Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 My 1 yr old Optra's left headlight is blurring from the inside. Went to SA to show them the blur headlight, their reply was a bit of shock followed by disbelief. Told me that they need to take some photos to send to factory and ask for advice! Keep my car overnight but gave me a new headlight the next day. My headlights are now obviously old (right side) and new (left side)! Gauging from their response, i'm the first one with such problem. Anyone other Optra owner got this problem? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spango Clutched January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 What kind of blur is that? Water vapor or is it due to the UV from the bulb bluring out the plastic light cover? What kind of bulb you using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zoner Clutched January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 if i'm not wrong is it something like a lot of short-fine scratches? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 Your car is only 1 yr old, how can there be so much difference between the new replaced one and the orig one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 15, 2006 Author Share January 15, 2006 Never changed the bulbs before. It's like the plastic can't take the heat and causing the blur to form from inside. It's also not vapour and no scratched either. More like a patch of plastic fading. Even got a workshop to examine it closely and confirmed that it's blurring from inside. Definitely looks newer and clearer than the unchanged one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 Mine also have !!!! Mine is both sides.. looks like some scratches or some oily substances on the inside.. Intend to mention that during my next servicing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 15, 2006 Author Share January 15, 2006 yes...oily milky layer on the inside...that's the correct term to describe it, go get them changed, SOTONG_KIA! Thinking of going to disturb SA to change the second one too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 Manufacturing defect that they are only beginning to discover? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 15, 2006 Share January 15, 2006 Is yours the optra from thai or korea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 16, 2006 Author Share January 16, 2006 (edited) It's the one from Thai.. More like a material defect or inferior material used issue to me. Edited January 16, 2006 by Clusterbx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear January 16, 2006 Share January 16, 2006 Maybe u cud try to get them to replace future defective parts with those made in korea if compatable? I wud suspect the korean quality to b better than thai. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 16, 2006 Author Share January 16, 2006 Thanks. Will ask SA next round if there a Korean compatible type. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 25, 2006 Share January 25, 2006 If material problem, shouldn't both head lights be the same since it is from the same factory? Even the bulb should emits the same heat right? Could it be the place you park your car? Or have you somehow knock against something slightly that now allows water vapour to enter the sealed casing? Usually older cars have blur headlights. Please share with us so that we can monitor ours closely. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie January 25, 2006 Share January 25, 2006 Yes, just finished servicing today. Busy day they had.. Lots of servicing and lots of ppl collecting new car. Now, they changed BOTH my headlight assembly. When I took back (at 6.20pm), it is new, but got one section with water vapour. The Service Advisor then told me to leave it on for a while and see if it disappears.. If still got problem, they will do something abt it.. Its too late to change immediately anyway. I thought ok.... So I drove off.. half hour later, I had to turn on the lights.. 7+ liao.. Went to fetch my friend.. I did a right turn at a junction, then I noticed my headlights shining into the pedastrians' faces !!!! Kao.. what kind of QC ! Busy also must do properly mah ! Never align my headlights !!! I am one of those very particular about these things lor.. (I even noticed a small squeak coming from my steering wheel.. gonna have it replaced FOC.. Even with A/C and Radio on, I can still detect. My friend all say "cannot hear anything leh") No choice, I dun want everyone to bitch about me , the guy who turn on high beam... I noticed it is "one eyed" lor.. meaning, my left light is shining higher than my right. So bo bian, on the way back, turn small light, on fog light.. hope not caught... better than blinding everyone.. Reached a basement carpark, small hump on the road, and my headlights shine on the ceiling siah !!! No choice, take out my screw driver, park facing a wall.. Adjusted it down. Then also realized, they were not focused properly. Normal lights have the "V" shaped, where the is a slope up to the left... My right light is just one patch.. something like a torch light.. Kao ! Need to adjust the bulb position also.. Then, my high beam lights, right side looks ok, shine high. But the left side, is shining on the ground ! Lower than my headlights ! I dunno how to adjust all those myself... Tomorrow must call them and Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accenture Neutral Newbie January 26, 2006 Share January 26, 2006 your steering is a steering rack problem. I complained before and they had a replaced. Now no more sound from the steering anymore. However may have to leave the car here for a day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 28, 2006 Author Share January 28, 2006 My workplace and home parking lots does not have shelters as such my car is under the sun's 'protection'flowerface] all the time....HOT!!! I've also not knock the headlight against anything before and it's not water vapour either. Most visibly 'blur' under sunlight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clusterbx Neutral Newbie January 28, 2006 Author Share January 28, 2006 Wah...didn't know that headlight needs to be focused! Something like MAGLIGHT? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie February 5, 2006 Share February 5, 2006 No.. by putting the bulb in correctly, it should be "focused" correctly.. It will give out a light beam that has a horizontal cut-off, with a "v" shape slanting upwards to the left. Once this is correct, you have to "align" it correctly, so that it doesn't shine into other driver's eyes, etc.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...