , altho it produces it v bassy sound yet not too loud.. Nice. HOwever i hav some questions ... 1) Will it increase in fuel consumption ? 2) I feel that, after installing it, the car is abit underpowered, not when moving off but when Im crusing and if i want to pick up. Maybe its just my mind playing tricks but any comments? 3) Any other suggestions : should i change back to my stock muffler ? But I like the bassy sound. I heard of operated mufflers, but how legal or illegal is it? Will it cause a in performance ? Many Thanks !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 Let me try to answer your question: 1)There should be little impact on FC 2)Properly designed muffler specifically for your car should improve, not the other way round, other factors depend on your other mods to match your improved exhaust especially on air intake. You problem could be due to lack of backpressure since your car is auto. 3a) Operated muffler basically works on the same theory as aftermarket muffler, it is cheaper alternative and still illegal; if you want to operate your original muffler, you must well keep the current aftermarket muffler 3b) You can get LTA approved aftermarket muffler, but it is 4-5times more expensive depending on model/brand, this will solve your the LTA compliance worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 Hi, is your muffler semi-flow or free-flow (Straight-through in other words)? Usually, for Auto cars, it is not recommended to fit a straight-through muffler. I got the info at MAN Exhaust but didn't ask them why... If yours is a straight-through setup, u may have lost backpressure, thus u feel underpwr. Or maybe you have gain high end torque with the muffler at the expense of low end...That's another possibility. Operating exhaust? I'm not sure if it's illegal. Personally, I thought as long as the sound is within the dB limit set by LTA should be fine and as long as the cat converter is not removed, it's alright. Anyone can verify this? Because I'm not too sure either regarding operating exhaust. Perhaps, u can try fitting back the stock and feel if it's REALLY loosing power. Just my view...hope it helps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanceteo Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 pperating is removing the cat. if that is done its illegal. simple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 operated muffler = modifying the stock muffler to make it more flowable? anw if u want to slip into the dark side... LTA shouldn't be on ur list of considerations Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 Sorry operating doesn't mean that you remove the cat. Depends on how you want to do it. I've seen people operate the rear muffler box only and kept the cat converter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 Oh yeh, you got it! Stock muffler box operated to make it more free flow. I've seen the process...Free flow exhaust must coupled with cone filter, then the performance felt will be obvious (for my case) , the response is much better than drop-in free flow filter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 As rule of thumb,exhaust back pressure ( depending on engine speed )is about 0.5 (idles speed) to 3psi (3000rpm) Muffler designed doesn't matter, inpsection centers are more concern on the noise emitted by the exhaust. The cat must be there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 Im using KNN drop in air filter.... so u recommend i change to Open pod so that it will complement each other? Generally, open pod is better than drop in but im not sure it will complement the change in muffler.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 so u mean my exhaust will pass???? the noise is not too loud at all, just bassy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 operated muffler = modifying the stock muffler to make it more flowable? anw if u want to slip into the dark side... LTA shouldn't be on ur list of considerations True lah, if im doin the dark side, shdnt worry abt all this... was just abit influenced at that time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 Let me try to answer your question: 1)There should be little impact on FC 2)Properly designed muffler specifically for your car should improve, not the other way round, other factors depend on your other mods to match your improved exhaust especially on air intake. You problem could be due to lack of backpressure since your car is auto. 3a) Operated muffler basically works on the same theory as aftermarket muffler, it is cheaper alternative and still illegal; if you want to operate your original muffler, you must well keep the current aftermarket muffler 3b) You can get LTA approved aftermarket muffler, but it is 4-5times more expensive depending on model/brand, this will solve your the LTA compliance worries. 1) Yes, little impact on my FC, i monitored it so far. 2) So what is actually back pressure? Is it something that corresponds wif the response of the car? 3a) True True 3b) Yeah man, dat costs a bomb..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 Hi, is your muffler semi-flow or free-flow (Straight-through in other words)? Usually, for Auto cars, it is not recommended to fit a straight-through muffler. I got the info at MAN Exhaust but didn't ask them why... If yours is a straight-through setup, u may have lost backpressure, thus u feel underpwr. Or maybe you have gain high end torque with the muffler at the expense of low end...That's another possibility. Operating exhaust? I'm not sure if it's illegal. Personally, I thought as long as the sound is within the dB limit set by LTA should be fine and as long as the cat converter is not removed, it's alright. Anyone can verify this? Because I'm not too sure either regarding operating exhaust. Perhaps, u can try fitting back the stock and feel if it's REALLY loosing power. Just my view...hope it helps... "Or maybe you have gain high end torque with the muffler at the expense of low end" Ok, wats high end torque and whats low end torque? "Personally, I thought as long as the sound is within the dB limit set by LTA should be fine and as long as the cat converter is not removed, it's alright" I thot so too, until i see the LTA website... anything u do there its illegal. If I can fit back the stock myself i wud hav done so... hehe... cos fit back still hav to pay... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roro77 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Author Share November 5, 2005 pperating is removing the cat. if that is done its illegal. simple I dont think operating the muffler = removing the catalytic converter. The catalytic converter is a totally separate item in the whole exhaust system, not in the muffler rite. I think from the back is the tailpipe, then muffler, then cat, then the extractor.... correct me guys if im wrong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bcyn Neutral Newbie November 5, 2005 Share November 5, 2005 i think u're rite... but until now i dun understand wat e difference when pple say operate muffler and de-cat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie November 6, 2005 Share November 6, 2005 (edited) You better do more research on Open Pod, many Bros here commented this will make you loose more low end torque for Auto cars. Do a search in this forum, there are tons on discussion on exhaust and air intakes. Edited November 6, 2005 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lorrliew Neutral Newbie November 6, 2005 Share November 6, 2005 (edited) Operate muffler refers to making your backbox more flowable for the exhaust, which also results in louder exhaust sound. De-cat means either taking out those stuffs in Catalytic Convertor (and thus becomes a dummy cat) that removes those harmful gases or replacing the cat with a high flow cat/straight through pipe. Operated muffler strictly speaking is still not LTA compliance. Edited November 6, 2005 by Lorrliew Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 6, 2005 Share November 6, 2005 If ROV/TP on bikes comes behind you, they may stop you. It depends on whether the 500 bucks fine is ok with you. If you appear to be on stock exhaust but sound different, then chances are higher that they'll stop you. If you are using the common aftermarket exhausts, chances they'll leave you alone (these exhausts usually have markings on the tip). In short, you'll need to do EMS (piggyback or full replacement) tuning to extract the most from changes made. This is usually done at the end of the typical I/H/E route changes. Depending on your engine characteristics, the effect of the gains would vary. If modifications are not done correctly, you'll end up having negative experiences. You'll need to decide on your own which forum articles that is worth to take note of for useful modifications to be made. Some people just repeat what others say, some tell you on the theoretical portion, some give you the theory plus with their personal experience, and some are more hard core into modifications and tend to be more experienced. Hi, Im driving a Lancer 05 AUTO. Changed my muffler and realized then i realized its illegal... , altho it produces it v bassy sound yet not too loud.. Nice. HOwever i hav some questions ... 1) Will it increase in fuel consumption ? 2) I feel that, after installing it, the car is abit underpowered, not when moving off but when Im crusing and if i want to pick up. Maybe its just my mind playing tricks but any comments? 3) Any other suggestions : should i change back to my stock muffler ? But I like the bassy sound. I heard of operated mufflers, but how legal or illegal is it? Will it cause a in performance ? Many Thanks !!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...