New Mazda 3 - Road noise

Plakatboy

Hope its not my ears lah....used to drive a pickup. If i drive a Lexus previously then maybe suspect my ears loh.

In between, tried colleague's 15yrs old Honda Accord. His is quieter...imagine.

Always try it with an equivalent. Test car is not a standard comparision due to "different" configuration. There's witness which saw a premium brand car that was doing sound proofing at one workshop and it's not even launch yet. A few days later, that car was launched and used as a test drove car. So what does that tell you but it's not a mazda lar.

Didn't know that Ah Veo's a SE for mazda. Else will look for him to get the car.

No Ah Veo now but got wife and children...i'm sure its comparable.

Sigh.. you are in MCF and you don't even know our inhouse Mazda SE... tsk tsk... [shakehead]

This article seems to agree with you. Was looking at purchasing a Mazda 3, but will reconsider again. Seeing that I will be driving on the highways most of the time, this will become a major issue for me too!

http://www.drive.com.au/editorial/article.aspx?id=8081&vf=1

Dun forget...Australia's Mz3 is 2.0 l or 2.3l...The ones we get in Singapore are a measly 1.6l. Hence, NO POWER...Which is fine really, if u aren't looking for a car with a bit more oomph...

>>The road noise in the car is unbearable! Especially on the expressway, its worse.

Have you tried soundproofing the floorpan and boot? Even doing the doors and roof would help reduce the overall vibration-generated noise. Some have also done SP for the wheel arches and had testified that these helped to reduce road noise.

I have met many Mazda 3 owners who bought OEM bitumen-based dampening materials from me to DIY their soundproofing. Some are probably still active in MCF.

any one collected their new Mazda 3 recently? Collected mine abt a week ago.

The road noise in the car is unbearable! Especially on the expressway, its worse. The car is on stock 195/65/R15 Yokohama Aspec tires.

Any one with similar experience / problem?

(Not sure if its my ears or the car. Suspect they left out some insulation during assembly)

Thanks.

I can confirm that the Mazda 3 Basic, which comes with the Aspec tyres are SUPER noisy. Went down to Mazda Motors on Saturday with friend to test drive their basic model. First thing I notice was the road noise. But my friend will be getting the Sports Package that comes with Falken ST115, I hope it will be better than the Yokos.

Errmm ..in case u dun noe, the ST115 are performance biased tires and are definitely more noisy than the Aspec dB & the bigger the tires the tendency is higher for them to be more noisy

Hi Bro [wave] I'm an owner of the Luxury Sports Mz3 for 13 months liao [:)] Fuel consumption ranges between 10.8km/l to 11.9km/l depending on your right foot hence your fuel consumption is actually normal [:p] For reverse sensors, there are some batches which seems to be faulty from some bros in the Mazda Club [:|] For road noise, as i'm running on stock 17" rims, the noise is quite bearable at least to me [:p] Maybe, because i have sound proof my 4 doors but it doesn't help much IMHO as sound proofing is to enhance the quality of the music rather than to reduce road noise [;)]

Like Bro Bluesbro had mentioned, ST115 are performance based tyres hence they will generate higher road noise as compared to Yokohama [;)] Somemore, they are 17" [:)]

Initially thot its the tires too. But my mechanic said could be something less obvious ie missing insulation/carpet.

Tires shouldn't cause so much noise lar [sweatdrop] somemore Yokohama quite branded one right?

maybe because i pay less to get more noise... [:/]

betw, what's the diff between luxury version and basic version. Very disappointed leh...Mz 3 suppose to be a good jap ride with continental feel, now get continental fuel consumption with free extra 'music'