Info sharing- cats don't scratch

Jazziegirl

Veri Cute. Good photo.

Btw, cats crawl do not cause deep, permanent scratch on car paint... only minor indentation (from certain view) of the paint that will go away about few weeks to months later when the car is constantly expose to the hot sun.

But of course, for those car grooming lovers that loves shiny paint work without flaw.... this is pain in the A**.

cats dun scratch on the car, but they do leave their paw mark [;)] .. there's this cats which always sleep on my car rear windscreen, maybe my car is a hatchback n have a spoiler so the cat can slp with more support [:p] .. heh find them quite cute in slping on car or bike. [thumbsup]

thats not the worst... saw a pile of sh1t on someone's car wiper area one morning... gee.. with all that comments by people.... must be a stray dog that climb up to do its business huh.

Edited by Ronnie

Where did u get the article from?

Interesting...It makes sense that metal is not really a preferred material for scratching, but the tyres....ahem...that's the ones the felines love to sharpen their claws....them rubbers.

Anyway, cats on the bonnet or anywhere on the car doesn't really bother me personally, normally I just shoo them away....we Singaporeans generally are quite anal about little hairline scratches and such...after paying thru our nose for that piece of metal and cleaning, polishing and waxing...we get riled up over a cat on the bonnet...we should chill a bit lah....it's only a car...hehe.

[thumbsup]

I was more pissed when I got 2 deep scratches from a vandal.... [:|]

sharpening claw [smash]

post-14-1173173893_thumb.jpg

Veri Cute. Good photo.

Btw, cats crawl do not cause deep, permanent scratch on car paint... only minor indentation (from certain view) of the paint that will go away about few weeks to months later when the car is constantly expose to the hot sun.

But of course, for those car grooming lovers that loves shiny paint work without flaw.... this is pain in the A**.

i think it's not just a matter of car grooming lovers, you are over generalising.

why not lets just say humans? How about this? I lean on your car, put my can drink on your car... ok wat.. I don't scratch your car, infact I'm helping to wipe away the dust on your car and provide a bit of water on your roof. right?

Also, if i pass by your car holding plastic bags or carton boxes, it should be ok if the items just run along your car door, cause, plastic and cardboard soft ma.. even cat claws can break thru such things.

on a paint job, a scratch is a scratch, what do you mean deep or not deep? [hur]

Chinese got one saying: flesh is not yours, cut liao, of course you won't feel painful.

i cant understand why some drivers are all worked up over fine scratches supposedly caused by cats. [hur]

it's just metal and unless you keep it vacuum packed, your car is always exposed to inconsiderate drivers who slam their doors in yours, supermarket trolleys running amok and crashing into your bumpers, kids playing soccer nearby and kicking their balls in the direction of your windscreen etc.

please....cats are living creatures with ONLY 1 life...go easy on them and yourself.

for those who are suppressed, take it out elsewhere/blame yourself for being a loser in life, but not at a helpless creature.

Edited by Wickham

Paint technologist Victoria Chapman writes at http://www.flippyscatpage.com/carpaint.html that cats claws "are of the same hardness as our fingernails. "So, unless you can scratch off the paint with your fingernail, there is no way a cat can scratch the paint of the surface of a car that's in a fairly good condition.

Yeah. Rite. [:|]

My cotton cloth can create swirl marks and scratches on the car but a cat's claw cannot.

And I'll bet with u my A4 or tissue paper can do super scratches on the car body by rubbing it - even though it is never anywhere as tough as my fingernails....

It is not abt the hardness of the claw per se, but the pressure / energy and the sharpness of the edge.

And yes, most car roof / bonnets are not flat....so when the cat slip....their claws are engaged....plus it will exert energy to dig its claws in to hang on.... [sweatdrop]

Oso....mi fren's car door got scratched by a cat? How? Cos' polish till kim kim kut kut, cat thot it was another and fought with the image.... [:/]

Southpark

The Dude

Can't help it but laugh.... hahahaa...you are funny [laugh]

i can't understand why there are some losers who preach about "cats are living creatures too" when they themselves can't even learn how to get along with their own species.

1) People who feed stray cats, if you pick up their sh1t, and the food (assuming that its proper catfood) that you placed on the floor. I'm fine with that, if not, you are scum.

2) People who don't own cats, but preach about their cuteness, please, go get a life. Remember non-cute animals are living things too. Thus, you are scum.

3) People who actually bought cats instead of adopting, no need to guess what I'm going to say to you when you come and preach to me about "cats are like that". Because, cats are like that due to people like you who dump animals once they outlived their cuteness factor. Because you don't bother to neuter them. Basically, you don't take responsibility for the cat. Thus, you are scum.

4) People who think cat fights and mate calling are cute and funny and temporary, obviously never had any sense of civic mindedness. They are the same group of people who will not stop to complain their neighbour's TV/radio/mating is too loud. But "Its okay" when their own female cat belts out a cat's version of a madonna hit.

These are the same people who wants to enjoy the good stuff, but will disappear when people come after them for responsibility. What do I call them? Not only losers but irresponsible cowards in life.

Stray animals are a social problem, people who are irresponsible pet owners *IS* the problem and aught to be shot. How do i term 'owners'? The moment you feed that stray out there, you take responsibility, you bring it home, you feed it, you vaccine it, deworm like a responsible person. When your pet cause damage to other's property, you PAY for it.

Otherwise, forget about preaching about 'help the strays' and crap, because your words and actions don't worth a cat's piss.

Edited by Ronnie

good points expressed there.

i especially agree with the points about people who feed strays and not taking responsibility for them.

you know, i'm just waiting for that one fine day when the strays they feed sit on their cars, scratching the paint, peeing on it, shedding the fur all over the drying pee.

surprisingly, i agree with your statements to a large extent. [;)]

it's really up to an individual to strike his/her own balance i reckon.

to be honest, i've had my fair share of finding dead baby foetus falling on my windscreen, regular bird poo after a gleaming car wash/polish, baffling fine scratches and dents etc. what do i do? clean it up cos it's just... M-E-T-A-L [flowerface]

my only pet peeve is the loser who abuses animals, maids or helpless living thing. he/she who has a misplaced sense of superiority when actually he/she is merely trying to disguise his/her pathetic state.

[laugh][laugh] Alreadi forgot about this thread liao.... still some people got so worked up over these [hur][:|][laugh][laugh][confused]

Interesting example u state.. but cannot quite relate abt yr cans and plastic bags or boxes example to hv anything to do with cats claws... does not relate to this post at all... or well they are all different materials by the way [:/][dizzy] sori to remind....

but must agree with yr saying abt: flesh is not yours, cut liao, of course you won't feel painful..... Me? Cats climb onto both my previous and current cars all the time. I welcome them in fact.... Y? well... material knowledged [whip]..... strange though my paint works looks perfect after 5 yrs still [shocked]

Cats behave much better than those goondoos purposely walking pass yr car with things like cans or boxes or plastic bags or durians [laugh][laugh] ......... wats worse, those that likes to lean against other cars [rifle] ...... [bigcry][knife]