Darkness Neutral Newbie December 18, 2005 Author Share December 18, 2005 Hi dude any idea where i can get audiobank M5? can't seem to find it Looks like jbl cs200.1 might not be enff since the current sub is 300rms any idea if Power Acoustik A1000DB is any good? specs are as follows: RMS Power: 450W x 1 @ 4 Ohms THD at 4-Ohm RMS Power: 0.5 % RMS Power: 800W x 1 @ 2 Ohms Speaker Level Inputs: No Preamp Outputs: Yes Built-In Crossovers: LP Bass Boost: 0 - 18 dB Frequency Response: 15-150 Hz Signal to Noise Ratio: 100 dB Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 18, 2005 Author Share December 18, 2005 btw does audiobank have a website? google does not seem to find it any idea wats the parent company? thanks ps: so many posts course i cannot edit my previous posts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 difficult to find good monoblock at that rating and size leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 I believe you refering to audiobahn and not audiobank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 19, 2005 Author Share December 19, 2005 (edited) i myself had the same doubt but actually there is indeed a brand called audiobank but just can't seem to find the specs sheet from the actuall website... the image is here: Edited December 19, 2005 by Darkness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 haha..there is an audiobank. but they all like copy audiobahn.. also got autobahn.. but audiobahn price is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 (edited) Hey...this is my amp. Monoblock M5. I used to search www.eCarhifi.com.sg for the AudioBank range of products. And then go to another shop to buy. That shop cheaper and include installation. Darkness: I can intro u to that shop if u want. I got mine M5 for $400 or $480 cannot remember. Its 1300w rms at 1 ohm or 650w rms at 2 ohm or 350w rms at 4 ohm. I can say its a very good monoblock amp, if u get insufficient power amp for your subwoofer, dont expect to get the hardness (the one lump one lump feeling from my car seat) u can feel in my car. Edited December 19, 2005 by Xiaogary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluesbro Neutral Newbie December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 Have some queries on pre-amps ... tot of installing one coz dun wish to upgrade my HU as yet - does it help alot in improving the sound quality ... - do you need professional help to tune one ? - how much and where can I get a good and reasoanbly priced one ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie December 19, 2005 Share December 19, 2005 Dont need professional to tune. U will slowly learn to tune. With a preamp, u will learn a lot abt what each frequency range produce what sound. In terms of sound quality, I duno whether it helps, but it for sure maximise the potential of my speakers. I can tune it to exactly how I want the sound to be, whether more bass, more high pitch, or more vocal, more warmness, etc. Of course if your speaker is not able to produce that sound, u tune also no use, it still will saturates. But it allow u to maximise the potential of the speakers. A good 7 band Cadence CEQ770 (I am using) cost me $150+. it came with sub woofer control as well. Normal ones only 4 band, or 5 band too little for me. This is 7 band, I feel its just right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 22, 2005 Author Share December 22, 2005 (edited) Ohhh sorry could not make it to the meet on wed will try my best to be there next week anyway an update: went to my installer today... got my sub unhooked and connected the CS50.4 to each of the 4 speakers... (asked him to bridge 2 channels to the front left and another 2 to the front right and let HU power the rear but he said this is not normal - i think he was lazy to do it ) now the tweeters seem even brighter haha seems like no choice but to throw in a Preamp. (Damn ICE is such a long, expensive and tedious path....but fun nevertheless) he claims the rear will become very soft...but it is supposed to be soft right? Since only for rear fill...will i have any issue if i bridge all the channels for the front only and use HU for the rear? Will be adding cs200.1 monoblock and Preamp next week. although not really that powerful an amp plan to get it cause don't really intend to weigh down the car with a second woffer and rather save the money for a better system next time...using this cheaper setup to learn first ...one more thing is that personally i think that same design amps seems to look nicer (haha me crazy liao) BTW do JBL make preamps? Thanks all pls feel free to correct me or advice me The cs200.1 looks like this: Edited December 22, 2005 by Darkness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 23, 2005 Share December 23, 2005 the last i checked was at 130 at edison at sim lim tower, look for ah teck. aniway, the 7 bands, u just adjust until u soong lor.. y waste $$ go get professional to tune... just permute each band until u feel its just right can liao... for me, i got 30 bands under my seat, that one more permutation ( i stingy, don wanna pay for pple to tune) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear December 23, 2005 Share December 23, 2005 they lazy lah.. the santa fe u sat in that day also bridge 4 channel become 2 channel for using HU for the rear, its normal lor.. for me, i don even have a rear now.. haha.. like u said, its only rear fill, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wahlao Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Share December 23, 2005 rear fill is not a die die must have... cos it distorts your front imaging IMO at most the contribution of front:rear is 80:20 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xiaogary Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Share December 23, 2005 (edited) Rear become soft? its due to HU power much less compared to amp. Imagine this, now u connect both front and rear speaker to 4 channel of amp unbridged. U will maybe need to set gain at 50% each at each channel. HU volume turn to max, say dB u achieve is 100dB. Then another scenerio, u brigded 4 channel to 2 channel to support front. Rear unconnected. To achieve the same 100dB at HU max volume, your gain at amp this time is set only to 25%. Then another scenerio, u added the rear speakers connected to HU to the scenerio 2 with 4 channel bridged to 2 to support front speaker. Say Fading remain balanced at HU. Ur front will confirm be much louder than rear speaker. So therefore to balance the front and rear, ur gain at amp need to maybe turn to 10% only so that both appear same loudness. Then u turn HU volume to max, u realise only 60dB. Thats due to the the HU max potential loudness it can produce already reach. If u never balance, of course u can get back 100dB, but front is louder(100dB) than rear (which is still 60dB). So overall, to get a balance setup, this scenrio doesnt allow a higher volume to be expected. Moreover, dont expect much from rear speaker powered by HU, if its soft, maybe just leave it to be soft, since its for rear fill only. Plus its irritating for rear passenger if balanced since the speaker is louder behind than front when balanced at your driver seat. So just keep it soft. Unless u want to adjust everytime there is passenger using the fader from preamp(this is what I normally do, turn to very soft for rear or totally off) or HU. If u got problem connecting the wires, tell me, I can teach u. U go diy urself. Anyway if your rear speaker is stock speaker, I think before it reach 60dB, it should already distorted. So dont bother much unless ur rear speaker is good one. Then u should balance front and rear and push them both to 100dB. If in order to balance both front and rear and result in 60dB in the end, I find that its not a good setup. In this case, better get a more powerful amp to drive both of the speakers, maybe 4 X 100w or 4 X 125w amp so that there are balance and yet both loud enuf. Disclaimer: 100 and 60dB is just a scale used in this case to help to explain, not a real measurement. Edited December 23, 2005 by Xiaogary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Author Share December 23, 2005 thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Author Share December 23, 2005 hey cool just wat i tot..as i said eariler i just think the installer was lazy to do the job since he had another car doing half way and he has no money to make from me for simple reconfigs....lol i need to bridge la...cse my speaker rms is 70 and each channel only gives me abt 50rms...btw out of curiosity wat is the standard market rate for installations of amps and rewiring etc? Mine asked 80 for installation of amps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkness Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Author Share December 23, 2005 (edited) wooo thanks man thats a lot of info okie will try to digest it all and feedback agian. Thanks for the offer to teach me edit: okie went thru it again and got ur points. Plan to do senario 2 with rear powered by HU. Frankly i don't think i need balanced front and rear. As per wahlao's suggestion i too think 80:20 (or there about) might be better for me since most of my backseat passangers are not really into loud music Did consider a new 4ch amp and better monoblock but seems like the journey will never end if i do that. I will sonner or later want better componets, HU etc. So Going to keep wat i have now, enjoy the music and learn first. Next time then can do a swee swee one off setup. So now need to get some new H/W like a simple monoblock and preamp and start some tuning hee hee Edited December 23, 2005 by Darkness Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeffteng Neutral Newbie December 23, 2005 Share December 23, 2005 the last i checked was at 130 at edison at sim lim tower, look for ah teck. aniway, the 7 bands, u just adjust until u soong lor.. y waste $$ go get professional to tune... just permute each band until u feel its just right can liao... for me, i got 30 bands under my seat, that one more permutation ( i stingy, don wanna pay for pple to tune) that's why ur SPL sucks mah~~~ hahahah , how's ur installation coming along ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...